We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if a little remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol Princess
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed July 3, 2006

OK let's get the bad stuff out of the way.

1. It IS remote so unless you're planning on using taxis or public transport (no problems with either) you'll need to either be planning to stay on the site OR take the package tour options. SO hire car would be a good idea.

2. If you're planning a beach holiday - then choose another location. The beach whilst within spitting distance (literally!) is not great - pebbly and not particularly attractive.

3. The transfer...if you're coming on a package then be prepared for a long transfer as Estepona is pretty well at the end of the line for holidays coming into Malaga. That said, you can gloat a little as you watch your fellow travellers stepping off into high-rise over developed Fuengirola etc safe in the knowledge that you'll be ending up in a far better place

4. Er that's it!



The hotel is one of a pair on the same site. The Costa Sol is all inclusive, the Andalucia Princess isn't. Frankly I know which one I'd prefer as the room that we were in was certainly of the standard that I'd expect from a 4* hotel. Large, well airconditioned and clean.

The grounds of the hotel are fantastic - there are 4 swimming pools, little kids pools and one of the pools has a sloping beach effect to it which makes it great for kids.

In fact the whole hotel is great for kids - food, plenty of space, a kids club, little playground etc. While we were staying there, the hotel was overrun with Spanish families who all seemed to be having the time of their lives - face it, which child wouldn't be in paradise with free coke & ice cream on tap all day!!!!

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - if you're prepared to take the trip down the coast away from the high rise hell of Benalmadena, Fuengirola et al, then this could be the hidey hole for you!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OliversArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Costa del Sol Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 85 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
West London
17
Reviewed June 23, 2006

One week all inc 16-23 June (couple in mid 20's).
We have just returned from the Sol Princess and had a great relaxed stay. The hotel was a good size and the room was nice, clean and had everything you needed. Comfortable beds but you may want to ask for an extra pillow! Super shower and maid cleaned everyday to a pristine standard (complimentary bottle of water daily which you can put in your fridge). Restaurant was good for an all inc, a good variety of food (nice spanish dishes, lots of fish and a fantastic salad selection) and a nice terrace- be warned men have to wear trousers for the evening meal. Good selection of drinks including cocktails! (Bars close at midnight prompt). As the hotel is sistered with Andalucia Princess (half board) you have the use of all their facilities (bars and food you must pay extra for) including their great pools. Grounds are very pretty and there are plenty of sunbeds in and out of shade. The largest of the 4 pools is great for kids too as it has a great shallow area (also many small pools for kids).

Now for the not so good..
Entertainment was naff!!! Pretty much what you would expect in an all inclusive. As the hotel is so remote you may need to get a taxi to Marbella or Peurto Banus (15 euros each way) for a little more entertainment. The hotel is situated right on the beach but we have to say we never bothered to spend one day on it as it was so pebbly and small. Transfer back to airport a bit of a drama - 2 hours for us as had to stop at loads of hotels!!! You had to be ready in a 40 minute window to be collected and ours was also 20 minutes late.

All in all a good holiday, nice relaxing, weather fantastic, food really good and never got bored of it but just very remote. We recommend a trip to Peurto Banus/Marbella for a change of scene! would go back to chill out.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of May. We booked quite late & got a very good deal for a weeks all inclusive.
Our room was to a high standard, & everything in it seemed to be brand new. Our 4 year old son had a 'camp bed' which was as large as our two twin beds, which was a pleasant surprise. The fridge in our room was on all week, although we hadn't paid for it as stated in brochure.
The 'beach' here is pretty poor but we knew this as had seen pics on website.
As there were four large pools available between the 2 hotels (& at least 3 small kids pools) we didn't feel the need to use the beach anyway.
The pools & pool areas are lovely, very spacious, & the grounds are very pretty. Always managed to get sunbeds, once we'd collected our pool towels, no matter what time it was. This could be because we went early season, however.
The staff here are very nice, helpful at reception & friendly in the bars & restaurant. We did not use the a la carte, as had heard mixed comments about it.
The food was ok. Everything i ate was cooked well, there just didn't seem to be enough choice of main meals at lunch & especially in the evenings. That said, none of us went hungry !
There was a big selection for breakfast, the only moan was the food was never very hot, even when a fresh lot had been bought out from the kitchen.
The all-inclusive drinks were all good, & the bars were open at different times, so there was never a time that we could not get a drink.
The kids club staff are absolutely brilliant. Anna & Juan are both spanish & truly enjoy their jobs. They organise all the entertainment at the hotel & work long hours & they made our sons (& our) holiday. A big thank you to you both !
The location of the hotel is not a problem. There are courtesy buses laid on every day, which can take you to Estepona & Puerto Banus. The reception can also arrange taxis & we found the one we used very reasonable.
My biggest moan about this hotel is that it is totally NON-SMOKING inside & I was not aware of this until we got there. A big plus point, of course for non-smokers, but a few people were moaning ! There are two seating areas outside where you can smoke, & also the two outside bars provide tables with ashtrays. This DID NOT spoil my holiday, just thought people should know !
This was the most relaxing holiday that we have had, a great place to come to soak up the sun & just chill.
To sum up, would say that it's definitely a 4* hotel, with perhaps, 3* food.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank leaveitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We booked a late all-inclusive deal at the Costa Del Sol Princess and actually stayed in a room in one of the blocks of the Andalucia Princess, which is on the same complex. It meant we had to walk across to the main hotel for meals, but no problem as the sun shone every day. The room was nicely decorated and furnished and the bathroom had a separate shower cubicle and a good hairdryer. Maid service was excellent.

On arrival we were given a voucher to get poolside towels, which are free so long as they are returned on departure. We usually sat around the Costa Del Sol Princess pool as that is where you can get the drinks and meals if you are all-inclusive. The pool and pool area was spotless. There were so many staff going around all day picking up litter, emptying bins, even disinfecting the bins and poolside showers and checking chlorine levels in the pool. There was the usual daytime entertainment - aerobics, water polo, football, volleyball, etc. if you wanted to join in. Sun beds are scattered all over the grounds so you will have no problem getting one.

The dining area is bright and clean, and again the staff were excellent and very efficient. Meals were a mixture of good and bad. Some of the meat dishes weren't to my liking, but the hotel caters for various nationalities and there was always something to eat. There is a microwave to heat up your food if needed. Take a look in the far right corner. On a morning there is a chef frying eggs, and in the evening he is grilling meats which are additional to those on the buffet counters.

Evening entertainment wasn't brilliant, cabaret type shows and a quiz one night, but you can always just sit in the large lounge or outside on the veranda and have a quiet drink. It really needs a larger seating area. What I liked about this place was everybody there seemed relaxed and friendly. The majority of people staying were 40+. There were some younger families but this hotel doesn't really cater for children.

Outside the hotel there is not a lot. We walked along the beach and either side of the hotel there are private villas and apartments, so if you want shops and bars this is not the place to be. If you are prepared to walk a little further there is a typical Spanish village on the other side of the road which was very pretty to have a wander around and which has a few bars and restaurants.

Shopping wise, forget it. There is a courtesy bus to Estepona or Puerto Banus and I was told (although we didn't go) that the trip to Gibraltar was good for duty free perfume and cigarettes, but you are restricted on what you can bring back. Also, you can book the trip at the small supermarket across the road and it is half the rep's price, or you can make your own way by bus. We bought our duty free at the airport when we left and it was very reasonable.

All in all, a relaxing holiday for a week but I couldn't stay for two.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Sue&Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2005

My husband and myself have just returned from a relaxing weeks stay at the hotel. On the whole we found everything to be of a good standard and really enjoyed our stay. Admittedly it is a little remote, but that wasn't a problem for us as we just wanted a nice quiet break. So if it's nightlife on the doorstep that your looking for, then this isn't the hotel for you. Otherwise a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank googan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

Along with reviews about this hotel, as soon we all stepped in (four 18yr old girls!) we were approached by some of the many few lads that were stayin at this hotel who went on about how boring and awful the hotel was and theres ''nothing to do'' we were like great, we had arrived at night so didnt get to see anything and just went to our rooms. However when we woke up the next morning, it ws the start of an amazing holiday! yes the hotel may be in a quiet location,however holidays should be what you make of it! The hotel was great, very clean, beautiful gardens and amazing swimming pools and was the perfect base for relaxing days soaking up the sun and eating and drinking at your leisure. The pool was never packed, sunbeds always available and in my opinion that is more essential for a enjoyable holiday than a hotel which packs you in like sardines!

ALSO it was only 15 mins away to Puerto Banus, Marbella, costing 16,80 euros in a taxi! that was nothing between four of us and we spent many nights there partying away til the early hours as there is plenty to do there so LOADS of bars and clubs!


The food could have been slightly better however there was a range eg. paella, pasta, various salads and hot meats each night.
The entertainment needs a lot of improvement, however we managed to entertain ourselves enough and could drink as many cocktails as we could and then head off where all the nightlife is, only a short distance away! so i really dont know why so many people were moaning, it was a great holiday!

Also if you want to be out but not necessarily on the club strips of puerto banus you can go to nearby Estepona where there is many lovely restaurants and small bars and a beautiful marina to walk around!

Stayed: July 2005
27  Thank kezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunstable Bedfordshire
142
Reviewed September 12, 2004

Spent a week at the Costa Del Sol Princess - 2 - 9 September 2004 and it was WONDERFUL...which was a tremendous relief, as having booked it back in June, we then stumbled across the reviews on your website and thought we'd wasted our money and expected to have a terrible time.
What a lot of moaning minnes that's all I can say. Yes, the hotel is out on a limb and you can't walk anywhere - but it says this in the brochures, and there's a courtesy bus to the resorts every day, plus an evening one (for those that want to go clubbing), or else, you can walk over that little bridge (the one that so taxed your Stockton on Tees reviewer - poor lamb) and get the local bus which comes every 30 mins. and costs under 1 euro 50 to get to either Estepona or Marbella. Or if you can't face public transport, grab a taxi or go on one of the organised tours!
The restaurant has 4 buffet counters plus one with an assortment of breads and 2 varieties of soup at each setting. The variety of food is fine. There might not be chicken nuggets or sausages for children (Catford reviewer) but surely the little treasures can get by without these staples for a week or two??? There's pizza, ham, cheese, rolls, butter, tuna parcels and so on ... is it too terrible to get children to try something different for once?? Staff are very friendly and helpful. All pools are spotlessly clean, lovely and deep AND there's no need to get up at the crack of dawn to "bag" a bed with your towel. Plenty of space around the pools when we went, and all areas very clean. As was our room. Entertainment is not top class we will agree with that one, but for the price of the holiday (compare it with other all-inclusive prices in any brochure you come across) we still think it was excellent all round value for money. so don't be put off ... its one of the best holidays we've had in the last few years.

42  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.9 mi away
Buenavista
Buenavista
#29 of 35 in Estepona
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 35 in Estepona
1,415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#15 of 35 in Estepona
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caracas Playa
Hotel Caracas Playa
#31 of 35 in Estepona
38 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hacienda Beach Apartments
Hacienda Beach Apartments
#23 of 35 in Estepona
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Princess

Address: Crta N-340 Cadiz-Malaga, Km 164, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa del Sol Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa del Sol Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Princess Hotel Estepona
Costa Del Sol Princess Estepona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing