We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard place to find, great place to visit”
Review of Forest Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estepona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We traded into this resort via Interval International, but found it to be more of a suite hotel than a traditional time share. As far as we know they have no planned activities
as you would find at a standard time share resort. So as a time share I guess i would have to downgrade it, but as a place to stay to explore the region along the Costa del Sol it is great. And that is what all the guests seemed to be doing, leaving erly in the AM and returning late in the afternoon or evening after a day of exploring.The resort is located on one of the hilltops about three km inland from the coast, so the views are great. Because of the site location, built into the side and top of a hill, the resort has levels rather than floors. You are constantly climbing up and down stairs, but the views and locations are worth the extra efforts.

We had suite 109 which is a one bedroom w/a balcony overlooking the Med. The unit was certainly large enough for wife and me, and would be ok with a couple of children. But sharing with another adult couple would be somewhat questionable. The unit was completely modern with all the cabinets and bath fixtures hung off the wall. The unit was spotless and shining. We had a partial kitchen but the oversized micro had crisper and steamer options so we did not really miss the oven.

For amenities there is a very nice swimming pool with views of the rock of Gibraltar, and a very laid back “bar”. There appeared to be something happening at the restaurant/bar every evening, but since we were there only for a rest of a few days we did not participate. Prices, for Spain, were reasonable. There is a small convenience store within walking distance, but since you are on a rather steep hill, it is the steepness of the walk rather than the distance that gets you!

The staff was friendly and casual. Because the resort is small, only 44 units, they got to know you during the week. After three weeks in Spain this was the first time I realized we were in a foreign country...everyone was British!

The downer for this resort is location. It is difficult to find, even during the day time. At night it would be impossible, at least for me. it is off of KM 159 A-7 route and after that as you wind your way around the roundabouts, over a narrow pot holed road and up a very, very steep hill, you begin to wonder where the hell is this place. There are no signs, until you are on top of the resort. For some reason the staff does not give very good directions. But the resort is well worth the effort

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a view of the Straits of Gibralter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are Seasons Members and have been to Forest Hills probably about 4 times. We never get tired of the resort, its position and stunning views. On a clear day you can see Gibraltar. The only criticism we have is that there is no air conditioning and this time we found the bed very hard and my husband has a replacement hip and found it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: If you want to get aerobic exercise ask for the top floor as there are many steps and there are no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We went in october half term and it was pretty quiet, the kids loved it, the views off the balcony were amazing the only thing the kids didn't like was getting up to watch the sun rise.
We didn't have a sat nav so the reception staff were very knowledgeable at giving us directions and even with me being the navigator we found our way around.
The evening entertainment was good.
We enjoyed every minuet so much we are planning the same time next year

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loopycgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were given use of apartment 212 for a week as a wedding gift for which we are extremely grateful as this is a really nice complex, we arrived on Monday pm (so missed the Monday morning sales get together) I agree that it is not much good if you do not have use of a car however there is plenty of parking, make sure it is powerful enough to get up the hill!
OK place to find but ad to use a mix of sat nav and the written instructions as sat nav doesn't recognise it.
Fantastic views especially out over the med looking towards Gibralter.
Lots of steps and no lift, the staff were helpful and very friendly.
Would recommend visiting Ronda while there.
Would be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Room 212 had fantastic views but was up several stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been going to Forest Hills since May 2000 and it really is our favourite Seasons Resort. The accommodation is always clean, the staff extremely helpful and the food served in the Casa Verde Restaurant is freshly cooked, great portion size and reasonably priced. The Barbecue and Paella Nights are very good and the bar/catering staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at Forest Hills. Most points covered in my previous
reviews, so just an update.
First all the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful, and I found everything
to be very clean.
The access road is slightly better with lumps instead of dips now!!! Not much Forest Hills can do alone as it is a private road. Yes the place can be difficult to find, but the directions work
if you follow them correctly. (This visit we managed not to do the scenic route).
Entertainment is "home grown" most days with two professional acts, Jo a singer and Vidal, who
is well worth the seeing, with his speakers on his trousers and his steel drum.
The music quiz was fun with Sam (the franchisee) making sure everyone was involved and included.
This resort is really not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties etc. as no lift and lots of
stairs (a good keep fit routine going up and down the stairs) or for children as no play area, and the steps could be a hazard. But the atmosphere is great it is like a big house party, and you soon all get talking and enjoying yourselves, much more than the large complexes.
We always feel that it is not necessarily the places we visit but it is the people we meet who make our holidays so wonderful, and this time we meet the most lovely people or does Forest Hills just attract the best!!! Having said that the views are to die for, and watching the sun rise over the sea was a wonderful experience.
The reception staff we very helpful with a map for our visit to the Roman Town which is being excavated on the Atlantic coast, well worth a visit entrance is free with your passport.
We mainly cooked in the apartment, so did not eat at Casa Verde, but did drink in the bar, prices might seem a little steep to some outside places, but the spirit measures are by UK standards doubles, and of course the entertainment costs have to be covered.
We are looking forward to our next visit, a big thank you to all the staff at Forest Hills for a splendid time.

Room Tip: We were in 203 which is on reception level and has a balcony off the living area, not like some wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverheadskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is lovely place to stay...once you find it. You will definitely need a car, its quite off the beaten track but worth the while since it has a beautiful view of the sea and the mountains. Our room was at the top, which was quite a treck up the stairs (64 to be exact) and there is no lift but boy was it worth it! Estepona is a lovely town too.

Room Tip: Avoid the higher rooms if you can't climb stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneRicketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
6.0 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 34 in Estepona
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
916 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hacienda Beach Apartments
Hacienda Beach Apartments
#23 of 34 in Estepona
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills

Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villas Andaluzas S/N | Urb. Forest Hills, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Estepona
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Forest Hills Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing