We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Cadiz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Cadiz
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Cadiz
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at the Barcelo for a week whilst visiting Cadiz and the surrounding area. The hotel is modern,clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful when needed. The hotel bar and restaurant is quite reasonable and not excessively expensive. It should be noted however that this is very much a business type hotel, if you are looking for tourist type accommodation then this may not be the most suitable venue in and around Cadiz.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Avenida de Andalucia can be a little noisy as they are located facing a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank portlorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    191
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
80
263
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked two rooms here for our family as we wanted to spend one day in Cadiz on our holiday in Spain on our way through to Granada for Christmas. The hotel is modern and rooms are clean and have everything you need. Beds are good and comfortable. However the hotel is sterile and characterless. More a businessman's hotel.

As it turned out we arrived on a Monday and everything was shut so really could have given Cadiz a miss or just stopped for a couple of hours because it was a waste of time. Really not much to do here if the main two attractions are not open. The church was open but not enough for a whole day.

My main comments for the hotel are below:

Location: we were disappointed with the location. It is not close to the old part of Cadiz and is quiet a walk. It is on the main busy road going into the town. There are no nice places to eat close by if you want to walk quickly to get something in the evening. Really not a nice place to stay if you are a tourist. I have not marked the hotel down for this as it was our fault for checking this before we booked. If you want a hotel close to the old part of town and where the main tourist things are then give this place a miss.

Service: Disappointing. We arrived and no one helped us with our bags into the hotel or even once we booked in. I really expect more from a four star hotel.

No double beds: We thought we booked one superior double room and one twin room. However we were told after we arrived that they do not have double rooms only a double suite. Which we did not get. Disappointing .

Facilities. There is really not much of a bar downstairs for a drink. They do have a room service menu which we did not use. They charge you 3 euros to use this. Wifi is free in the rooms.
There is a supermarket up the road if you want to stock up on food and drinks

Parking: Parking is 20 euros a day but there is no valet service. Once again not really good enough for 20 euros .They make you park the car yourself. They open the door for you and direct you into a lift which is very tight. Make sure you only have a small car otherwise it would not fit. There did seem to be heaps of parking in 24 hour car parks close by which may be cheaper than the 20 euros at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our global meeting was held at Barcelo, Cadiz. We had stayed for one week. The swimming pools facilities are excellent so is Spa. Each room has a balcony and chair.
There is private door to go to beach which was clean and nice. Only disappointing part was food served in the restaurants. The staff was inadequate to prepare hot meals and a group of 200 delgates from world over found it difficult to communicate as they could speak only in English.Very limited options were ther for Vegetarians.

Room Tip: north wing rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights, note this complex is adjacent to the Hotel and under different management, however check in is still at Hotel and have full use of Hotel facilities. Apartment was great, 2 kings beds, large living area, excellent bathrooms and great balcony overlooking pools and ocean. Hotel pools excellent. Breakfast good and evening buffet very good. Staff obliging in f&b outlets and at gym. Was excellent value for money at end of high season, I understand the propery closes over the Winter/ Xmas period. Barossa Beach 5 minutes away, lovely sand and strtches for about 6 km's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BootsSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I don't like to give bad reviews but this hotel was a real let down. We chose it because we have stayed at several Barcelo Hotels and they have all been excellent. The Barcelo Cadiz is not in the same league. We have stayed in city Barcelos in Barcelona and Seville and they were both spotlessly clean and had a great design and feel about them. The Barcelo Cadiz is in quite a good location one street away from a great beach and a 10 minute walk from the heart of the old town. It also has a garage for parking although you get taken down in a car lift and it was not large. Bigger cars or bad drivers will have trouble parking. The hotel itself is much like a not great travel lodge. Our room was not very big, it had worn ripped laminate floor and it seemed tatty and it wasn't spotless. The corridors have drab carpets and the one on our floor needed a good hover. There was a cleaning lady walking about spraying air freshener everywhere, it was so strong, she would have been better to get the hoover out! No bath in our room and the reception staff had been so uninterested when we checked in that I couldn't be bothered asking him to change us to a different room. We were booked in for 2 nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good location near the beach but in Cadiz almost anywhere is near the beach :-))

Regarding the hotel room, it was an average 3 star experience. Bruised furniture, at the bathroom water spilled out when showering although there was the usual window, and the most disappointing was that we had to ask for toiletries.

The staff was ok and from what I see from other comments they treat customers different which is not ok given the fact that I paid the asked price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorinpopescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Modern well maintained rooms. A very short walk to the beach and a 10-15 minute walk to the old town. There are restaurants and cafes next to the hotel. Hotel is easy to find on the Main Street leading into Cadiz from the highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankandJane_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
0.5 mi away
Tryp Cadiz La Caleta
Tryp Cadiz La Caleta
#2 of 30 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#5 of 30 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monte Puertatierra
Monte Puertatierra
#3 of 30 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#1 of 30 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cadiz

Property: Barcelo Cadiz
Address: Avenida de Andalucia 89, 11009 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Business Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cadiz 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bicentennial of the Constitution of Cadiz of 1812 (Las Cortes de Cadiz) and the 22nd Ibero-American Summit have converted the city into a European reference in 2013, thanks to its large cultural offer and recently renovated artistic heritage. Don't miss the chance to visit the city that everyone wants to know. For this the Barcelo Cadiz**** hotel is the best option. The hotel is only 100 m from the Playa de la Victoria, one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. It is very close to the main places of interest; from the hotel you can easily access the promenade and in a few minutes visit the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre and admire the stunning views of Playa de la Caleta and the city walls. Next to the hotel you can find excellent public transport links. The Congress Centre, railway station and Ramon de Carranza football stadium are all within a short distance of the hotel. It offers 4 meeting rooms with multimedia equipment and capacity for 110 people. Enjoy the comfort of our light-filled rooms with large, comfy beds. There is a full-fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, and 24-hour room service. n addition, our restaurant Costa de Luz serves a fabulous full breakfast buffet, as well as the best seasonal a-la-carte lunches and dinners in the city. The restaurant includes a cafeteria serving light meals and snacks. We also offer a marvellous open air terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cadiz Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Cadiz
Barcelo Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing