We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Regidor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Regidor
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed here for a week with my coworker while our students were staying with host families. We thought the family that runs it were really kind and helpful. The location was great....near many restaurants and just a short 15 minute walk to the beach. The vaporcito to Cadiz was nearby as well. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emyvoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were visiting Cadiz in February and wanted a dog friendly hotel in the city. We tried to book Hotel las Cortes de Cadiz but their email response told me they would only accept dogs of less than 5kg!! Our whippet is 16kg and we think of him as a small but well behaved dog. We settled on Casa del Regidor and decided to visit Cadiz then drive to Santa Maria.

The hotel is pleasantly situated close to the river, seafood restaurants and in the opposite direction the town. Being an old merchants house with an inner courtyard the hotel is historic and suited our purpose. The room we were given was at the front of the hotel and was good value for money - everything worked and for 40 euros we were happy. (Please note that we are Travelodge, Ibis, Campanile type of travellers). The room was air conditioned and we needed to use the heating element! Reception was efficient and the proprietor recommended Romerijo's to eat - this was a "traditional" fish restaurant and we were happy with his recommendation.

Our dog was comfortable with his stay - a relatively quiet night midweek and the walk along the river front suited him in the morning. We did not take breakfast in the hotel preferring to find it later. We would stay here again as we thought the town had more to offer that Cadiz which was historic for its fortifications and cathederal - Santa Maria for the sherry trade and seemed to have more historic houses.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TobyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel was a bit smaller than we thought (the old and beautiful inner courtyard is very small) but overall it was a nice place and great value especially compared to many similar places in Cadiz. The location is excellent: everything of interest in El Puerto is within a short walk except the beach which is a bit further away from the center. The ferry to Cadiz also leaves conveniently not far from the hotel. The room was clean a decent although we didn't have a balcony and there wasn't much of a view either. The hotel staff was friendly but their ability to speak English was very limited, so prepare to use body language. In sum, this is a nice but smallish lodging with a long history (see the photos at the courtyard), yet when it comes to the views it depends a lot in which room you stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed only for one night but very pleased that this hotel was as described. Just a short walk from the town centre and from the water ferry to Cadiz., which makes it a good base from which to visit Cadiz.
Good basic hotel, very clean, good service, relatively quiet and a very good, optional, continental breakfast. Would be very pleased to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

what a gem! the hotel is super clean, and lovely. our room was very charming and had a balcony onto the central courtyard. the room was quiet and had all the needed amenities. great value!! not super posh, but very charming. Staff was very helpful although they didnt speak english. great location for tapas bars, bodegas and watching the world.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodega Real Hotel
Bodega Real Hotel
#6 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Cantaros
Hotel Los Cantaros
#9 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#8 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
#2 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Regidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Regidor

Property: Hotel Casa del Regidor
Address: Ribera Rio 30, 11500, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casa del Regidor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Regidor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing