We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great city centre hotel”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

charming small hotel with very helpful staff. The room wasn´t huge. but comfortable and had nice original floor tiles, a large walk in shower and was nice and bright and not noisy. A good breakfast with plenty of fresh bread, pastries, fruit and great coffee. Nice and central for exploring and seeking out all the great eateries Cádiz has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arxitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

A warm greeting, comfortable bedrooms and great service made this hotel a bit of a 'find'.

The traditional building, formed around a central courtyard, is full of character with Moorish tiles, little wall fountains, and fittings sympathetic to the period. Our two bedrooms were pretty and comfortable; the showers in both en-suites were a good size.

Continental breakfast was good. Staff were always on hand to serve drinks or to make tea, coffee, even sandwiches at 11.00 at night.

Unlike some of the large, modern hotels, this one is right in the centre of town - a must in the furnace of an Andalucian Summer or, as we found, the occasional torrential downpours in February.

Room Tip: One of our rooms looked out onto the street, the other into the central courtyard. If you're a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Overnight trip to Cadiz with my wife. Parked near the station and walked in to the old town. You will need a map, as the road system is complex. Very pleasant greeting by the receptionist and she dealt with us quickly. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor. Some road noise during the night, but we were not too disturbed. Room was a good size, bed comfortable and all the usual supplies and equipment you would expect from a good quality hotel. BUT NO HOT WATER, so had to have a cold shower. Found it quite refreshing at it was 40 degrees centigrade outside. Breakfast was continental style and was more than sufficient for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great little hotel with lots of character in a period building which introduces you to the courtyard style of southern Spain while offering modern facilities as well as a small open roof terrace to enjoy. Very good value, well above some 3* hotels in the old town. Very well situated for walking the quiet lanes and the pedestrian shopping ones. Very welcoming staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute decision to visit Cadiz. As a result we had to accept what was offered which was a small room with equally small bathroom. The window opened to the hallway which was not entirely satisfactory. But it was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb. And the staff as always in Spain were so nice and friendly. If I came again would try to get a room with a window opening to daylight. However still recommend staying here. Cadiz is a very interesting city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel Agantonio is situated in an old and charming building, where period features have been preserved, but not at the cost of comfort. Out room was a good size, with very high ceilings, lovely tiled floors and a spacious bathroom. Having French doors opening onto the front of the hotel made for a light and airy room though the street was noisy at times with the doors open.
Breakfast was generous, with a large range including cold meats and boiled eggs, fruit, and a range of breads and pastries. The best we've had so far in Spain.
Lovely staff. Great location.
My only complaint would be the lack of hot water, which still wasn't completely resolved after two days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The rooms aren't perfect and plastic but have real character. When i visit Spain i want to experience Spain and this hotel is very Spanish. The staff are lovely: very helpful, very friendly always smiling, and do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When we go back to cadiz we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Follar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
808 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing