We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our first experience with a Kempinski in Sicily was so delightful that we booked this with the idea of relaxing and being pamepered for a day on our six week tour of Spain. The property is beautiful. Breakfast is fantastic. But we were extremely disappointed in our two dinners. The dining room looks like a converted meeting room with absolutely no atmosphere. We were crowded in with families with exceptionally unruly kids. The service was extremely slow and the food was marginal. We had been looking forward to fine dining, but that definitely wasn't the case.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here as a family at the beginning of may. We have a 4 year old son so were particularly interested in things for him to do! Firstly, Cameron says a big hello to Max in the kids club, he misses you! The kids club was brilliant, as the hotel was quite quiet the ratio of employees to kids was 1:1. The activities they did with the kids were interesting, cameron couldn't wait to get back there each day!
Great activities for the kids, beach was brilliant, pools were lovely but a bit too cold, it was a shame to see them not in use. A few degrees warmer and they would have been used.

The buffet breakfast was brilliant, anything and everything you could possibly imagine! The staff were very attentive and polite, particularly Dina who gave Cameron a cap and made sure he was ok.
The food for dinner was limiting and we did expect better for a 5 star hotel. Only 1 of the restaurants was open during the last 3 days of our stay. We did however go to a shopping mall about 300 metres away which had great food, particularly the Italian restaurant ( great service, delicious lasagne) also a great deal cheaper then the hotel.
Overall a lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Hoping to return soon.

Room Tip: Sea view room as others would be overlooking the busy main road
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank stalls-lifestyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review on your very recent stay to our resort and for highlighting the key services you found noteworthy to mention. I appreciate your commenting our Kids Club which is certainly a very valuable asset, assisting you to fully enjoy your time as parent on your own.
In respect to the pools, the upper of the three pools is year-round heated at 26ºC, which is the highest pool temperature legally allowed in Spain. The other two landscaped pools are heated by the sun and are presently at 22ºC. But more sun is to come!
I would klike to thank you and Cameron for staying with us! The Kids Club and the entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a beautiful spacious hotel. The pool area is huge but with lots of different areas so you don't feel like you are all in a line. And beautiful beach area. The room was just their standard one but was large, lovely bathroom and great quality finish with a small terrace with a side sea view. The buffet breakfast is particularly good with a vast choice of everything you can imagine (and more! - foie GRAS anyone for breakfast!). Overall a great relaxing environment where you really feel you are having a true holiday break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at our resort and your feedback on our services, which I appreciated.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon to Kempinski Hotel Bahía.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

When booking a room, and at check in, insist on seaside, as just a few meters behind the hotel the
highway A7 will spoil your holiday. The garden and pool area though are nice and suitable for families. - You should take a rent a car!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CenturionMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our resort. Just a short note on the room type you preferred, which must have been a deluxe sea view room:
The deluxe standard rooms are mostly facing the garden and Sea, but also towards the Carretera / highway.
The deluxe garden-view rooms, deluxe side-seaview rooms, and deluxe seaview rooms are all facing the Sea and are located within the property. All the rooms are of the same design and colourscheme, but vary only in their location. The garden view rooms are mostly on lower floors, due to the lush garden growing in front of their balconies, side seaview and full seaview rooms are mostly on the higher floors, overlooking the garden and Sea.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spend 4 night last November with our 3 kids, our in laws, my sister in law and her 4 kids.
Our stay was ok but not wonderfull for the price we paid.
The room were fine, not that big; we had connecting room
The pool area and beach is nice and well-kept
the only thing is the restaurant.. food was ok but the service terrible... we spent hours waiting for our meals and as you may imagine the kids were getting angry and upset waiting.
There is one tennis court and you have to pay for it! it is not well maintained.
Well I think we won't go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sablefin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your last year's stay in November 2012, highlighting your positive impressions on our beautiful resort.
My apologies that the food orders at night took a bit longer, but usually tables with children are served first to avoid that children are getting upset waiting. Please keep in mind that all dishes are freshly prepared, with veggetable coming from our own garden, which might sometimes take a bit longer. As you left this comment also with the service team last year, we took the time and improved this point by now.
I would be pleased to welcome you back to our resort, to convince you of our improvements made.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

this Kempinski comes with pluses and minuses...
the biggest plus: very friendly staff; from reception via cleaning to pool to restaurant...
the hotel is not really well located; no board walk or beach walk so you have to take a taxi or the bus or better, rent a car.
the grounds of the hotel are well kept -large garden, with a couple of swimming pools and direct access to the beach.
the fitness was not in use during our visit because of some leakage problem the weeks before; my wife tried the spa and this was excellent
the restaurants serve good food; though pretty pricey (especially for kids...7 eur for a kids's ice cream...humm...); my tip is to go to Estepona; not only a very nice beach village with excellent restaurants and tapas bars...
rooms are clean; unfortunetaly the airco didn't work (because they were still in winter season...) so our room was too warm. We also got free wifi for 4 devices during our stay.
concierge arranged a couple of things for us (airport transfers, lost luggage, flight tickets), what we appreciated.
so, a nice holiday hotel, they should work on the pricing of their F&B (especially the kids' options), schedule a regular bus or so to Estepona and activate their airco...to make it a true 5* experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at our Resort.
I would like to comment on our location, which in itself is certainly very unique, having a 300m beach and a frontal Sea-side 45.000 sqm lush garden. But almost no hotel here is in walking distance from the city. Marbella / Estepona is for the mobile guest, who is visiting historic sites, drive along the coast or on the mountain roads, playing golf or polo, riding horses, or visiting tourist attractions.
The air conditioning system is switched in April from winter /heating to summer / cooling function and we see that during the switch we do exceed night temperatures of 16-18ºC, when still the ventilation system works for the rooms, or guests leave their windows open for some fresh sea air.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Kempinski Hotel Bahía soon.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Extremely poor value for money. €400/night for a junior suite which overlooked the road so was noisy, it only got morning sun and you had to crane to see the sea. Unhelpful staff, all apologies and no action nor remedy. Last time for me in a Kempinski Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slabhoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
In reference to your comment, I regret that you did not enjoy your stay at your Deluxe Junior Suite.
The Sea was just streight ahead of you, when looking over the large terrace towards the Sea, but it always depends on the angle you want to see things!
All these types of Junior Suites, like you have booked, have morning and afternoon sun, but due to the full house situation we could not upgrade your accommodation to a Deluxe Junior Suite with full sea view, which have the afternoon sun on their terrace. So, our staff was not unhelpful, but couldn't be of help, which is a difference!
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
797 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#2 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $162 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pssst… Beauty sleep until the 16th of February 2018 We are taking some time out while we redesign the Kempinski Hotel Bahía lobby and restaurants this winter! Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing