We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year in Monasterio San Miguel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Year in Monasterio San Miguel”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Spent four nights B/B plus New Years Eve Dinner Gala,The Room with balcony was adequet with a good bathroom, Breakfast was very good with a selection of yogouts, cereals, meats, bacon, eggs, and fresh and tinned fruit, the orange juice was not made fresh when you think you are in orange growing country.. The Hotel was beautiful and retained some lovely features.The bar area was very nice and had a good selection of "booze" The piece de la resistence was the New Years gala dinner absolutely magnificent a seven course meal including whole lobster per person and fillet steak, wine was poured at will including Sherrys Cavas, Rioja beers and soft drinks plus a non stop bar with all branded drinks, and a super lively band. The staff from front desk to chamber maids and waiters were all excellent and the management should be proud of them . All in all superb value for money. ps what a super town with lots of tupas bars and restaurants.and a good wide beach

Room Tip: Suites are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rallihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    227
    144
    58
    38
See reviews for
72
337
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed a couple of nights in the Monasterio San Miguel. The room was huge, almost an apartment and very well prepared. As well as double of all the usual toiletries, there was a complimentary bowl of fruit.

It's in a lovely location and has lots of the sort of features you'd expect of a converted monastery - walled courtyard, unfathomable staircases, paintings of a plaintive Virgin Mary and a chisel-jawed and six-packed Jesus alongside random portraits of vaguely sinister-looking religious figures, yet absolutely no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms at all.

Perhaps the guests are expected to wander the corridors reciting Lauds before they're allowed a hot drink but I couldn't be bothered. I left just after 7am, racked by thirst.

Not bad, but - if you have to leave in the morning - take a flask.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is indeed a beautiful hotel in a delightful setting. However it was impossible to have breakfast served in my room before 8 am and on the morning of our departure impossible to get a cup of coffee at reception at 7 o'clock. I did not appreciate this rigidity in a so-called 4-star hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutland, u.k.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

we arrived for three nights as a group of 5 friends and found the hotel very clean, staff very friendly and excellent tapas . The whole relaxed atmosphere was like a spanish parador with paintings and antiques , although it had a very airly feel with a central courtyard where drinks were served. We booked through voyage prive and had a very good deal. Also it had a swimming pool (not open till 11 a.m.) and small garden.Only 10 minutes walk for boat to Cadiz (2 euros) Car park underneath which is charged at the end of your stay. Would recommend to friends as a 4 star. Wendy Rutland

Room Tip: superior with terrace overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsb-m.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

PLUS
Quiet Room
Feels like a Paradore
Common areas very nice well maintained
Good breakfast w variety can eat inside or out
Hotel right on end of town which is a very convenient location where you can walk to restaurants and shops.
Can take boat to Cadez -defiinitely do this ..  The bus around for11euros gave a nice overview.

CHALLENGES:
Hotel takes you to a local beach- which has industrial views off shore - we think there are other beaches but were not there long enough to explore.

OTHER THINGS TO KNOW:
Standard room we had was very basic with a small window.
Pool nice but would better if it had been a little bigger, as it was crowded when we where there and there where not enough lounge chairs at pool.   the pool area could use a few more shade options.
Siesta really shuts the town down. It was really hot in July so makes sense.  
Loved Cadez beaches in newer section of town.  Probably would stay in Cadez if went back instead of Puerto Santa Maria if we could find a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitcasesPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel does have its charms, the stained glass windows and the courtyard are nice features, but they are nice features in a hotel that is old fashioned and in real need of some love. Many of the rooms which face the pool have huge chunks of paint and masonry missing, and which painted in mustard yellow, only adds to the slightly has-been feel of what could be a lovely hotel.

The pool area itself is quite nice, there is a nice big pool and some gardens with are quite attractive, but your eye is constantly drawn back to the disappointing exterior of the building itself.

And, why oh why, do they have such a rigmarole for collecting pool towels, it is so inconvenient for the guests and I have never experienced such an outdated method. Let's say that you can only get towels from the pool once you have cards and completed paperwork from reception before you can get a towel, which has to be repeated upon return. For the sake of future guests please find a simple solution where you can just go to the pool and get your towels.

As for our room, and others we saw, they are reasonable but again rather dated and passe. That said, we had a nice little balcony and the room was cleaned to a good standard.

The breakfast selection was pretty good, but the cleanliness here was disappointing. The service was rather brusque and offhand, with none of the waiters seemingly able to speak English. One day we went for our breakfast and our table was gone when we returned despite juice and coffee on the table.

From a positive perspective, the hotel is close to the town - which is nothing really to note - and to the train station. The bus to the beach is regular and very convenient and the beach itself is well worth a visit. The staff in reception were polite and very helpful and spoke good English, unlike the rest of the staff.

Overall, this hotel did not meet our expectations, and were nowhere near what I'd expect of a 4 star, the decor was more of a 2 star in our view, and for the money, didn't offer very good value for money. I am sorry to say that I would not recommend this hotel to others, and would strongly urge people to go to Cadiz, a real delight, instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Gallivanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Lovely hotel, building extraordinary ,marble staicase,paintings,stained glass. Wedding venue in old chaple in the hotel.Lovely room with balcony and outside seating overlooking pool and garden. Staff very professional.attentive and helpful. Great courtyard in centre of building for a quie drink at the end of the day.Fantastic break!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room as this should include balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels
0.2 mi away
Bodega Real Hotel
Bodega Real Hotel
#8 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
#4 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
#3 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#7 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Cantaros
Hotel Los Cantaros
#9 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel

Property: Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de los Milagros 27, 11500, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in El Puerto de Santa Maria, Monasterio de San Miguel offers 4-star accommodation, as well as a swimming pool. It also provides valet parking, a concierge and a currency exchange. The rooms are air conditioned and include free wireless internet access. The hotel's restaurant, El Claustro, serves Spanish dishes. In the evening, guests are invited to enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. Buffet breakfast is served daily. Monasterio de San Miguel is ideally situated in Jerez - Xeres - Sherry, making it easy for guests to try the region's specialities. There are also a variety of popular restaurants and bars nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monasterio San Miguel
Monasterio San Miguel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing