We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, well equipped and comfortable, although in need of some general maintenance. No tea/coffee-making facilities and you needed a mortgage to afford any of the drinks from the mini-bar! A bottle of water cost E5.50 in the main restaurant and the wi-fi was E7/hour so I used the local Macdonalds and cafes which were free. Food quality was very good with plenty of choice for breakfast but stick to the coffee as the tea was disgusting. The hotel is in a magnificent has wonderful gardens.Spa facilities looked good but weren't working during my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room as the standard rooms overlook the noisy motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    246
    99
    43
    16
See reviews for
262
460
30
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights. Yes the hotel is off of the A7 (noisy) but we chose a seaview room and had an almost the same view as in hotel photos.No road noise, just the gentle sounds of waves breaking on the beach. Room was large, very clean, excellent decor.
The grounds were very well maintained with sympathetic planting along with art sculptures, vases, urns, wooden bridges to cross the various pools, always made for an interesting walk.Beach is dark sand with some pebbles, but there are ample sun beds nearby so that you can be within 50 feet of the waters edge.
Breakfast buffet was excellent, faultless and leisurely. Most table have views of the garden and the sea. We ate in the Cabana Restaurant one evening and found that the food was very good.
The staff were always courteous, helpful and polite. Thank you to Jose who helped us with boarding passes on our last night. No trouble parking our hired car either. Would love to return again. Only problem we really encountered was on arriving v. late had difficulty in finding hotel, just remember to travel back down the A7 and then along the slip road

Room Tip: I would definitely book a sea facing deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSD250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I cannot understand why this hotel does not get more 5* reviews. As a kempinski it is guaranteed to be of a high standard. The staff are extremely professional & cheerful, the food in the Cabana restaurant is of the highest quality, the grounds are beautiful with a huge winding pool & it is extremely clean. The breakfast buffet is one of the most extensive I have seen. It is beside a busy road but most of the bedrooms are sea facing & there is no traffic noise. As with most of the beaches along from Fuengirola, it is stoney but one can still enjoy looking at the sea as the gardens are so spacious. My only criticism applies to the cost of spirits given the much lower alcohol prices in Spain.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Kempinski Hotel Bahia in August 2012. It was pleasant, comfortable, yet nothing too special for a resort hotel. If you want sandy beach, this is not the place to go, you will find giant pebbles and big stones on the beach. Also beware of the giant jelly fishes in the water.

Typical 5 star hotel with 400 Euro price tag per night in high season.

The hotel was full in August, mostly with Dutch tourists who were loud at the swimming pools. One family seemed to own the pool, playing games all day long.

We tried 15 minute free massage at the spa, which was good. We also received a very warm reception at the spa.

POSITIVES:
- upgraded to a better room at check-in (Leaders Club card)
- state of art gym facility
- manicured gardens with sculptures
- El Mirador breakfast staff were very kind and friendly, especially Anna
- Boiled lobster was probably the only delicious item on menu, and it was plenty of it on display!

NEGATIVES:
- slow check-in process, no early check-in for Leaders club members, and even though front office manager takes your phone number to ensure to inform you when room is ready, you never receive a call! At 15.30pm we went to reception again, only to get the following comment "aaaa here you are, I was just about to call you!".
- average food buffet at La Cabana del Mar restaurant. Plenty of choices, but nothing was special. Especially main courses were soaked in gluey sauce.
- service at La Cabana del Mar restaurant at lunch: there were 4 waiters along with head of staff (an old guy with little English), but they seem to focus only on one table (a very loud Russian family who were extremely demanding every minute), for about 30 minutes we felt invisible in the restaurant.
- tennis court needs maintenance, there was no water (usually in all hotels at similar caliber, you find either a fountain or a fridge at the tennis courts)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay_fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Short stay for 5 nights. We expected more. Only cleanness, nice garden with pools and great breakfast are not enough for 5 stars hotel.
After satisfactory check-in came a disappointment at check-out. We could not pay by electronic card although this was confirmed at check-in time. They did not take care properly of our ordered transport to the airport.
The service in restaurants and bar was good, but the quality of food varied from very good to poor during our stay. The selection of vines is poor - mainly valid for garden restaurant .
To take a bath in the sea is unlikely - deserted ugly beach.
Local architecture of Exterior of the house must be accepted, but the interior is uninspired and boring. Needs a good idea and a reconstruction.
Nice trip to Ronda and a good opportunity to visit close Gibraltar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Plus
Great rooms
Excellent breakfast buffet
Good quality food
Good swimming pools
Minus
Only one fine dining resteraunt to eat,all others closed.Could be difficult with children.
Beach difficult to enter the water because of washed up stones.
No refreshment service on the beach
Overpriced at 300 euros per night in Sep.
Isolated location without a car

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here 1 night (Saturday) in September.

Pros: GREAT gardens, pools and it is on the sea front. Room had lovely marble bathroom. Choice of bars and restaurants, LOTS of sun loungers. Live singer at the ocean front restaurant on the Saturday night was great. Guy who checked us in (Nicolas), free parking. Great breakfast.

Cons: Our deluxe sea view room (Room 810) was very much a partial ocean view (big wall in front of our balcony). I was hoping for sun loungers on the balcony but got 2 chairs and a table. OK but not super luxurious. The poolbar cafe was closed while we were there (September) but the ocean front restaurant did cover their menus so that was closed. However, it would have been nice to get some sunlounger service which hanging out in those wonderful gardens. This hotel is on the motorway so make sure you get a sea facing room then you wont notice it. The beach front is rocky so you probably wont swim in the sea but it doesnt really matter because the pools are great.
Bugbear: It really bugs me that luxury hotels get you in and then try to charge you extras for things that cost them nothing eg:1) internet. (If you join their loyalty programme before you go, you get internet and newspaper for free. If you dont know this, they will charge you.)
2) Late check out. Travellers often have late flights and if hotels can accomodate late check outs I think they should make the effort. We were told the hotel was at 50% capacity and they did give us a 2 hour late check out, but wouldnt give us 4 hours (would it make much difference to them). My husband said that if we could stay longer he would have time to have a massage and we would get lunch at the hotel but instead of getting that extra income they decided we should defintely leave by 2 else we have to incur the charge. Considering that check in is at 3 and check out is at 12, this does not quite give you 24 hours for a rather high nightly rate. If this was easy hotels, then that would be understandable, but this hotel suggests it is an upmarket luxury hotel and I think it lets itself down on customer service in this respect.

Besides that, it was a nice hotel. Great weather. We were out of season so not too crowded (I would not like to stay here when the hotel is at 100% capacity - could get crazy busy I think). And it is always nice to be besides the seaside.

Room Tip: Room 810 only has a partial ocean view as it has a huge wall in front of half of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
4.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Property: Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Address: Carretera Nacional 340 Km. 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#2 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing