We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a quiet break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol Princess
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We booked a late all-inclusive deal at the Costa Del Sol Princess and actually stayed in a room in one of the blocks of the Andalucia Princess, which is on the same complex. It meant we had to walk across to the main hotel for meals, but no problem as the sun shone every day. The room was nicely decorated and furnished and the bathroom had a separate shower cubicle and a good hairdryer. Maid service was excellent.

On arrival we were given a voucher to get poolside towels, which are free so long as they are returned on departure. We usually sat around the Costa Del Sol Princess pool as that is where you can get the drinks and meals if you are all-inclusive. The pool and pool area was spotless. There were so many staff going around all day picking up litter, emptying bins, even disinfecting the bins and poolside showers and checking chlorine levels in the pool. There was the usual daytime entertainment - aerobics, water polo, football, volleyball, etc. if you wanted to join in. Sun beds are scattered all over the grounds so you will have no problem getting one.

The dining area is bright and clean, and again the staff were excellent and very efficient. Meals were a mixture of good and bad. Some of the meat dishes weren't to my liking, but the hotel caters for various nationalities and there was always something to eat. There is a microwave to heat up your food if needed. Take a look in the far right corner. On a morning there is a chef frying eggs, and in the evening he is grilling meats which are additional to those on the buffet counters.

Evening entertainment wasn't brilliant, cabaret type shows and a quiz one night, but you can always just sit in the large lounge or outside on the veranda and have a quiet drink. It really needs a larger seating area. What I liked about this place was everybody there seemed relaxed and friendly. The majority of people staying were 40+. There were some younger families but this hotel doesn't really cater for children.

Outside the hotel there is not a lot. We walked along the beach and either side of the hotel there are private villas and apartments, so if you want shops and bars this is not the place to be. If you are prepared to walk a little further there is a typical Spanish village on the other side of the road which was very pretty to have a wander around and which has a few bars and restaurants.

Shopping wise, forget it. There is a courtesy bus to Estepona or Puerto Banus and I was told (although we didn't go) that the trip to Gibraltar was good for duty free perfume and cigarettes, but you are restricted on what you can bring back. Also, you can book the trip at the small supermarket across the road and it is half the rep's price, or you can make your own way by bus. We bought our duty free at the airport when we left and it was very reasonable.

All in all, a relaxing holiday for a week but I couldn't stay for two.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Sue&Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2005

My husband and myself have just returned from a relaxing weeks stay at the hotel. On the whole we found everything to be of a good standard and really enjoyed our stay. Admittedly it is a little remote, but that wasn't a problem for us as we just wanted a nice quiet break. So if it's nightlife on the doorstep that your looking for, then this isn't the hotel for you. Otherwise a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank googan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

Along with reviews about this hotel, as soon we all stepped in (four 18yr old girls!) we were approached by some of the many few lads that were stayin at this hotel who went on about how boring and awful the hotel was and theres ''nothing to do'' we were like great, we had arrived at night so didnt get to see anything and just went to our rooms. However when we woke up the next morning, it ws the start of an amazing holiday! yes the hotel may be in a quiet location,however holidays should be what you make of it! The hotel was great, very clean, beautiful gardens and amazing swimming pools and was the perfect base for relaxing days soaking up the sun and eating and drinking at your leisure. The pool was never packed, sunbeds always available and in my opinion that is more essential for a enjoyable holiday than a hotel which packs you in like sardines!

ALSO it was only 15 mins away to Puerto Banus, Marbella, costing 16,80 euros in a taxi! that was nothing between four of us and we spent many nights there partying away til the early hours as there is plenty to do there so LOADS of bars and clubs!


The food could have been slightly better however there was a range eg. paella, pasta, various salads and hot meats each night.
The entertainment needs a lot of improvement, however we managed to entertain ourselves enough and could drink as many cocktails as we could and then head off where all the nightlife is, only a short distance away! so i really dont know why so many people were moaning, it was a great holiday!

Also if you want to be out but not necessarily on the club strips of puerto banus you can go to nearby Estepona where there is many lovely restaurants and small bars and a beautiful marina to walk around!

Stayed: July 2005
27  Thank kezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunstable Bedfordshire
142
Reviewed September 12, 2004

Spent a week at the Costa Del Sol Princess - 2 - 9 September 2004 and it was WONDERFUL...which was a tremendous relief, as having booked it back in June, we then stumbled across the reviews on your website and thought we'd wasted our money and expected to have a terrible time.
What a lot of moaning minnes that's all I can say. Yes, the hotel is out on a limb and you can't walk anywhere - but it says this in the brochures, and there's a courtesy bus to the resorts every day, plus an evening one (for those that want to go clubbing), or else, you can walk over that little bridge (the one that so taxed your Stockton on Tees reviewer - poor lamb) and get the local bus which comes every 30 mins. and costs under 1 euro 50 to get to either Estepona or Marbella. Or if you can't face public transport, grab a taxi or go on one of the organised tours!
The restaurant has 4 buffet counters plus one with an assortment of breads and 2 varieties of soup at each setting. The variety of food is fine. There might not be chicken nuggets or sausages for children (Catford reviewer) but surely the little treasures can get by without these staples for a week or two??? There's pizza, ham, cheese, rolls, butter, tuna parcels and so on ... is it too terrible to get children to try something different for once?? Staff are very friendly and helpful. All pools are spotlessly clean, lovely and deep AND there's no need to get up at the crack of dawn to "bag" a bed with your towel. Plenty of space around the pools when we went, and all areas very clean. As was our room. Entertainment is not top class we will agree with that one, but for the price of the holiday (compare it with other all-inclusive prices in any brochure you come across) we still think it was excellent all round value for money. so don't be put off ... its one of the best holidays we've had in the last few years.

42  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2004

Returned from Costa del Sol Princess on 14th August 2004 after spending two fantastic weeks there on holiday. Larger than average accomadation that was thoroughly cleaned EVERY day. Brilliant food, definetely something available for all tastes. Friendly staff. Entertainment average, though some shows highly entertaining. Situated right on the beach and a large choice of swimming pools on complex available for all guests. No fights for sunbeds and pool towels were free! Bit off beaten track but excellent bus services locally and free courtesy buses from hotel. Available organised trips were excellent, don't miss Gibraltar. We wanted for nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank LynnDO_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hull, England
117
Reviewed July 5, 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Costa del Sol princess, and would consider going back though definitely not at a peak time.

We found the hotel clean and with plenty of swimming pools and sun bathing areas. The staff were friendly. You are provided with beach towels, which you can change as often as you like. The towels were adequate, but nowhere near as nice as the ones in the Taurito princess in Gran Canaria.
There were two lifts to cover the three floors, which was adequate.
The room was perfectly fine, a good size with a reasonable sized bath and bathroom. The balcony was pleasant, though too small to sit on. Our balcony overlooked the roof with the air conditioning ducts but to the left was a lovely view to the sea and to the right a lovely view of the mountains so we enjoyed it on the whole.
The hotel is on the beach, and has its own access to the beach, but very few people used it as it wasn’t a brilliant beach, and the hotel grounds were perfectly comfortable. In fact the beach is generally deserted, as the hotel is the only tourist place as far as you can see. There is more action a few miles away in either direction, and its an easy walk. Walking to Estapona is possible if you are up to it.
The hotel is part of a complex that includes another hotel. This hotel is not all inclusive and has much nicer bars and seating areas, though at a price. There is also an internet connection in this hotel which was always available.
The hotels are on their own in this very quiet area which was what we wanted, but if you are looking for more action on your doorstep this is not the hotel for you.

We thought the food was fine. There wasn't a meal when we didn't find something we enjoyed, though we often had to be selective. We are a bit fussy about wine, but the wine was perfectly drinkable.

The hotel does a free bus service to Marbella and Estapona but we used the public bus stop a few minutes walk away. Buses were frequent, cheap and reliable. Taxis are easily available and quite reasonable if you fill them.

The entertainment was said to be good, though seats in the entertainment room were scarce and had to be grabbed quickly. There were also far too few seats in the huge main bar area.

Thompsons recommend Eurocar for car rental and we booked a car with them, but on the day they forgot to bring it. They promised to fetch it later in the day and failed to turn up, though they claimed they did. In the end we went with Nisa cars which has an office on the hotel complex and were doing the same deal.

We took the trip to Morocco which we found fascinating, however most of the stops were an opportunity for somebody to sell us something which was a shame. The first photo stop had no view you could photo but lots of people selling things. The visit to the carpet shop had a smidgen of information and a lot of carpets for sale, and the visit to the medicine shop was more interesting but harder sell as they kept you sat in a circle while they sold you each item. The tour of the old town was excellent, though, as was the meal included in the trip.

In the second week everything changed, it was the week before easter and people were arriving in increasing numbers. Bar queues began to form, and while the staff worked as hard as they could they weren't enough and no extra staff were added. (The main bar backs on to the bar in the entertainment room, which had fewer staff but even fewer customers and was usually much quicker to get served). Most nights there was no hot water after 5, and the dining room became full on occasion. The hotel was simply not geared up for the number of people.

The all inclusive stops mid day on the last day, which can be a problem if you leave at 4. They will ask you to pay for lunch and drinks. We were told this was the first season the hotel did all inclusive, so perhaps it will improve over time.

If you want an all inclusive holiday in the south of Spain you are limited in choice, but if you like it quiet and are prepared to make the best of an occasional problem this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
226
Reviewed June 11, 2004

First impressions of this hotel were positive however as our honeymoon progressed it became apparant that had it not been for the laughs with others guests our honeymoon hotel and resort would have been very dismal. Set in the middle of nowhere I had been under the impression we would be near to Estepona. You have to walk over a bridge over a motorway to go to the supermarket, no cigarettes for sale in CDS princess or Andalucia princess. Next doors andalucia princess had far better facilities, basics such as fountains operating, internet room, more pools, better equiped gym and better night life. As a 4* All inclusive I did not expect such poor entertainment with magic shows etc. A disco for the final 30 mins each night consisted of the same few CDS and lights turned out on the dot of midnight. The food was average for the first few days however the same food daily soon becomes boring and obviously re heated. Basic health and safety was not followed with broken glasses, frames etc not repaired or left safe.
Trip to Gibratar was fantastic though thoroughly enjoyed the rock, shop and sail and saw lots of dolphins. Although Puerto Banus is better visited independently unless you want to be treated like a school kid again.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
6.7 mi away
Healthouse Las Dunas Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 33 in Estepona
1,471 reviews
7.9 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 33 in Estepona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Buenavista
Buenavista
#26 of 33 in Estepona
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Princess

Address: Crta N-340 Cadiz-Malaga, Km 164, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa del Sol Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa del Sol Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Princess Hotel Estepona
Costa Del Sol Princess Estepona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing