We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply good vibes...”
Review of Casa Caracol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Caracol
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“simply good vibes...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Casa Caracol was just amazing - no wonder most of the travellers stay there much longer than initially planned! Me as well, I wish I could have stayed longer. It is mainly this particular relaxed, slow-paced and tolerant atmosphere and the lovely people that make this place to special. The rooftop with its hammocks is a great place to hang out, relax or get in touch with other travellers. Also the common rooms downstairs, the great dinner that is prepared every evening by the staff and eaten together in the communal space - all this gives so much opportunity to interact with both staff and fellow travellers - which makes this hostel perfect also for solo travellers. You just feel like in a community somehow, and everything is easy and relaxed. The very original and self-made furniture and decoration also make Casa Caracol a special place! And of course the staff, which I found generally great and really helpful, contribute to the great overall-experience, too!
Breakfast is simple but really nice with the pancakes each morning, there are lots of activities offered, there's a bike and surf bord rental, the location is great (really close to the train- and bus-station, the town center but also the beaches...), everything is clean and well kept, rooms are spacy and provide lockers for every bed. Only minor minor negative point I could think of: the mattress I was lying on was really worn through, but I was still able to sleep well, so if you're not too fussy about that, it should be fine.
Taken together: I enjoyed my stay very very much and would recommend Casa Caracol to any traveller who is a bit alternatively minded - its probably the coolest hostel in town!! Definately hope to get back there at some point =)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    105
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
75
206
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I spent two nights in Casa Caracol with my boyfriend who never stayed in a hostel before, so the experience was quite new to him. For me however it was not the first time, but definitely one of the best times. We slept in the double room, which is perfect if you're looking for a place to stay as a couple, the room is big, bright, it has a portable air fan and a couch. About the hostel itself: super staff, pretty clean, great atmosphere, as the title says: it feels like coming home. That is, however, if you're a little alternative minded, but I believe that most travellers/people staying in hostels are used to this. There's a terrace where you can sit/sleep in the multiple hammocks, an outdoor shower, every day freshly made dinner for 5 euros, mojitos for 3 euros, free internet and wifi, surfboard rental etc. If you're looking for both city and surfing: perfect. If you travel by car: El Palmar is a great spot not too far from Cádiz. Anyhow, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLiekens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful looking place, great location.

Whoever is hiring staff needs a wake up call- it is obvious they arent hiring staff based on hospitality and character- but rather who just wants accommodation for free. There are a couple that are good, but mostly it is a group of people who only live there and aren't hospitable in any sense.. Don't expect people to try to make your stay comfortable because they really don't care. When we checked in they informed us there was a double bed that we could use since we were a couple- and it is located on the rooftop in a small room on the patio, the bed is actually attached to the wall to be brought out when needed...Sounded nice, until one of the staff members walked into our room at 10:15 and told us to wake up and put the bed in the wall... And it cannot come back down until midnight the next night.. So for 17 euros EACH you have ONE bed for 10 hours everyday. Why? Because it is a "common" room that we never saw ONE person enter the entire time... There is nothing in the room- no chairs, no tv, no view, nothing and yet the staff felt it was important to tell us to put up the bed even when we weren't inconveniencing anyone by sleeping in another 20-30 minutes.. Actually ridiculous conditions for amount paid. For 40 euros we could have been in a hotel.
One bathroom per about 15 people and the shower is beside the toilet so you couldn't go to the bathroom if someone was taking a shower. The worst part is that if you are like us and want to experience the Spanish way of life (a siesta mid-day) or even if you want to go to sleep before midnight, you don't even have a place to lay down. We literally laid on the floor in our "room" because we weren't allowed to put the bed down until midnight. The staff was unwelcoming, rude and pretentious, we are seasoned travellers and have never encountered such disregard for guests. The hostel down the street has much better staff and cleaner facilities. Maybe we came at a bad time but this place was a total let down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a double room at caracol. Which turned out to be huge, with a loft bed it was perfect. The rooftop was also really nice with hammocks to chill in, and at night a barbeque, which was really fun. They arrange a lot of stuff in the hostel morning pancakes, beach trips, dinners, bar crawl, city tours; which makes it a perfect hostel for travelling alone and to meet new people.
We also rented beach cruisers at the hostel for only 5 euros a day. It was the perfect way to explore the city, you can go everywhere with the bike, it was so much fun.

The only downside of the hostel is that there is only 1 bathroom/shower for a whole floor. That is like 1 shower for 15/20 people and that really isn't enough. Also the shower and toilet are together, so when someone is taking a shower u can't even use the toilet. In the morning but also in the evening during 'rush hour' that is really annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_e0nie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hip alert: Casa Caracol is like the embassy for cool in Cadiz!
I spent two amazing nights there, which included great welcoming, rad music and a finger licking dinner made by Cangrejo. I even enjoyed an awesome flamenco concert on the rooftop terrace!
The hostel is very clean and environmentally respectful. (Recycling, solar energy, even vegan dinners).
It also included breakfast and trips to beautiful beaches, bike rent, city guided tours and an awesome "chillax" spirit.
Even if there's full-house, they try to help travelers to find some place to stay, which is already a sign of many successful years to come.
These crew doesn't stop at "Thank you and have a nice day", they make visiting Cadiz an unforgettable experience.
I made good traveling friends. The staff is for sure one of the coolest I've met.
Specially Ivan, Nina and Smiley and of course our amazing host, Nicolas!
Then we moved to Casa Piratas, in a beautiful Andalusian manor with Cathedral views and a lot of history, I wouldn't be surprised if a Jack Sparrow gaditan pirate used to live there ;-)
Be sure to book before is full, you won't regret it! We sure hope to come visit again soon.
Javiera and Arthur Allègue.

Room Tip: Even if I didn't stay on the rooftop terrace, I would have loved to spend the night watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalvezArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Exceptin the title, I could add that the people I've met in 'Casa Caracol' were great, made good friends, had loads of fun and if I'll go back to Cadiz I know I'll have a place to stay that feels like home. Nico& the lads, thanks! Irin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First impressions matter, and that's what the 3-star rating is for. We had booked beds in a 4-bed dorm, but were told that there was a mix-up and beds were only available in different dorms. We aren't really the fussy types, but the guy at the front-desk was indifferent and unapologetic about it. The included breakfast was just cereal, with pancakes only between 10-11am, which basically meant no breakfast if you wanted to utilize your morning. No one is at the reception between 10pm-10am, and you're expected to check out the previous night if you're leaving before 10am. And yes, 2euros per head if you wish them to hold you luggage even for a couple of hours.

Good things about this place? The location was good, and the fellow travelers were some of the friendliest we'd met on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.2 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caracol

Property: Casa Caracol
Address: Calle Suarez de Salazar 4, 11006 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caracol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Cadiz hostel, Casa Caracol is a chilled & relaxed place. We are located in the heart of the Cadiz old town less than a 5 minute stroll from the beaches & the train/bus station. Looking for FREE hot breakfasts, a rooftop terrace with hammocks & a cool outdoor shower – rock up to Casa Caracol!! Free fast WIFI everywhere. Proudly we have been the No 1 rated hostel on TripAdvisor, Google review, HostelWorld & Holiday Check for years. What else we got? • Surfing in El Palmar • Sandboarding in Bolonia • Cheap home cooked meals every night • Cheap bike rentals • Great home cinema ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing