We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the old town”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
231 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the old town”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Overnight trip to Cadiz with my wife. Parked near the station and walked in to the old town. You will need a map, as the road system is complex. Very pleasant greeting by the receptionist and she dealt with us quickly. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor. Some road noise during the night, but we were not too disturbed. Room was a good size, bed comfortable and all the usual supplies and equipment you would expect from a good quality hotel. BUT NO HOT WATER, so had to have a cold shower. Found it quite refreshing at it was 40 degrees centigrade outside. Breakfast was continental style and was more than sufficient for us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    201
    41
    12
    13
See reviews for
57
296
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loule
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great little hotel with lots of character in a period building which introduces you to the courtyard style of southern Spain while offering modern facilities as well as a small open roof terrace to enjoy. Very good value, well above some 3* hotels in the old town. Very well situated for walking the quiet lanes and the pedestrian shopping ones. Very welcoming staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute decision to visit Cadiz. As a result we had to accept what was offered which was a small room with equally small bathroom. The window opened to the hallway which was not entirely satisfactory. But it was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb. And the staff as always in Spain were so nice and friendly. If I came again would try to get a room with a window opening to daylight. However still recommend staying here. Cadiz is a very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel Agantonio is situated in an old and charming building, where period features have been preserved, but not at the cost of comfort. Out room was a good size, with very high ceilings, lovely tiled floors and a spacious bathroom. Having French doors opening onto the front of the hotel made for a light and airy room though the street was noisy at times with the doors open.
Breakfast was generous, with a large range including cold meats and boiled eggs, fruit, and a range of breads and pastries. The best we've had so far in Spain.
Lovely staff. Great location.
My only complaint would be the lack of hot water, which still wasn't completely resolved after two days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The rooms aren't perfect and plastic but have real character. When i visit Spain i want to experience Spain and this hotel is very Spanish. The staff are lovely: very helpful, very friendly always smiling, and do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When we go back to cadiz we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Follar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was recommended by regular travellers to the area and it did not disappoint. It is very well situated, delightful, comfortable and friendly. The bedrooms are lovely.

It is 'small but perfectly formed' - you really don't need anything grander in this city, it fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey_UKHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Hotel Argantonio for 3 nights in May 2013 for a wedding. I was somewhat skeptical about staying at a hotel and we were looking at sublets or airbnb properties, but could not find one. Argantonio was a last resort.
Staying there turned out to be excellent luck for us. The Hotel is beautiful, staff friendly and outgoing, and great ambiance. Every morning we ate breakfast in the dining room, which I was expecting to be some rolls and butter, but instead found fresh pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bread, etc. They also made us fresh cafe lattes when we sat.
I was very happy to find this hotel as well as this city. I would recommend both to anyone!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor Fenecia. Everything was great, but didn't see any other rooms to compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 28 in Cadiz
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 28 in Cadiz
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Property: Hotel Argantonio
Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing