We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option near Cadiz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Campomar Playa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good option near Cadiz”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Campomar last week during 2 nights while attending a conference at the University of Cadiz.
All hotels inside the island of Cadiz were very expensive and few had disponibility. I found this little hotel and was worried because of the reviews that were not very good.
I made a good option: It is 15 minutes out of Cadiz but you can find nice places to eat in the nearby beach (Valdelagrana) or at Puerto Santa Maria (5 minutes drive).
The hotel is clean, my rooms was very quite, looking back to the garden of a neighbor property, and the price I got for 2 nights for 2 included breakfast was excelent. 95 euros!. The breakfast is good, the reception desk personal very kind.
In conclusion: if you have a car and don´t want to spend to much money Campomar is an excelent option!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    56
    21
    23
See reviews for
30
67
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Maybe I was lucky but stayed for five nights at this notel and enjoyed it very much. I saw nothing wrong with the rooms. The all you can eat breakfast buffet which was included in the price was delicious with plenty of coffee and orange juice. The drawback is that dinner is not served until 9PM which in my case was real late for my digestive system. The location is fine if you arrive or depart by train but the bus from Cadiz can drop you off nearby too. I used the hotel as my base to visit El Puerto de Santa Maria, Cadiz, Jerez de la Frontera and Sevilla by train. But The front desk staff eventhough not always very friendly I got them to answer my questions most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

After looking at pictures of the Campomar online, I thought it looked really modern and new. On arrival, I could have cried. It is clearly an old hotel done up on a 'hotel inspector' type budget. It was built in 1971, refurbed in 1998, and again relaunched in 2011. The rooms have been retiled, painted and attempts have been made to bring it into modern times. My first impression was that it looked like a 70s american motel, with the wrap-around rooms and pool look. On checking in, the staff member was chatting on the phone throughout the whole process, which really annoyed me.

It is also located in a residential area with not a lot at hand. Well, Valdelegrana beach is about a 700 metre walk, as are local beach bars and cervecerias/ xerez bodegas/ seafood bars.

Too be fair to this hotel, after a wee while, my attitude changed and I began to see positives. The pool area was actually a very welcome peaceful area to relax in, with a nice sized pool. The rooms dont have balconys, so there is no-one overlooking the area. The air con in the room is very old, but it was the best I had experienced in any Spanish hotel. The staff actually turned out to be very friendly, and the bar staff always gave us ice for the room whenever we asked, and the price of beers/ wines was excellent; 1.20 euros for a beer/ 1.60 for vino de la casa.

The breakfast was not great, but it did provide cold cuts of meat and cheese, yoghurt and coffee etc. The restaurant only provided food after 8pm, but there were some locals eating there on most nights.

Another thing here is that the hotel is not in the main town centre of El Puerto, but instead it is on the other side of the estuary. This means that a walk into town is out of the question. However, there is a regular bus (no.3) which regularly runs into El Puerto itself, but be aware that it doesnt run too late, so a taxi will cost around 4/5 euros.

The main problem with this hotel is that they didnt go that extra wee mile. If they did, they would have hit the jackpot. Instead it reeks of budget upgrade. Ultimately, I probably would return, but I would budget for the bus and taxi extras which go with it.

A difficult hotel to review, really, as there equal positives to negatives. I had a good time in El Puerto and this hotel would be better if it was across the estuary. Just be wary before booking. I'm giving it three, cos I cant give it four, but it probably deserves more than that.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms with a patio, but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just by chance we discovered this hotel and felt happy to stay there.
It provides an agreeable and quiet atmosphere. Room have been clean, service and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient. If possible we come back and can recommend it specially for somehow conservative "middle class" guests, also for families and elderly persons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Observerobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Cannot recommend. Looks very nice from the outside, it even has a nice pool.. But once inside, it is different. Tacky furnishing, small bathroom, dirty bed. The worst buffet breakfast I've ever seen in a hotel. Internet price just ok,
but season rack rate is really ridiculous for what you get.
I did not even get the price I reserved for.
Would definitely not come back.

  • Liked — looked from the outside, nice pool
  • Disliked — very noisy when someone used the water, breakfast,room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Enrico80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bodega Real Hotel
Bodega Real Hotel
#8 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunas Puerto
Dunas Puerto
#18 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#9 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pinomar
Hotel Pinomar
#13 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campomar Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campomar Playa

Property: Hotel Campomar Playa
Address: Calle Gaviota 12, 11500, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campomar Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Campomar Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing