We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need in a holiday bar an restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanino Restaurante Bar

Tanino Restaurante Bar
Ranked #6 of 456 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All you need in a holiday bar an restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

In the day, it's a shady and convenient relief from the sun. At night it offers amazing cocktails (2for1 5-8pm) and then fantastic food- all with the perfect chilled out atmosphere and great service!

We've been to Taninos several times this holiday and can recommend their salads, wok dishes and especially their curries. Even my Indian other half had their jalfreizi twice (he never eats Indian food out so it must be good)

The only suggestion I would have is to offer different options for lunch. Other than that, perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkly_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    188
    51
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must visit whilst in Marbella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is my favourite place in Marbella. It has a wonderful atmosphere, quirky decor, the food is fabulous. Service is great and the owners are friendly and often there to meet customers. Live music on certain evenings and guaranteed a great time whenever you go. Just go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place outside Brazil!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a Bar it can be outstanding! Living close by, we had not paid it enough attention. We were invited by a Spanish friend one Sunday evening, mainly to hear some flamenco chill type music. They had a couple of guitarists on stage who were very good, one pure acoustic flamenco, one electric and a little more mainstream but they appeared to have a group of followers who joined them from the tables now and again. And this is when it got sensational! There was an extremely talented, obviously opera trained, older guy who looked a little like Yul Brynner. He belted out their version of such standards as Volare. He was totally captivating. A couple of female singers appeared now and again and it was nearly impossible not to get up to dance. Sometimes you would find yourself next to a professional belly dancer. It reminded me of Rio de Janeiro in so far as everyone got into the music (or left).
So we went every Sunday and found the music happened to coincide with happy hour where a large and extremely palatable wine was €3.50 for two.
At Easter this year, we had a guest staying and decided to try the food. Suffice to say we went for dinner 3 times in 5 days! As mentioned elsewhere, there is a bias towards eastern cuisine and generally it is all of a very high standard and not overpriced. For me it's charm is in the atmosphere, The staff are wonderful (especially Wellington who I discovered is from....Rio de Janeiro! He says he could never think of working anywhere else.)
Whether the live music will continue through the summer is open to question but if it does, this place will be seriously "rammed". Without, it is a very cool, friendly, sophisticated, bar/restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tipco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish eating and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have visited Tannino many times and have never been disappointed. Food is always excellent and service is fantastic especially Wellington who is always charming and fun! We always order the Indian food as it is so good and the chef will tailor it to hot you like it. All the other dishes we have had are very good to. The atmosphere is very chilled and the decor is fab. And it's great fun when they have entertainment as well. We visited in February as well and met some people that travel from Marbella centre to go to Tannino they love it so much! The one and only criticism is that maybe the drinks could be cheaper and maybe some special offers on their fabulous cocktails!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great curries for a non-indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visit Tanino's regularly when we are here in the summer and find it a relaxed and friendly place, from early evening right through to a bit more clubby later. Good inside or out and the comfy sofas and quirky style give it character. We both like curries from Indian restaurants in Scotland, but these are consistently good, spicy and made with style and bite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daviren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanino Restaurante Bar also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tanino Restaurante Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing