We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and reasonablly priced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing and reasonablly priced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just got back from a 3night stay. Must say that I was very impressed with the size and location of the room which included a salon and terrace with a view to the golf course/gardens. The rooms were very clean and the hotel offered a wide range of meals at the buffet. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the beautiful beach La Barrosa. Overall a good experience, would definately go back for the price and location! My only criticism would be that the waiters seemed rather overworked and a bit disorganised throughout the buffet service and the walls did require a lick of paint.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fragglerock_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sending your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay and that our rooms and prices were both to your liking. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day.
We regret, though, that some aspects of your stay were not entirely to your liking.
We will bear close in mind your feedback in order to continue improving.
In this regard we would like to tell you that, due to the hotel´s location and its exposure to the weather, our facilities are under ongoing improvement work in order to keep them in a perfect state. Among these projects we are currently carrying out painting work.
Further, we would like to clarify that our buffet staff is arranged by category and at all times we try to offer a rapid and attentive service. We regret if you felt that during your stay it was not always like this and we reiterate that we will bear close in mind your opinions in order to improve.
Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotels.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    385
    141
    32
    44
See reviews for
503
302
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed four days at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf and it was a nice experience. We got a room with salon that was really confortable, beautiful, spacious and clean. The terrace was also a nice surprise.
We could also try the spa and I have to say that it fulfilled our expectations, its not very big but its cozy and well equiped. It was for free as it was included in the offer, so I dont know if it is worth it or not.
The food didnt dissapoint us and the staff was very profesional and kind.
Location is good, close to the beach and in a calm area, perfect to relax. The only thing I think the hotel needs is an urgent renovation of the walls, especially where the rooms are distributed. Didnt disturb us at all, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piacheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for publishing your impressions and feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in our establishment and that our rooms, spa, restaurant service, staff and location were all to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay continues being as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.
Regarding our facilities, we would like you to know that, due to the hotel´s location and its exposure to weather conditions, we are under an ongoing process of maintenance and improvement. In fact, included in our improvement plan, we are currently painting the hotel´s façade and reforming some of our rooms.
We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimão
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

There area few signs of tireness all over the hotel but the rooms are sacious and the staff friendly.
The location is a bit out of the way, specially during the winter season.
In addition the hotel promotes an indoor pool but once we got there, specially with a teenager who wanted to use the indoor pool, we then realised that the pool was not heated.....better to say they dont have one then!
Spa is good though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments. We are pleased to know that our rooms, spa and staff were all to your liking. Surly our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, though, that you were not pleased with specific aspects of your stay and would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your comments in order to improve.
We would, in any case, like to clarify that neither on our website nor in our informative brochures do we advertise that we have a heated swimming pool. We only announce that we have an exterior and covered swimming pool. We regret if there was a misunderstanding on this point.
Regarding our location we would like to mention that we are found in the Novo Sancti Petri de Chiclana de la Frontera urbanization (Cadiz), 400 meters from the La Barrosa beach, 10 minutes walking from two shopping centers and 10 minutes by car from the center of Chiclana de la Frontera, where one can find a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Also, we are very close to a private medical clinic and three golf courses.
We are at your complete disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I´ve stayed at the hotel together with my wife and son. In the end of November. I was looking for a nice hotel, with a indoor swimming pool, for a quiet relaxing weekend. But with something to offer to the whole family.
The hotel has a great Spa, is well located, close to the beach, and in a very quiet place. Is a great hotel to relax. as a very positive point is the free Wi-Fi in public areas and free internet in the room. Although it has some very bad points: I was looking for a indoor swimming pool, special due to a 13 year old kid: the hotel has a swimming pool...with cold water...and in November....is not a very pleasant place. The hotel announces a mini-golf....but it hasn´t any. The breakfast...is not exactly the kind of breakfast that you find in a 4 star hotel. Could be a nice hotel in the summer time, but in winter, for a weekend with children, is not good. Specially with the price charged. For what you pay...you should expect more. Once again...has a great Spa. But after that...no way

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for publishing your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location, our spa and our internet connection. Surely our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be.
We regret, though, that we did not completely meet your expectations and some aspects of your stay were not to your liking. We will bear close in mind your ideas in order to continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
We would in any case we would like to clarify with regards to our facilities and the services we provide for the two pools (one outdoor and one covered) and that neither on our website nor in any of our informative brochures do we state that we have a mini golf course. We only state that we have available a Putting Green (located near our outdoor pool) along with four paddle courts, basketball court and playground with swings, ping pong table, table football and billiards table. In the reception they provide golf clubs, rackets and balls for guests who request them.
Related to our kids animation service we would like you to know that during high season we have available a miniclub where kids can do different kinds of educational activities and sports in both outdoor and indoor areas and always under the supervision and care of our specialized staff.
We are sorry, on the other hand, that our breakfasts were not to your liking. At all times we try to offer a varied and first class service consisting of both cold and hot products like coffee, infusions, milk, juices, cereals, bread, pastries, pate, cold meats, cheeses, fried and scrambled eggs, omelets, sausages, bacon, grilled vegetables and crepes. We regret that it was not to your liking and we will take note of your feedback in order to improve. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are extremely useful in order to do so.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from a trip to Chiclana where we stayed here at the Vincci Costa Golf. It was a stay that was split in two halves because of the weather whilst we were here.

We stayed in room 3218, overlooking the golf course. Room was nice, terrace was its best feature. It was clean - and cleaned daily. There were a few signs of the room needing a bit of work, but nothing that put us out at all.

The breakfast and dinner was a buffet that had a wide selection. The breakfast hours were till 11am so good if you like a lay in. The food wsant too bad - certainly a hell of a lot better then the nearby restaurants. Note - on most restaurant websites and apps, the best restaurants in Chiclana are in hotels and I suggest you use them not the local, cheap ones.

For the first half of the week, we found the hotel served its purpose perfectly. We were at the beach relaxing or in the pool and with the sun shining everthing was smooth, staff great and helpful and the food spot on!

However the second part of the week was ruined by torrential rain and its for this reason I am writing the review. Its not that I blame the hotel for the weather, but we found that when the weather was not sunny the hotel was not ideal. True, it doesnt rain so much in this part of the world, but for example the access from our room to the rest of the hotel flooded as did other parts of the grounds, the main indoor activity the hotel has (its Spa) was closed because of flooding and there seemed little to no effort to help entertain guests who at times were pretty much stuck in the hotel. We even had to ask staff to open the area where the pool tables were - which should really have been open given there was not much else to do. For example - why not offer the pay-to-view movies at a cheaper price for those days or give guests one free movie instead of the standard 12euros?

These are not massive complaints - certainly not enough for us to have complained with the staff who were very nice throughout the stay. We were there to relax after all and we did. The hotel room we had was very quiet and the area tranquil. But, my advise if you know you are staying here is take a car and if you see in the news/internet etc that rain is expected - take some entertainment!

However I will say the staff were great, really friendly and helpful and seemed very eager to help entertain and support families with kids or guests with disabilities. That was something that was clear and obvious throughout so well done on that aspect.

The other problem is the location - its not that far from the beach, but to anywhere else its a trek! The local bus service to Chiclana is cheap but SLOW - can take up to one hour to get from the hotel to Chiclana! Really you need a car if you stay here.

At the end of the day I recommend the hotel and would happily go back in the Summer (June to August!) - but go when its sunny and go with a car.

Oh - one other point and this is to the management of the hotel - you definatly need to replace the people who do your translations! The translations to English in your hotel documents and brochures (and even the Vincci magazine) are really funny but unprofessional. I'm not a professional translator but I can do a better job!! Am happy to offer my services!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3218 overlooking the golf course. It seems rooms in blocks 3 and 4 were the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write your opinions and comments regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with our staff, as well as with our breakfasts and dinners variety. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we in Vincci Hotels work for every day.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with specific details of your stay and inform you that we will bear close in mind all of your suggestions and insights with the aim of improving our service in the future.
We would like, in any case, to point out that we are located 400 meters from the La Barrosa beach, as is indicated on our website and in all of our informative brochures.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were really looking forward to spending 4 days in this hotel. Unfortunately we were given room 1010, by the kitchen, ground floor with no sunlight and overlooking the main road. The lack of sun meant the damp had set in the room and smell was overwhelming ... We asked to e changed but there were no other rooms left, management was happy to help but unable to get us another room. The room was cleaned for us again but as we know once the damp is on the wall a little bleach will not do. We had to made the drastic decision of not taking the room as my husband was sick and te kids found the smell disgusting. Ths together with the fact that there were not enough sun loungers and the depth of the pool was over 2metres we found it a very painful experience and left the same day. Not a good pool for kids... Too deep and wide.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write your opinions and feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We deeply regret that your expectations were not met and want you to know that we bear in mind all guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, always with the aim of improving.
We are also sorry that we could not offer you a change of room on the day you arrived. Requests are subject to availability and until the next day it was not possible to assign you one because the hotel was completely full. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused and will take note of your comments and observations in order to improve.
Regarding our pools, we would like to note that both the adult and children´s pools meet regulations. We should also note that in order to guarantee that all of our guests have available a beach chair, our establishment prohibits reserving them.
We are available for anything you may need.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

As a family we booked this hotel not too sure what to expect after viewing previous comments. However we had a wonderful experience! The room was very big and clean (a few stains on the floor which looked like floor glue, poor workmanship not hotels fault) with a good size balcony which was set back a bit from the pool area.
We had our own separate room off the living area which was large and very comfortable. My only comment on the bedroom is - what is with the 2 single beds pushed together with separate bedding?! as a couple are we not allowed to sleep under the same covers or in the same bed?!

We opted to have breakfast included which was a good idea but not for the waistline! the options were endless, although they may want to rethink putting their female omelette chef front of house again until she learns some manners! On more than one occasion she was highly rude to my partner. I also was a bit shocked to find notes all around the buffet area signs to say if we were caught taking food out of the breakfast area we would be charged by the head waiter. We've already paid for that food.

We do agree with some previous comments about felling invisible by the staff if your not Spanish. It took 6 days before we were approached by any member of the restaurant staff to come up to us at breakfast to see if we wanted tea or coffee or to take a room number...we stayed for 8 nights! Also at the bar the staff chatted to each other not seeming very interested in serving the guests.

The hotel as a whole was very nice, the rooms were so quiet we could not hear anyone else around us, the pool was a very good size with plenty of loungers, the reception staff were very helpful with any questions we had. I also like the fact it was not a 'high rise' hotel it was only 2 levels.

All in all we ALL as a family very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would love to revisit. We WILL be recommending it to our friends and families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD-MS-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Costa Golf, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write your opinions and comments regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasing and that our facilities were to your liking. Without a doubt, the satisfaction of our guests is our reason to be. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest reward and what we in Vincci Hotels work for every day.
We regret, however, that some details were not entirely to your liking. We will bear close in mind your input so as to continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
Likewise we apologize if during your stay you felt that an restaurant employee did not treat you appropriately. In this regard we would simply like to note that all of our staff are characterized for their impeccable treatment of guests and assisting them in anything that they need, whatever it may be, and would like to apologize if in your case it was not like this.
With respect to our restaurant, we would like to point out that although it is not permitted to take food out of the restaurant area, -as is stated on the information signs-, within them guests can eat all the food they like.
Lastly, we would like to let you know that those guests who wish to have double sheets instead of individual sheets can request them in reception and our staff will take care of it.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiclana de la Frontera hotels
1.8 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Sancti Petri
Melia Sancti Petri
#1 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
#2 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chic...
#5 of 25 in Chiclana de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
#4 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vincci Costa Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vincci Costa Golf

Property: Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
Address: barrio Sancti Petri s/n, 11130, Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#5 Green Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#9 Family Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vincci Costa Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vincci Costa Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf Andalucia, Spain
Vincci Chiclana De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing