We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Estepona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Champagne on arrival, we knew it was going to be good. My family and all enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. The apartment was amazing, the pool was great and its so close to the beach. There were activities everyday which included olive tasting, tennis, darts and more of which i cant remember, the spa was very good, so relaxing my dad fell asleep during a massage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHall93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinnion with all the tripadvisor's users.

I am happy to know that you had a nice stay with us.

We hope to see you again!!

Kind regards,

Yolanda Lopez
Guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    245
    78
    19
    19
See reviews for
360
253
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good hotel with nice facilities. It helps that it is pretty new. Family rooms are huge, it might be the biggest room I’ve ever been for a regular family room. The swimming pool and the green areas are the dream for the kids.

Personnel service excellent. Special mention to Clara on reception who satisfy any request with excellence.

On the “things to improve” side I’d say the restaurant. Although is good doesn’t reach the excellence level of Melia. The beach is not among the ones I like but I guess there is very little the hotel can do to change that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Food not good at all ? Pool freezing games room to far for kids to play by them selfs, no English only Spainish and Russian people, do not go here its a waste of money if you bring your family, we booked for 10 days and moved by luck after 4 ,no enter ment only a mini disco for 20 minutes and then you have to sit on a couch with a drink, no shop, no way of walking to a shop as its 2 miles away,out of 10 we would give this hotel a 1-2 no more and this so called holiday took place on the 24 June 2013 till the 4 th July

Room Tip: Some rooms have a good view the others have none book a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossmeglan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a package with e bookers, on arrival we had to queue as there was only one person to cover reception, we were hot, tired and very hungry, the wait was at least 30 minutes.

On arrival we were delighted with the two rooms we had booked...a deluxe apartment and a family room.

Beautifully appointed and very spacious indeed, we were delighted.

The deal with e bookers gave the family room breakfast, but no breakfast was included for our deluxe apartment.

Despite having the paperwork from e bookers the hotel would NOT give us the included breakfast with the family room, as they did not have it on their system!!! The cost for 3 persons for a 10 day holiday was 250 Euros so not a small deal to us.

It took us 2 full days and numerous phone calls on my mobile to e bookers (expensive) to get this resolved. The reception staff were arrogant, rude and offhand and even on realising their own mistake, did not apologise or offer us any compensation for the lost breakfasts at all.

To be honest this ruined the first 2 days of our holiday, as most of it was spent going up and down to reception and calling e bookers.

Put this aside and the other staff were great helpful and nice to deal with.

The kids club only started half way through our 10 days, but when it did, it went on from 10am till midnight and the entertainment team were really super with the children.

The hotel itself is very nice and clean and modern as are the rooms.

There are 2 areas to sit poolside, one for adults wanting quiet and one for the children and so you can choose.

The gardens are very small but nicely kept.

There are tennis courts and a Volleyball sand enclosure.

Plenty of basic sun lounges and umbrellas surround the pool area, we never had to fight for a bed.

The beach was a huge let down, it is gravel and not nice to sit on at all, mostly nudists came to the beach and so for the children, it is a no no as the nudists are not at all shy, their hotel is about a mile away and really they should keep to their own area but don't.

There is a shop on site but it sells very little for a self catering apartment at all and if you want bread, you have to order it a day in advance and it is 3 x more expensive than the supermarket.

The food was OK not as much variety as other 4 star hotels we have been to, but all edible and nicely prepared.

Around the hotel, the poor economy shows, unfinished complexes, closed businesses and unfinished walkways, a sad message to everyone.

Here is where you need to listen up.........

The hotel is miles from anywhere, over an hour from the airport and a car is absolutely essential.

The hotel is on a dual carriageway and so you cannot cross the road to go anywhere.

The supermarket is opposite the hotel on the other side of the dual carriageway and so to get to it, you either walk on the scrub alongside the dual carriageway, over a bridge about a mile and a half away to the other side of the dual carriageway to the supermarket and walk back, or get a taxi.

We used to walk there and get a taxi back which was so ludicrous it was frustrating. A taxi back was 7 Euros, there and back and for the taxi to wait 20 Euros, we went everyday for fresh bread and pastries as well as drinks and water, so this was expensive.

A taxi to Estepona and back was 24 Euros per taxi, we had to have two taxis as there were 5 of us and the cabs only take 4, so it was very expensive.

The market is 3 times a week in Estepona Wed/Sat/Sun.

Amazingly full of English stall holders!

The brochure we had said 15 mins to Estepona and other major towns and I think this was very misleading.

We kept our room on for a late check out and it was 45 Euros but to us, worth it to feel fresh and clean to go home.

I dont wish this to be negative, just informative, we had a very nice holiday in a lovely hotel with superb weather, I would not go back just because of its difficult location, which added hundreds of Euros to our budget.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe apartment room 1212 perfect view of the outside, the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

this was our second time at the hotel and again was extremely comfortable holiday. we stayed in a beachfront room which was very comfortable with fantastic views. all the staff as usual were very attentive and always smiling. anyone who comes to this hotel will undoubtedly want to return. we will be back next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertbrown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First I want to address the reviewer who suggested that he/she had to share a room with strangers (this review almost caused me to book elsewhere). As far as I could see, each room is a separate unit with its own room number and key card. Each unit has a small but functional kitchen, a large dining/living area, 1 or 2 bedrooms, 1 or 2 baths and 2 patios or balconies. Our room had a 2 patios facing the sea. As with most of the Costa del Sol you will need a car as the hotel is located about 4 kms west of the city. If you want to prepare your own meals, the kitchen is well equiped and there is a supermercardo across the road. As others have noted, there are 3 nice pools and a short walk to the beach. Not appropos of the hotel, but the beaches on the Costa del Sol have nothing on those in the Carribean. If you are looking at tours to Tangiers, this would be a good option because it is generally the last stop before the hour ride to Tarifa, And do not freak out about having to cross the road to catch the bus (going towards Tangiers) because the road will not be busy at 7 AM. If you do not want to prepare your meals, however, the meal options for dinner are limited. You will need to drive several kms to find a restaurant off site. Otherwise your choices are the buffet at 30 euros each or an a la carte bar menu. There is a large bar/dining area on the ground floor which did not seem to be in use. Management should consider offering more meal options for guests

Room Tip: We booked a one bedroom and one bath suite and got a two bedroom/two bath suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently and I couldn't wait to check out. There was nothing particularly bad about the hotel, there just was nothing special about the hotel either.

Our room was great, really big and spacious (Block 6) but it was a bit of a trek to get there when we first landed with our luggage and no help is offered. What let the hotel down the most is the pool area- it is a very average pool area, freezing cold water with simple loungers and a few umbrellas and the pool bar only seems to open for an hour or two a day and there is no music or anything around the pool for a fun holiday atmosphere- no luxury spared here. One day I went to get drinks to bring to our loungers and had to go to the restaurant and wait and then told that someone would come to the pool bar to sort me out. Basically it took over 30 mins for me to get the drinks so we didn't bother get any more. All of these details are very minor and only bothered me as the hotel looks really fancy online but it is actually very basic. The location is terrible (we thankfully had a rental car, otherwise you would spend a fortune on taxis and the only dining option at night is to pay €30pp each evening for a buffet meal at the hotel. The staff were not overly friendly or helpful and there seemed to be people constantly complaining at reception. We could only log into the free WIFI at reception which we were told would be all over the hotel so we heard a lot of complaining while we sat there each day. The breakfast was mediocre. Some people on here seem to think it was great. I disagree. On our first day we went for a walk on the small stretch of beach in front of the hotel only to find nudists as the hotel is located next to a nudist resort. We had a great laugh following our initial shock :) There is a strange set up with the rooms. you go through one door and there is a communal living area and then our room was upstairs within this shared area. It didn't bother us but it was slightly strange. Over all this is not a hotel I would recommend to stay in to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
8.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.1 mi away
Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
#1 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
10.3 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Estepona

Property: Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Address: Arroyo Vaquero Playa | Crta. A-7 km 150, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Estepona 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fuerte Estepona is a magnificent hotel with 210 rooms and deluxe suites with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms with sea views. Thanks to its location, a modern spa and its specifically-designed spaces for couples and families, the hotel holds a respected place among the hotels in Estepona. It is 82 km from Malaga International Airport and half an hour from Gibraltar.EL OLIVO RESTAURANT: Our traditional, high-quality Mediterranean cuisine using natural flavours with a modern touch to be enjoyed in modern surroundings. Our exclusive Fuerte Estepona restaurant, located within the hotel, is the perfect place to start and end a day at the beach, enjoying all the flavours it has to offer. A wide range of breakfasts, lunches (solely during the months of July and August) and buffet dinners.The Estepona Spa is a place where you can alleviate stress, charge your batteries and return home better than ever, thanks to our cutting-edge hydrotherapy circuits and massage and beauty treatment regimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Estepona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Estepona Hotel Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing