We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
39
48
33
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
48
33
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small garden self catering roomy apartment nearest supermarket reception staff sabinillas complex spa padel microwave tennis balconies ronda
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2015

My three year old son was playing in the baby pool when suddenly he started screaming and crying. I took him out and found that he had an industrial staple stuck in the base of his foot!!! Fortunately my friend was with me and went running to the reception for help. The receptionist was really unhelpful and unprofessional and said that she couldn't move from her desk and what could she do. She didn't even phone for anyone else to come and help. Eventually a P.R. woman came out and began to make several calls to a lifeguard who was at another pool. I kept on asking for an ambulance because my son was in a lot of pain but she just kept on ringing the lifeguard. After a while she said that the lifeguard would not be coming that he had to stay at the other pool. In the end a guy from maintenance showed up and offered to take us to the medical centre where my son was finally seen to. I was very upset and shocked at how badly they handled a medical emergency and how they had no one available or able to provide first aid. Also, what was an industrial staple doing in a baby pool in the first place???!!! For all the above reasons I would strongly suggest you do NOT take your children to this place - very poorly maintained and not at all suitable. An utterly terrible experience - worst holiday ever.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Gigi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albayt R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Albayt Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2015
Google Translation

Estimada Nat,
Gracias por su opinión sobre Albayt Resort & Spa. Como comenta, el percance de su hijo fue una desagradable experiencia para todos. Si el incidente hubiese sido de gravedad por supuesto no hubiesemos dudado en llamar a una ambulancia o lo que hubiese hecho falta., pero al ser un pinchazo con una grapa en el pié, que sé que fue desagradable para ustedes, actuamos en consecuencia y le suministramos lo necesario: asistencia y traslado al centro sanitario. Les recuerdo que les ofrecí todas las compensaciones que creí conveniente y más, y que las denegaron todas. Albayt Resort & Spa es un sitio bastante seguro e ideal para familias que año tras año nos siguen eligiendo como destino para pasar susu vacciones, pero que como en cualquier hotel, incluso de 5*, surge algún pequeño inconveniente, como que hubiese una pequeña grapa en zona de jardín que por desgracia su hijo pisó. Pero eso no quita todo lo bueno que tenemos, qu es mucho. Siiento de verás que se hayan quedado con esa imagen de nosotros, que para nada es la realidad. Sigue en pié mi oferta de compensarles y quedo a suentera disposición para lo que necesiten. Saludos cordiales, Silvia Mateo. Responsable de Atención al cliente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Had a wonderful holiday with my girlfriend and my two daughters. We both had very well appointed apartments. The staff were very friendly and phoned me when our apartments were ready.we had basically the use of our own swimming pool in the block we were in and what people we did share with were very friendly

Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albayt R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Albayt Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Pete,
Gracias por escribir su comentario sobre su experiencia en Albayt Resort & Spa. Me complace saber que sus vaciones en nuestro Resort han sido satisfactorias. Es nuestra mayor recompensa y por lo que nos esforamos cada dia. Esperamos volver a verles pronto por albayt.
Saludos cordiales.
Silvia Mateo
Responsable de Atención al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by our three bedroom apartment at Albayt Resort. The main downside is that the resort is in the middle of nowhere (there is a motorway at the bottom of the hill so you can’t walk across), but I think this is reflected in the price. As long as you have a car and are prepared for the location then the apartments are spacious and well equipped with an allocated parking space and free wifi available in each apartment. A lot of the reviews we read mentioned hard beds but found the beds very comfortable. We were on the ground floor and had a terrace with table and chairs as well as a lawn to the front and side. There were several pools but we only used one of them, which had free sunbeds, was clean and manned by a life guard. We were over the road from the pool bar but did not notice any noise from there at all, in fact the whole place was very quiet and relaxed. Our terrace had a view of the sea and the mountains. The apartment was serviced every three days.

There was a free children’s club for resort residents which runs 9am-2pm and included breakfast, golf, padel, swimming and crafts.

Estepona is a 5 minute drive down the road and we did daytrips to Marbella, Gibraltar and Ronda. We were a bit disappointed by the quality of the pizzas in the pool bar and they could do with a small onsite shop, but other than that we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1973939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

This complex was disappointing compared to their former sister apartment complex, Albayt Beach Apartments, which have been sold to an investment company. I usually stay at the beach apartments and have submitted some good reviews, but because it has been sold, decided to try the resort instead.

I arrived on 18 June and stayed for a week. My first impression was how deserted it was given it was almost high season. I assumed there would be some sea view apartments, to be told there are none. All you will get is a garden or pool view. Although it’s fairly close to the sea, the complex is on a long road in a dip, so no sea views.

I booked a one-bedroom apartment, but was “upgraded” to a two bed even though I didn’t need it as a single occupant. I can best describe the complex as a huge red brick concrete jungle of apartments, some privately owned and others rented by the resort. It looked so shabby and dated. The gardens in my vicinity were well kept though. The first apartment I was assigned was on an elevated level from the street and something like 30 wooden steps to climb. There was no way I could take this with a bad knee. They then gave me an apartment on street level. It was a two-bedroom garden apartment with views of the mountain range.

I had some concerns about security, as the garden apartments are contiguous. On several occasions I arrived back late at night and found the perimeter gate open. This means anyone from the street has access to the grounds and apartments. There is CCTV coverage of the main walkways. There’s also a security hut close by, but I only ever saw him sitting in the office once. He does the night shift and takes over when the reception closes at 9pm. They supply you with his mobile number in the literature, but I shudder to think if you needed him in an emergency! There are no phones in the apartments, so you must have a mobile. No free wifi in the apartment, only reception during opening times!

The apartment itself was more than adequate for me. A large lounge diner with integrated kitchen and two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with two single beds. The beds are quite hard, but this is typical of Spain. There’s a shower over bath, so not ideal if you’re disabled in any way. There are no grab rails and no shower mat, so the potential is there to slip and fall. There’s a flat screen TV with Spanish channels only. No DVD player.

The kitchen was well stocked with plates, cutlery, appliances, etc., but one issue I found was with the coffee maker. The supplied filter didn’t fit, so I took this to reception and asked for another one. This went on for four days and each time I was promised a “new coffee maker”. This didn’t happen and each time a different filter was left in the apartment that didn’t fit and they left two large vegetable colanders as well?? I think there’s a language issue here even though the lady on reception appeared to have a good command of English. In the end I gave up. Just as well I took my trusty cafetiere with me for morning coffee! There was really no excuse for this poor customer service as the place was devoid of guests.

Bed linen and towels were changed every three days, but cleaning was poor. I found two skeletons of cockroaches on the floor, which were there on my arrival.

They made great play of the resident Chiringuito Akua’s bar, but I soon discovered it was closed. When I asked at reception, I was informed it’s only open during July and August even though their own website says 20 June? I called into the restaurant on Saturday for lunch to see a fairly decent menu for 12 euros for a three course. The problem was it was empty. I didn’t try the spa or swimming pool.

As mentioned this is a sprawling complex and fairly long walk to the beach. There are no shops close by. You would also have to cross the roundabout on the busy A340 to get to the beach and this is a very dangerous road. You really need a car at this location. I didn’t have any problems parking on the road, but then again there was hardly any guests staying there. They have underground parking, but there are no elevators (unlike their former beach apartments), so not ideal for disabled folk.

I would like to single out Tony on reception for praise, as he was very helpful when present. He was also helpful when I used to stay at their beach apartments, but sadly they no longer manage them. The resort rates are reasonable, but I found it all to be very disappointing and won’t be returning.

Room Tip: Depends on the traveller. If you're disabled then pick a street level apartment.
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kevinjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015

Privately owned apartments, which can be rented for a couple of days. The apartments are quite large, but the beds are hard and the apartment we had was not very comfortable. It takes you about ten tot fifteen minutes to walk to the beach, but the location of the resort is quite remote an in May the neighborhood is quite desolated. A bit of a disappointment, and I would not visit this place again, but of course this is a personal view.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews