We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
5
3
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
3
3
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2017

We booked this hotel directly with the Hotel itself for August 2016 via e-mail it was very difficult trying to find it from Malaga Airport so we turned on our phones and used our maps as the sat nav couldn't find the postal code. When we arrived it was very late and all the lights were off and the hotel was locked all up we spoke to a gate man who didn't speak very good English and was no help so I looked through some large glass doors where someone appeared. They gave us our room key and although the rooms are huge they also look like some kind of care home for the elderly. Rails all around the hotel, emergency cords everywhere, wet room, no bathroom locks just made me feel very old. I asked in the morning to take a look at one of the apartments but were told there wasn't any available. So the food the first few days were a 3 course menu with a choice of 3 separate dishes and this was excellent and was promised on the e-mail. We couldn't fault the dishes that were served and if the kids didn't like what was on offer they could choose chicken & chips, spag bog etc. The breakfast was continental and was very basic and not topped up enough with puddings on offer from the night before. Then the food took a dip it suddenly went buffet style which is not what I had paid for and it was shocking! The food was stone cold and was awful nothing like it was the other few nights we thought it may just be for a few nights and maybe return back to said three course hot food but this never happened we were so disappointed.
The Spa..... well I will re-phrase this to a indoor pool as that's all that was working. The Steam room, the sauna, in fact the whole area was not working and was not manned at all with us often asking to turn the jets on in the pool. Another reason why I picked this hotel was for the Spa facilities.
The waiters were excellent and one in particular played fun games with the kids and he is wasted at this hotel as there is nothing left on offer here.
The pool was lovely and in a very quiet location so there was no noise so very peaceful sun-bathing.
We complained as we left when they wanted their second payment for the hotel but was told there was no manager available and I was to e-mail in.
I received a e-mail back offering a apology and a return stay to compensate for the inconvenience. The price was super discounted except it was more than the cost for hotels nearer to the beach. A refund would have been more acceptable. I suggest you turn this back into a rehabilitation centre or a home for the elderly but definitely not a hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roxyboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Here to spend some time whilst have ongoing work over here in Spain.

Amazing location, great access, secured premises with 24hrs concierge, secured car park and lovely outside garden with lovely swimming pool !

Not to mention there's a restaurant inside and a fitness club with massage parlour also.

Thank you for organising this Lamiae !

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank Matty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Never ever will come back to this hotel. The staff, especially a women, who is sitting in the office on the left side and don´t speak english, is very very unfriendly. I guess she don´t wants to work there anymore because each request was supported by a unfriendly face and I guess I know why, because everytime I walked in the hotel - she or her colleague were eating! Every time! Other negative thing is - it is very very loud at the night. There are living another guests, which are making party all night long, the walls are so thin than you can hear even a fart from your neighbours. Nobody in the hotel is doing anything to prevent the noise and respect the rest periods of other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Simply the best, wonderful attentive staff, menu choice completely different from all others in the area. Had a wonderful evening sat on the terrace with delicious food.Luckily we went at the time when there was special art work on show throughout the hotel from local artists which one could purchase. The golf was an added bonus

Room Tip: no need as the rooms are all very good
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gh3340973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampanariodelParaiso, Director General at El Campanario del Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear friend

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with everyone and especially for having us. We are proud to be part responsible for them and all the staff at El Campanario del Paraíso send you warm greetings' news'll be waiting your next visit !!

Thank you very much again.

See you soon!

Best Regards

Desire Morillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Having been to the Campanario several times during the day, we decided to have Dinner there, based on the positive Trip advisor reports and due to the daytime staff being so charming, and welcoming.

We had a fantastic meal in a beautiful setting and the food was first class. With entertainment on various nights ( We went on a Saturday when there is always entertainment) it was extremely relaxing and enjoyable. The other diner's had all made an effort with dress code and smart Shirt's, dress shorts and dresses for the ladies made it feel special.

Families thinking of taking Children should view the Menu before attending as the Menu is more appropriate for adult enjoyment.

Thanks to all the Staff for being so professional and friendly.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampanariodelParaiso, Director General at El Campanario del Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear Mark

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with everyone and especially for having us. We are proud to be part responsible for them and all the staff at El Campanario del Paraíso send you warm greetings' news'll be waiting your next visit !!

Thank you very much again.

See you soon!

Best Regards

Desire Morillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews