We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
Review of Las Gitanillas

Las Gitanillas
Ranked #91 of 468 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Locals call this restaurant The Garage because it is located on a sidestreet in what was once a garage! Paco has a great selection of tapas which are really meals in and of themselves and are all usually priced at only 4 to 5 euros each We go often with friends and order two tapas each and share. We have rarely had a bad experience but it is important to note that sometimes large family groups enjoy this restaurant and the noise level can be elevated and it can be crowded. Paco is friendly and works to attain and maintain customer satisfaction. We usually get the fish and the honeyed albergine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    27
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must have caught it on an off day...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Three of us went here on the recommendation of a local. Perhaps it wasn't the best time to judge it as it was bitterly cold and we were more or less the only people in. I cannot fault the service and the man who served us was superb. I could see that it would be a fun place to eat on a warmer evening with a few more people in but I have to say the food was fairly tasteless. It was very reasonably priced and I would have no other complaint than that all three us found the food a bit lacking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank compost51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The staff are always friendly, and the service is good. Some interesting variations on traditional dishes. It can be hard to find as its in a back street but its worth going.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun Restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is such fun, and has such a happy ambiance. The tapas menu is great for sharing with a group of friends. A family run restaurant, the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is incredibly reasonably priced, and freshly cooked, and tastes great.

We always call it the garage. Because it does look as if the rear room was once a garage, which has now been painted white with pots of geraniums hanging off the walls.

I would recommend: the stuffed peppers - so moreish, the aubergines with treacle - yummy, gambas pil pil - cheapest around, large grilled prawns with garlic - gorgeous. The dishes of fried and grilled fish to share a just great.

Be warned, this restaurant is incredibly popular with the local Spanish. If you go after 9pm you will have to wait for a table. Trust me, it'll be worth it.

Helpful?
Thank annabellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“The best Restaurant Tapas in Estepona!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I'm usual to get lunch and dinner at this restaurant.The atmosphere is excellent and friendly, accompanied with a variety of different traditional tapas at a reasonable prices, it makes us to have an amazing experience. Really, that place is very enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBAZAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Gitanillas also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Las Gitanillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing