We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class service”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just arrived back from Hotel Embercadero, Calahonda. This is the first comment we have ever left on Trip Advisor but we thought we just had to this time.
The hotel was very secluded and quiet, right on the beach (shingle with crystal clear water). The room was large, clean and decorated to a very good standard.
What made this hotel stand out though, was the excellent service from all the staff. Especially Maria, who served breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a nice quiet break away from it all in beautiful surroundings and great accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Warning - This hotel is located on the Costa Tropical near Motril. Please make sure that you are booking the right hotel.

We didn't know there were TWO Calahondas in Spain and booked this hotel by mistake. I don't want anyone else to do the same. It caused us a lot of hassle!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
6 Thank NeverSayDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

P forgotten when we met a Maria's smile-the waitress in the mornings,that spoke English and was actually almost the only one that could understand what people,that did not speak Spanish wanted.She is a real gem in this lonely hotel and besides the owner and his wife-who were nice ,we shall not forget Maria's smile.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a first class hotel friendly staff, the food was great,the rooms modern and very clean , right on the beach, dont know why its not rated 4 star

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar,Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our short break here.The hotel is directly on the beach in a beautiful bay.Our rooms had balconies overlooking the sea.It was like being on an ocean liner it was so close.Rooms stylish and comfortable.Lovely walk in shower .Breakfast and dinner excellent.Staff friendly and welcoming.
Only one thing that slightly marred an otherwise perfect stay - an overfamiliar waiter at dinner who well overstepped the mark in his inappropriate attentions to the female member of our party.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcaucin, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A beautifuly run hotel in a perfect position on a very picturesque beach.Friendly staff, large bedrooms and top quality food.If you want a lively resort this is not the place for you.It is very quiet with only a few bars but you dont need to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a superior room for views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Whilst the hotel is well appointed right on the beach it comes up on Booking.com as Calahonda Costa Del Sol we booked it under that misapprehention booked flights to Malaga arrived went to Fuengirola with the intention of getting a taxi to Calahonda 15 mins away. This was at 11pm the taxidriver was baffled and did not know where the hotel was neither did his controller it was only when he called the hotel on our behalf that he discovered it was the "other Calahonda" 250 kms away in Cost Tropical we had to fork out 50 euros for a room for the night then make our way accross spain starting out at 9am the next day finally arriving at 5pm at the hotel only to be told by the receptionist that this is a common occurence. As indicated the hotel is very nice located on the beach but that is all there is in this version of Calahonda, no shops, no bars, in fact not even a sunbed on the huge pebble beach. we managed to stick it another day then booked alternative accomodation in Torremolinos for the last couple of days of our holiday which cost a further 150 euros. but at least we were back nearer the airport and finally could relax. The moral of the story is be careful when using booking dot com and make sure you are in the correct Calahonda. We have complained to Booking. com who after a mealymouthed apology immedaitely blamed the Hotel for the misrepresentation on it's website and no offer of any recompense from them or the hotel for the additional expense

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alba1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calahonda
7.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
8.5 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
18.1 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
16.0 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda

Property: Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda
Address: Calle Biznaga 14, 18730 Calahonda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Calahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embarcadero de Calahonda is a 3 star hotel, located by the beach side in the Costa Tropical in Granada. 35 non smoking rooms with sea (supl. 10€/day) or mountain view and all with a balcony. Great restaurant and lovely terrace in front of the sea. Ideal for family with children. Built in 1965 and completly renovated in 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Embarcadero De Calahonda Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing