We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem with excellent Indian food and service”
Review of Tandoori Nights - CLOSED

Tandoori Nights
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are now back with the variety of Spices from India and are working all the 7 days a week. Authentic Indian & Asian Cuisine. Indoor seating and terrace, open 7 days a week from 18.00 To midnight. Just off Calle Sabinillas (where there is ample parking) in Urbanizacion Pueblo Sports.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with excellent Indian food and service”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have lived in the area for almost ten years but were unaware of this restaurant until it was highly recommended by a fellow correspondent. It is certainly difficult to find as it is not facing the main road like most restaurants in El Pilar but it is well enough located beside the popular Peggoty's fish and chip shop.

I have always moaned that there is no great food, good value Indian restaurant in Marbella/ Estepona unlike Chinese compared to our home town of Edinburgh. However, we were to be proved wrong tonight.

To start we shared a very large vegetable pakora platter which was excellent with three separate types of vegetables. Our charming host brought some poppadums to the table as a free extra which was a nice touch while we waited for our pakora.

For mains my wife chose the lamb biryani which she thought was the nicest she had ever tasted. I had the lamb rogan josh with a nan bread which was very good. A nice touch was you were asked whether you would like your main course mild or medium (hot or very hot is also available),.

Portions were large and we did not have room for dessert. Our host though brought us a peanut and chocolate bar and we were offered a drink on the house which is again a nice touch.

The restaurant is family run with the family and cuisine from Bangalore, South India. We will certainly be back regularly and we were told that they are introducing an excellent value fixed price Sunday lunch for only 12 euros.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preethi S, Manager at Tandoori Nights, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It s so nice when we receive comments such as yours, as we try so hard to be the very best Indian on the coast. We will look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Preethi, Ramesh and Vishnu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    55
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Standard normal indian food and talking host”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you like indian food is´t here. Owner and waiter is on you from the first minute to serve you.
And he likes to talk about how he serves his customers so the can come again and again. The might do...but its pain in the "A.." to listen to cause I as a geust you get the question...Do you like this place better than the orther indian restaurant we went to?? And I have to lie and Offcause his food is much better then his compettitors (NOT), But the food was okay and a little to pricy for starters and main meals.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martinbergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian run by a super family”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Service is excellent, the family that run the restaurant is very friendly and know how to offer the best to their clientele.

The food was very tasty and well portioned. We visited to celebrate a birthday and the owners offered us plenty of extra drinks and dessert to celebrate!

I'd definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestlyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preethi S, Manager at Tandoori Nights, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are please that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again.

Vishnu and Preethi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian Cuisine I have ever tasted”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visited on the 29th January 2014 after reading the trip advisor reviews. Service was excellent and the food was magnificent and we were given several free courses as well. The owner/chef had many years experience and trained in 5 star hotels which was clearly evident from the quality of the food. We paid less than 20euros a head which offers incredibly good value. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preethi S, Owner at Tandoori Nights, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have been a Chef all of my life and I am sincerely pleased that you appreciate my culinary skills. There are no short cuts in my kitchen and I take great pride in my cooking. I hope to see you again soon.

Vishnu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved loved loved and loved xxx”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We travelled 22 miles and every minute was worth it. This is a perfect family run business . Customer service was exceptional food was perfect great end to a 2day trip to spain. Best ever food!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SebecaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preethi S, Manager at Tandoori Nights, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
When we read reviews such as yours it makes all of the effort we make worthwhile. We take great care in ensuring that our ingredients are the very best which ensures that we produce authentic high quality Indian meals.

Kind regards from all of us at Tandoori Nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nights also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing