We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Espana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Miami, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Viva Espana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my second stay in this hotel - stay before was about 3 yrs ago.
Was again pretty satisfied. This hotel is located in a traditional spanish house with a big court where you find the lounge. It is closed with a glass roof. You have a nice small roof top pool and a spa in the cellar. The room was very spacy, think it was a junior suite, so big that it appeared empty. Location is in the old city center with lots of charming tiny walking roads, many shops and restaurants arround. You can go by car directly to the entrance but while stopping you block the whole road. Normally spanish people are frindly and tolerate this, but I really speeded up. By the way, nobody came out to help me with the luggage. A big public parking garage is nearby, only 1 Minute to walk, 20.- EUR/24hrs. Service is so so. One night the bed was not uncovered, for getting a drink in the lounge I must go to the bar to order - nobody came. Not really an issue but these are the small points which also counts...Really disturbing, if taking a shower in the tub, the whole bathroom get's flooded. Water run out of the top end of the tub. I put a towel there and got it fixed.
W-LAN was not running in the room, but in the lobby it's fine. Well I didn't complain - maybe they could have fixed it, but I was on vacation!
All in all it's a nice city hotel, perfect to enjoy the spanish live! If you love beaches you should choose another hotel, or be prepared for a longer walk or bus ride. To find a parking in the beach zone is not so easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality. We are very happy for knowing that you stayed a second time in our Hotel and it has also a nice experience.
We are nice to hear your opinion about the kind of room you had. We tried the entire customer were comfortable.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guest. It’s near from railway station, the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants….
Sometimes, for this reason, the customer has inconveniences for parking and we informed about the public parking as well. I am afraid we have not bellboy service although we always helped with the luggage if it is needed.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool and your opinion about our optional service of the Spa and courtyard.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding the bed – we expect that it was an specific event.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    333
    150
    67
    35
See reviews for
220
388
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2014. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Hotel kept very clean in all areas. Pool on roof also well maintained. Great central location. Good breakfast choice. Spa is fabulous and is a hidden gem - well worth a visit. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
First of all, thanks for your opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of all our Guests.

It is very proud for us to read your comments about the reception staff. All of them, try their best in order to satisfy all your stay.

Your impressions on the room are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. The cleaning in the rooms is our priority and of course all rooms are soundproofed for our guest’s comfort.

We are also happy of knowing that you enjoy our buffet breakfast and SPA

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.
Yours sincerely

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a great choice for somewhere to stay in Cadiz. The location is great, all areas of the old town being easily walkable. The hotel itself is traditional Andalucian style, set around a courtyard which is lovely to sit in. We didn't use the spa, but the rooftop pool was great to cool off in (if quite small). The staff were very helpful, and when there was a problem with the lock to our room which meant that they would have to unlock the door for us every time we arrived back until it was sorted out, they sent a bottle of chilled cava to our room as an apology, which we thought was a lovely thought. We stayed for 5 nights in a triple room which was big enough, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Quality Service.

We are nice to hear from you your opinion about the kind of room you had with two big beds. Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guest and it’s near from railway station, bars and restaurants.

Facilities like outpool are valued for our guest. You can have a rest and relax after a hard day with a room service on the roof.

It´s also very nice to hear your opinion about the staff. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. I let them know.

Regarding the bottle of cava, we are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. We work hard to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel has everything; it is a brilliant blend of old and new. It is typical Andalusian in it's colours and tiles but then the lift and rooms are modern with tea and coffee facilities - another plus point. The room was cool, quiet and well proportioned. The staff were amazing and so helpful even putting up and helping me with my pathetic Spanish. Breakfasts were very good and freshly cooked tortillas were a pleasant change - the choice given must meet all needs. The hotel is in the old town with easy access to everything including ferries, trains and buses. The evening spent in the spa (discounted for guests) was well worth. Overall a lovely 6 day stay in May 2014 in a lovely hotel and a fantastic place - Cadiz was truely lovely. M & M - from Northern England

Room Tip: Our room had only a small window but for once and because there was a roof top pool this did not bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire530930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality. We are very proud of your five stars feedback. Thank you very much.
Your impressions of the room are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. It is nice to hear you comment about our “old and new” and all our facilities as courtesy tray.
We are also happy of knowing that you enjoy our Spa. It´s unique in the city of Cadiz and it´s a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town enjoying the history and culture of this ancient city.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and I let them know and the quality of our breakfast and show cooking, because it makes us feel proud of the work done because we all try our best every day and with every Guest.

We appreciate your opinion because it´s good for keep on working to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests. We hope to see you soon again here in Cádiz or in another hotel of Playa Senator chain.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was a nice size compared to other places we stayed in Spain.

We liked the roof top view. We never made it to the pool (it was cool water).

We enjoyed the ample breakfast. Many items to choice from.

As a 4 star hotel I was thinking it was going to be very fancy. It is definitely modern by Spanish standards. We were not disappointed, but it definitely is not fancy.

I had looked on Google streetview to see where the hotel was. We still walked past it the first time. It is off a side street from the large main street. If you miss that street, just come back.

We walked here from the train station. We walked back and forth to the station on a day trip to Jerez. Of course the city is not that large.

I recommend stopping at the tourist center just up the main street. We found out about some excellent free concerts.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back away from the street. I doubt you will get a room with much noise. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelwx39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality.

Your impressions on the room dimensions are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. About decoration, our company tries to follow a traditional style very similar to the central patio, but thanks a lot for your suggestions, they are very important for us.
The location of our hotel it´s very appreciated for our guests. We are located in the heart of the city centre, near the train and bus station, closet to the Town Hall and several monuments as the Cathedral, Archeologic “Center “Gadir” and Museums.

Facilities like outdoor swimming pool and solarium are valued for all our guest. You can have a rest and relax after a visiting day. We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool.

We also welcome your positive comments on the quality of our breakfast. It makes us feel proud of the work and service done.

We are very happy that you enjoyed with our services and facilities. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a relazing stay at the Spa Senator, Cadiz. The spa pools were nice and not crowded when we visited. There is a minimal fee for their use if you're a guest.

My wife enjoyed here treatments at the spa. We were both happy with the helpful staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because this is the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of all our guests.

We are nice to hear your opinion about the staff. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Thanks for using our Spa. It´s unique in Cádiz and we are sure it is a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town enjoying the history and culture of this ancient city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful people, wonderful service, awesome spa. Different pools, jacuzzi, a huge pool, very clean and very good value.

It is located in the heart of Cadiz, all kind of cool bars all around. Could not have a better location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZUZANABOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Our Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly. The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants, etc.

Thanks for using and comment our Spa. It offers a wide range of massages and circuits to relaxing, and we are nice to hear your good opinion about it.
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.7 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel is a 4-star hotel set in a restored old palatial home equipped with all modern commodities. Located in the old town of Cadiz, the hotel has a fantastic location, just 5 minutes from the city train and bus station. Spa service is not included in room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing