We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albayt Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albayt Resort
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here with three children 8 ,12,and 16.The kids loved the pools and the resort.!! .,not to many sun-loungers though.The kids found the pool bar great and sat up there with some friends that they made.you cannot walk ,anywhere,the road is too dangerous no pavements. there is a restaurant, nearby but we did not try it,a car is a must ,there are some good beaches within 5 mins by car,also a white village about 15 mins Casteras,,there is a bus service close by but we didn't try it,also the estepona taxi,s do not carry 5 passengers so very expensive if you have 3 kids or more!!!.probably would have prefered a resort closer to town.however the gardens,were very well maintained .there was wifi access at the resort reception which was very pleasant and the food and drinks are fairly reasonably priced,we did have fantastic weather in august.

Room Tip: you can get some great rates on holiday lettings from private owners three bedrooms are usually firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ollypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    26
    6
    11
See reviews for
59
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is one of the many resorts around Estepona and has an own driving and putting range for golf fanatics. I don't play golf... What should I say? Although everything is there (including 7 swimming pools) the place is boring. Do not be enticed by the fact that "the beach is 200 meters from the parc". Possibly it is, and if you can fly across the highway you'd reach it and start looking for an other beach. Without a car you can't even get there. Without a car you don't get anywhere from here, but the resort bar which is agreeable but also not much going on.
The park is divided in blocks, each with a communal swimming pool, you can take a week and visit everyone of them. There are about 8 sun beds at each pool, so get up early! It has the typical tourist Anduluz golf residence looks. We stayed in a groundfloor two-bedroom and two bathroom apartment. Lots of space and good finish inside but because of the very spare interior ( chairs and couch but no cushions, no things like vases or other things to make it homely) not very welcoming. Kitchen utensils are just enough, so don't ask anyone for dinner.
There is a tv with spanish channels, no stereo. At an additional rate of 5 Euros/day you can get wifi in the house. Near reception this is free.
Probably we didn't have the best of locations in the parc, next to the driving range and a wall at the other side of the apartment. Table and chairs just fit on the terrace. One more hint: if you have a parking under ground bring a 4-wheel drive. Our car scraped over the angle of the inclination with the bottom. Happy it was a rental. Is it all that bad? No its just fine, but I wouldn't come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at Albayt country club whilst our son played in the Andalucia junior open. We had a spacious ground floor 3 bed garden apartment (ideal for storing luggage n golf clubs). Well impressed with facilities especially as we had internet connection and dvd player, rest of our party didn't seem to have this.
You do need a car when staying here but we found the roads n area really quiet n easy to drive around. Wasn't too impressed with hotel restaurant (lots of choice nearby) or the fact that it cost a small fortune to have just a swim.
Ideal base for golf clubs at San Roque, Alcadeisa n Finca Cortesin etc and of course the obligitory visit to Gib!
Would probably use again cos quiet n a good base.

Room Tip: both ac/warm air units in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulap_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Good location, just of A7, major supermarkets a few minutes drive away
Reception- Excellent, friendly and helpful, good English. LOst my jacket at Malage airport, very helpful in ringing Lost Property for me.
Accommodation was sparsley furnished, just the basic furniture
TV had 40 channels, but all in Spanish, would have been nice to see BBC News 24
Kitchen had all large domestic appliances, inc washing machine and dishwasher. Only one extra socket at floor level.
Very clean apartments
Air Conditioning was excellent, best I have experienced, even with temperatures averaging 35C. All the rooms had shutters which if fully closed kept the rooms cool.
Pools- There were three nearby, and we had no trouble getting sunbeds, even though there were not very many. The site was probably 20-25% full in early September, but may be a problem when busy
English shop at end of the road, expensive but sold brabded English Products
Apart from the pools, not much to do on site, so a car is essential

Room Tip: Try for a South facing room, ours wasn't, and we got no sun after about 10am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I thought the resort is a place where there is something to do. There was however nothing to do, no social life going on at all, even in the middle of summer, except flamenco night on Saturday. The hotel reception and the whole main building with a restaurant closes at 9pm, so e.g. to use internet you have to sit on the stairs outside the building. 'Near the beach' is across a motorway, which you cannot cross without risking your life, so you must have a car. The nearest shop is about two miles away - again you need a car. 'Fully equipped kitchen' misses come basic equipment like grater, sieve or ladle. There is also nothing in the kitchen, not even salt or pepper, or any washing liquid etc. In kids club, one lady was supervising abot ten children, where the youngest were below 2 years old. Also, make sure you ask what is included in the price. We ended paying out for extras, that nobody mentioned to us on arrival, nor were listed in any brochures that we received. I would not recommend this place. I would rather recommend to stay away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estepona hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Lovely complex with great pools. Clean spacious apartment. Location was a bit disappointing there was nowhere to walk to in the evenings no shops or restaurants other than the pool bar. Busy dual carriageway made walking anywhere difficult. Hiring a car is essential. Make sure you get a good local map before going we found it a bit confusing figuring out how to get to beaches, where to park etc. Well worth driving into the mountains to Caseras and Rhonda. Plenty of restaurants in the mountains that would be worth a try. Sunbeds were a little scarce but never a great problem as the pools were generally quite quiet considering how many apartments there were. Free WiFi in reception area. Overall a nice family holiday. P.S watch out for the steep ramps into the car park may damage the number plate on your car but plenty of on street free parking. P.P.S if you drive to Gibraltar go as early as possible we got there at about 11 am and queued for 2 hours to cross the border and worth asking for change in Euros Gibraltar pounds are difficult to use in the UK

Room Tip: Try and ask for block 5 section 2 basement apartment for a good pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very clean and modern but furnished in a minimalistic way, no dressing table, no cushions, not enough lounge chairs, only place to leave suitcase is on the floor, every concievable kitchen appliance but only one plug socket! Worktop space in kitchen is about 80cm x 80cm. Severe lack of sun loungers 7 pools but only about 8 around each pool, luckily it was not that busy but still you either had to get up at 7am and reserve some or be prepared to sit on the grass.
Staff very helpful, grounds are kept immaculately and very little noise in the area. Pools not cleaned as often as they should be as dead frog highlighted, nice pool bar but not always open! Would I go again, possibly, but next time I'd know what to expect

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bendewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.3 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
11.5 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albayt Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albayt Resort

Property: Albayt Resort
Address: Carretera Nacional 340 34 | Urb. Costa Galera, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albayt Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Albayt Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Albayt Country Club Hotel Estepona
Albayt Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing