We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some highs and some lows ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“some highs and some lows ..”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had four nights at the Valentin sancti petri, and on the whole had a nice break. Not a lot of that was due to the hotel though sadly,

on the upside Sancti Petri is a nice little town, close to Cadiz, and with a stunning wide, open sandy beach, so location of the hotel is excellent if you want a quiet break away. we were lucky with our room and had a nice balcony overlooking treas beach and sea beyond.

The hotel itself though is huge...and a bit ugly .You almost need a map to find your room.. we got lost repeadedly as different lifts only stop at different floors and the place is immense and sprawling so be prepared to walk a lot.

the rooms are large, functional , a little dated, but absolutely immaculately clean - housekeeping throughout the hotel I have to say is excellent.

the pools are multiple, plenty of sun beds, and well maintained and nicely designed. the outside pools are not heated though so expect and icy shock when you first go in, i wondered why no one was swimming when we arrived ... im sure in high season the water is warmer though

staff- on the whole a little surly and miserable sadly - the woman in the gift shop wins the prize for most unpleasant person we encountered ! there were a couple of superstars though , manuel on the front desk , and raul and all of his team in the tapas bar were excellent friendly and helpful, the food in the tapas bar was the highlight of our hotel experience.

entertainment - all i can sayis holiday camp dire .....

food - this is where my real problem with the hotel lies - if not for this it would have been a much better stay. the BUFFET ... i am not a fan of buffets admittedly andf I am a bit of a foodie , but have been to o ther hotels where they have been excellent and varied. Firstly the room is cavernous and very brightly lit , the noise deafening, the children screaming and the service perfunctory and unsmiling. the breakfast I can live ( even with the powdered egg , scrambled !) with but its exactly the same every morning with no variety and not great quality .. tinned pruit salad, muesli, powdered eggs, fried spam , .... there are juices, and some whole fresh fruit and yoghurt luckily .. . We were on a half board arrangement and had been told that we could upgrade to the other a la carte restaurants on the odd night if we wanted to .. for a fee .....we found on arrival that was not the case as we were now classed as out of season .. ..so ALL other restaurants were closed in the evening apart from the dreaded buffet. We had it the first night , and the last night and paid to go out the rest of the time . the food was exactly the same on the last night. maybe we missed mexican and italian night in between as ive seen on other reviews .. maybe thats just in the high season too. I was travelling with a friend, but if i had been with my boyfriend .. there is literally no where in this hotel for a romantic moment ...

another niggle is theres not enough parking, so expect to pay to use their underground car park - its was something like 30 euros for our four nights stay , also the spa .. 18 euros a day if you want a sauna and jacuzzi .. coins in a slot of you want to use the computer.

Its probably been a long summer for the staff, so I sort of get that they are tired and a bit frazzled by October, Bit doing things like closing the bar at 11.30 .. in spain is unheard of .. I thought i was back in the UK. Theres lots of things that could be tightened up and improved in this hotel, It all just felt a bit slack.

I'm a bit surprised that this is the no1 hotel in sancti petri to be honest.

If you are with your kids, and the grandparents and like cruises, or big hotels , kids club etc - then this place is for you ... if you like a bit of quieter time and food choices this place definitely is not.

there are a number of walkable restaurants from the hotel , at a shopping centre 5 mins walk away, or i can highly recomments an argentinian steak house called Las Pampas which is five mins drive away.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor, great view over the sea .. the only downside is at breakfast and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank knickers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    339
    62
    10
    7
See reviews for
474
337
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Fantastic Holidays in Chiclana.
The hotels situation is fantastic, in front of the sea, just in the "La Barrosa" beach.
There are several hotels in the area, but comparing price and value, we decided to spend our vacations in the Valentin.
The rooms are large and perfectly clean, having most of them sea views.
The buffet is well assorted and well cooked, and every night they make different countries specialities, but you can allways find good sallads and fruit.
Excellent in all ways, we would repeat without a doubt.

Room Tip: Better if you ask for the second floor, better sea view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bidaiari77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very nice hotel,right by the beach.Lovely food ,rooms very clean and staff very politely.We had a great holiday and the beach is magnificent (lovely endless sandy beach).We booked half board and we did not regret it.The food was delicious and the service 5 stars.The bar on the beach ,and by the pool,had HAPPY HOURS,and all the drinks was half price wich was a grat value.The supermarket and restaurants are just 2 minutes by car.The A/C is not very good,but we didn`t care.We would go back next year and definetely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Definetily sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just home from a three night stay at the hotel Valentin Sancti Petri, unfortunately i have to say ..........it was just not long enough! I could sing it's and the uber friendly/ helpful staff's praises all day long but the only way i can explain exactly how magnificent the place is, is by saying i would go back in a heartbeat. Hasta pronto!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in Valentin Sancti Petri for 5 nights and were very satisfied with the quality of the hotel, facilities, buffett and professionalism of staff.

We booked half-board and did not regret it. The buffett quality and variety was very satisfactory. There was a different choice of main courses every day (for example Spanish buffett, Mexican, Italian etc). The salads and fruits were fresh and well washed. There was also a dessert section. Breakfast was also generous.

There are 2 big pool areas in the hotel and a small children's area, as well as a playground, gym, indoor pool, Spa, bars, hairdresser and 3 a-la-carte restaurants. The food is good however they do not serve anything after 16.00 (they reopen at 18.00 I believe). There direct access to the lovely and endless sandy beach La Barosa.

For people with kids, there is a kindergarden area where kids can play safely as there is constant supervision. There are also activities for older children. Every evening there is a children disco event with the now famous Tino the Penguin ! All the kids really enjoyed the songs and dancing.

There are a couple of shops with souvenirs and toys. In case you want to go to a supermarket or different restaurants/cafes, there is a big shopping centre less than 10' walk away from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel for families with young kids.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but some face the open events space - events every night until 11.30 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just back from a trip to this hotel (my 8th visit in 5 years) i am amazed to read the last review when it mentions local shops & restaurants. The reviewer clearly left the hotel with thier eyes shut!

Within a 5 minute walk left out of the hotel you will find local spanish restaurants as well as a couple of family run bars all of which are very good value. Turn right out of the hotel and after a leisurely 15 minute walk past other hotels you will reach a small comemrcial centre with bars, restaurants, shops, tourist info, car hire etc.

I love this hotel and will no doubt return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpleimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and myself were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we wanted some peace and quiet to relax. This hotel is perfect. It has got two outside adult pools and a children's pool. The adult pool beside the childrens pool is big enough for families and noisy enough and is it where the children's activities and park is but the other adult pool is quiet unless some parents decide to bring their children there. The hotel is very clean one of the cleanest I have seen in a long time in Spain. The food is quite good a lot of choice in the buffet if you go half board which I recommend (cheaper). Apart from the buffet restaurant it has two other restaurants which you can use for lunch either light snacks, tapas or more formal you have a choice. The hotel also offers a chiringuito on the beach with similar food to the restaurants by the swimming pool. Food was good on all of them we tried all the restaurants. The only thing is as it is good food it is a bit dear depending on what you want and also the drinks are a bit dear but it is all good quality! There are no restaurants or anything else nearby the hotel just other hotels on foot you have to drive if you want to go to another restaurant outside the hotel. There is also a small Centro comercial (shopping centre) about 20 minutes or so by car! So don't forget any essentials as the hotel shop does not cater for adapters, toothpaste, toothbrush etc. they only sells tops, bags the usual thing toursy things. The beach is right beside the hotel, the hotel has its own path to go down to the beach. This hotel has good entainment at night they bring in life shows and have their own entainment team. All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The room we were allocated was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiclana de la Frontera
1.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
#2 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Sancti Petri
Melia Sancti Petri
#1 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
#4 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
297 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 25 in Conil de la Frontera
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana

Property: Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana
Address: barrio Sancti Petri s/n, 11130, Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#3 Green Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana Andalucia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing