We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MacDonald Villacana Resort
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best of the best”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we stayed here in August and liked it so much we came again in September. September was quieter and better for couples but August was more lively, and there are more children around then. restaurant was really friendly and the food was great! Cancelada the village across the road had all we needed for eating out if the restaurant was full, and buses are plentiful to Gibaltar/Marbella/Perto Banus -we visited them all -All in all a fantastic holiday-and for a 5 star resort (Macdonald resorts) the price was great too!

Room Tip: higher floors usually have a sun terrace but some have a roof terrace which is very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 617themilnes617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the past week. The two good things about this place were the apartment itself - it was spacious and clean and had all you needed. The other positive to the resort were the reception staff who were very helpful.
That's where the good review ends. On our first night we decided to go the resort restaurant as we had had a long day travelling with a 3 yr old. We got seated right by the huge speakers which we later found out was for a lame karaoke night. We couldn't talk as we couldn't hear eachother so my husband asked to be moved. The staff were very snotty and acted put out for inconveniencing them. The guy doing kareoke was irritating as hell.
The place is impossible to find unless you know the area (we didn't)
We also got charged for electricity we used. We were rarely in the apartment but got charged 40 euros for the week. This was a charge we weren't expecting as there is nothing on the website. I would not have booked to stay if I knew that on top of what I had already paid I would be charged for electric.
The apartments are also have time share opportunities something we were not interested in. One day we got a knock on the door it was the sales woman with "fantastic offers" for timeshares asking if I had time to talk. I explained we were going out so she asked how long we would be when I said we would be out most of the day she badgered me to give her a time I was free. When I said I wasn't interested she left only to call the next morning to badger again. Not what you want when your on holiday.
I will not be staying here again, it's too far out, too like an episode of benidorm and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjasnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here in June this year and the place was Fantastic, the accomodation was one of the best I have ever stayed in. The Apartments are mostly private owned and are really well appointed, we stayed in a 2 bed apatment and it was more than adequate for our needs. The (north) complex was small and compact but well layed out, the pool area was well layed out and there was always enough sun loungers to go round and the closeness of the bar area to the pool allowed you to relax with a drink while still being able to watch the young one's in the pool.the pool was very clean and there was also a small indoor heated pool if it got too cold for the outdoor one. There is a beach about 5 mins walk but staying by the pool suited us.You need a car if you plan on going out and about. We hired a car at the airport and went out and about in the morning and came back to the pool after lunch. we visited Gibralter and a few of the villages round about the complex. Directions to find the complex were not too clear and we missed turn off twice before we managed to find the right one and the road under motorway was badly pot holed. ther is plenty to do round about if your prepared to drive but otherwise not a lot.There is a supermarket just outside the complex which is a little more expensive but is well stocked and provides fresh rolls in the morning.There is Pizzeria across the road but they do not deliver and it is a good 10 mins walk to get there.All in all we would recommend this accomodation as the apartments are spotless and they have everthing you need in them, the Complex is immaculate and well presented and the pool area is very clean and well laid out.The staff are all very friendly and go the extra mile to ensure that you enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyeball1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The apartment is very well equipped with all the usual mod cons other than a washing machine but there is a laundry room at Reception that costs €5 per wash and is open until midnight. The resort is beautiful and has a great little supermarket on site - a bit like your local corner shop. The only disappointing bit is the beach, very pebbly and maybe not the cleanest but we have some lovely swimming pools to choose from that have very relaxed attitudes towards inflatables and jumping in - perfect for the children!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed at the Villacana for one week at the end of July, 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, very spacious, all the necessary utensils in the kitchen, you also have your own roof top terrace with table, chairs and loungers,the courtyard was stunning with very colourful flowers, staff worked continuously to keep the area tidy. Handy supermarket on site, but if you are looking for a bigger supermarket there is one around twenty minutes walk and across the over pass which has everything you should require for self catering, tried a few restaurants in the village across the road which were very good, Itapu was one of them. Local buses are great for getting around and only cost 2 euros each way, half hourly service, reception will supply timetables. We will return to these apartments in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milocatGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The resort has immaculate gardens and is perfect for a relaxing holiday. The beach is nice to walk along but not ideal for children as it is very pebbly. The on site supermarket is poorly stocked so a walk across the footbridge to the supermarket is advisable. We didn't hire a car but travelled by local bus -very efficient, regular and cheap. If you are considering a trip to Gibralter then it is advisable to join the organised trip, you enter and leave Gibralter far quicker that way. The Upper Deck, located on the south part of the complex -is worth a visist. The units are well equipped and well presented. The outdoor pool is on the small side but has the advantage of being heated in low season. It is very quiet so if you are wanting a lively busy resort then this isn't for you. However, if you want to relax this is perfect - provided you have the right room!

Room Tip: Study the resort website before booking a room and ensure you avoid the North side facing the motorw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayt752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We bought a 2 bed 2 bath timeshare here, and we're not disapointed.the grass looks like someone's been over it with the scissors, seriously, the gardeners should be commended on the work they do here it's just superb.its a great base , a car is useful if you want to get out and about but if you like lazing by the pool, there is a lovely large one with a grassed area fir picnicing, and smaller ones too .the snack bars by the pool does reasonable lunches , if you want to go further afield, there is a chiringito style restaurant on the beach at around ten mins walk,that's a bit cheesy! Everyone's in pink, and it's called heaven . Food there is seriously good , not cheap though.the little village of cancelleda offers some great dining options and is just over the bridge.the standard in the apartments is very good, with all you need really and we found ours huge, plenty of room. The only negative is there was no balcony off the apartment , although you had a terrace with table chairs and bar b q on the roof. A really good resort, with great staff , and reasonable food, if you get the chance go....you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
7.3 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDonald Villacana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Property: MacDonald Villacana Resort
Address: Calle Cadiz 165/166, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing