We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$263
View deal
Hotels.com
$263
View deal
Trip.com
$279
$244
View deal
Expedia.com$263
Priceline$263
FindHotel$279
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
330
116
32
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
330
116
32
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner buffet star hotel marble floors caviar wide range luxury cava
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 493 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We have been staying at this hotel for almost 10 years now (always during late July). The overall environment is great and the staff is really special: professional and friendly at the same time. We love the rooms, the pool, the restaurants, the bar and the overall space. Once again, our stay in 2019 was memorable and we leave thinking that this is a special place. Even though this is truly a 5 star hotel, it never forgets to be family friendly. Pound-for-pound, our preferred destination.

Room tip: Some of the rooms do not have pool or garden view, but from my own experience it didn't really matter that much.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirBarrosaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hipotels Barrosa Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear Luis B . Thank you for your comments and for having chosen our hotel Hipotels Barrosa Palace . I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

The hotel and grounds are beautifully presented. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The hotel throughout was spotlessly clean. We will certainly return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirBarrosaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hipotels Barrosa Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Andrew P . Thank you for your comments and for having chosen our hotel Hipotels Barrosa Palace . I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

We Enjoy our stay, with very friendly and helpful staff and food is great, equally the service. Enjoy our times in indoor swimming pools as its was too sunny outside swimming pools. We will be back hopefully for more days to stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cliffdanizr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirBarrosaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hipotels Barrosa Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear cliffdanizr. I am grateful for your comments about our hotel Hipotels Barrosa Palace. We feel proud that our clients needs are atended in the best way. If you come back to our area, do not hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

Lovely resort hotel part of a complex - town is 15 minutes away. Search for the best Spa hotel and chanced upon this. Spa was wonderful returned regenerated and firmer. Dining is varied and sufficient. Staff are frequently delightful and sometimes helpful. Rooms are spacious with amazing marble decked bathrooms. The Sauna was modestly proportionate to the hotel and usage akin to the main pool. A door takes you 100 yards to a beautiful peaceful sandy beach, as busy as it was reclusive, landscaped with greenery, a tourist attraction in initself. The beach house and deck chairs washed away on the first day of my stay there. The guests here are mainly from Europe and replenished my faith in Europe as much as rekindled my love for it, to now be an overt Remainer. Antonio and Kristina on reception were approachable and helpful when BA operating Iberia left my luggage on my connecting flight to Madrid, i high likelihood on connecting flights whereto transfer time is less than an hour. Luggage arrived the following day causing the temporary initial stress of the holiday to soon fade. My hotel bill was higher than the cost of the holiday, taking the half board or all inclusive package means we can still be on talking terms when we receive the bill. AI is not offer on Expedia, the easy to use holiday booking tool. My first visit to Spain, a nation of a wide range of good spirits and a monarchy like the brit royals.

Room tip: My room faced the pool bar and Spa, though the sea could be seen as well.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vandoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

First of all, the hotel itself, and especially the rooms, are nice and well maintained. We had the pleasure of staying in a small suite with a private pool, which was excellent.

The breakfast buffet was great and the service everywhere usually was very friendly and helpful.

The pool and the beach areas are big and beautifu,l and you can have a relaxing day on the beach with a nice beach bar with good food being available there. Beach towels are provided by the hotel.

There is enough parking space outside of the hotel to park your rental car and a supermarket and other small stores and restaurants are within walking distance.

Now to the downsides:

First and foremost, the average age of guests there was 70+, resulting in a very stiff and conservative atmosphere.

The first night at the restaurant, I was told to leave because of a "long pant policy" and I was wearing shorts. I stayed in hotels that were much more luxurious than this one, and never had an issue with wearing nice dress shorts for dinner. Only here I was told this is a no-go. Welcome to 2018!

This is just one example of the conservative and stiff atmosphere throughout the whole hotel, that makes you feel uncomfortable as a younger couple or family.

Hence, I would definitely advise against going to this hotel if you are below age 50. It really had the atmosphere of a retirement home.

In addition, we found it outrageous that, even with 5-star room prices, they charge extra for using the safe in the room and the sun beds and umbrellas on the beach (12€ per day for 2 sun beds and an umbrella), even though they are part of the hotel. Again, this never happened to us in any other 5-star beach hotel around the world.

Also, the quality of the warm dishes on the dinner buffet was ok but not great. Compared to other 5 star hotels this was a bit of a let down as well.

All in all, while the hotel, the rooms, and the beach are very nice, we will not come back here because of the aforementioned downsides and policies.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sunhunter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirBarrosaPalace, Director at Hipotels Barrosa Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Thank you for writing and sharing your experience. In Hipotels we really value your opinion, and it is always important to know your impressions and feelings.
We appreciate your comments about the environment, the facilities, and the room that you had. Specially your positive rating about the attitude of the staff. We are sensitized to give our best in order to please our guests, and that recognition is important.
We are sorry to any particular rule wich is not of your liking. We are indeed a beach hotel, and we don´t require a particular dress code, but in the dinner service at the restaurant, we kindly request the gentlemen to come with long trousers and shoes.
We sincerely hope you to be lodged again by us, and fully enjoy the experience of playa La Barrosa, and particularly Hotel Barrosa Palace.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews