We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mainly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mainly Recommended”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice and clean and generally nice design hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was spot on, although had a mild panic driving down the little streets around the hotel.
Room was very clean, a tad on the small side, but nothing to worry about. Beds were extremely large and very comfortable. bathroom was very nice too. Breakfast again was very good, you have to go and order your hot food, which is both great (as it's fresh) and not so great (as you have to talk to people before you have had a coffee, lol). There is coffee and tea in the room, with a kettle. However the “Free” wifi, is the slowest and most unreliable we have experienced in a long while. The one MASSIVE bug bear I have with this hotel is that the spa is not included in the price, you had to pay 13.50€ (we didn't) per visit to use the pool, and basic amenities, plus you had to pay extra for towel and slippers (both compulsory), this was the price you paid if you were staying at the hotel (18€ if not). I thought this was a massive rip off and the implication was that this was all included when booking. VERY disappointing and a real let down as was looking forward to this when booking. It's a shame cos apart from the Spa scam, this is a really nice hotel. Do not understand why they charge (even a small charge would have been preferable and I would have paid that) especially when you are staying there...........

Room Tip: If you are going to go to the spa, bring some flips flops/slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gedfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

It is nice to hear from you your comments about the cleanness and the friendly and helpful staff. I let them know because every member thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.
Thank you also for sharing your comments about our Breakfast Buffet (hot & cold… “& fresh”) and we are nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly. The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants….

Regarding your opinion about the Spa, you should know that this service is not included on the rates. If you check different webs sites you can read the timetables and prices. We offered a discount – cheaper than the normal rates (only for Guests – 25% discount) – and there are different offers depending the dates of the week until 50%.

I apologize for the inconveniences with Wifi connection; you should have called because we had had a problem perhaps and there is a hot line 24h.
Thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay because it´s very useful for all of us and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    330
    150
    67
    35
See reviews for
218
385
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are an elderly couple wanting some comfort and tranquility. So we opted to stay in this hotel since it was getting late in the afternoon. We paid Euros 278.00. The front desk clerk were rude and impolite. They said that the use of the spa was an additional charge (don't remember how much). So we ask the clerk to show us the facilities. He refused. We could only see it, if we paid the additional charge. Then we were taken by the elevator to the room (the elevator, made entirely of glass, was dirty) and the view was garbage strewn outside for us to see. The room #506 had the view of other people's laundry and decrepit houses. We would rather stay at the equivalent of Motel 6. Waiters in the dining room were insolent.

Room Tip: Can not comment on this. We would not stay in this hotel regardless of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenifer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel. We are trying to give the best quality and service at all our customer.

We have noted you stayed last year 2012 and we do not know exactly the dates, because it depends of the rates. Anyway, for the rate you have mentionned, we are sure it was, at least, for 2 nights and surely, in weekend.

Regarding the reception and restaurant services, most of our guests have an excellent opinion of our staff and it is written in others reviews. You have to know that every member of our staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city, but we appreciate your opinion because it´s good for keep on working to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests.
We are terribly sorry about your experience with them last year.

According with the SPA we think all the Guests should know that we do not accept any visit during the SPA session, so we never show the facilities IN the times it is open for our Guests with the intention of preserve the privacy of the people that is inside of the circuit.

About the neighborhood, the Hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, that´s one of our strong point because you can visit the city perfectly and enjoy all that this city offers. Although you have to note, as you saw, the city centre has narrows streets and the hotel is located between them, that´s why we unfortunately have not view just in the part of solarium.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night. Car ark only suitable for small cars. Larger use the underground public one about 100 yards away. Reception friendly and helpful with our questions. Breakfast staff seemed more abrupt. Our room (119) overlooked front roadway. They say these rooms are soundproof but we disagree. A 25 tonne lorry off loaded a recycling bin at 7am and there was no soundproofing then! Breakfast was fine. Good selection of cold and hot is cooked for you. Didn't have evening meal in hotel. Our experience was that there were very few actual restaurants in old Cadiz. Plenty of tapas bars and cafes but few 3 course eateries. Worst part for us was the room decor. Brown and dull. Needs livening up. Bed very firm. Hotel has swimming pool and gym but charge guests at a discount. Overall glad we only stayed one night. Not awful just not great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

The Hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests. Although you have to note the city centre has narrow streets and the hotel is located between them.
It is nice to hear you your positive comments about the reception staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our job.
Regarding the noise of your room, let me tell you that all of them are soundproofed and it is a fact that most people can appreciate in their opinions. Although, in some circumstances of laud noises, as you describe, it´s difficult that you don´t hear any noise in the room and we apologize for it, but it is not the logical street noise.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of room. We are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms; we try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level, but thanks a lot for your opinion, they are very important for us.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mixed views about this place. It obviously had 4 stars because it has a pool, spa and restaurant but it doesn not feel 4* at all.

LOCATION
You can't fault the location of this hotel. It's a ten minute walk to the cathedral and a ten minute wallk to the train station. It is right in the heart of the Old Town.

RECEPTION
Friendly, helpful staff.

PRICE
We felt that the room rate was overpriced. Breakfast was not included (although the website I booked the room through gave the distinct impression that it was - so not the fault of the hotel).

BREAKFAST
There was no way we were going to pay 10 euros each for a buffet breakfast. Instead we either had breakfast at a nearby cafe or, the better option, took the offer in the hotel bar of a cup of coffee/tea and toast for 2 euros which was really good value. The 'toast' is not your sliced white, it's a large toasted crusty roll served with butter & jam. And very nice it was, too.

BAR
We had a drink and a sandwich here one afternoon and found it nice and decently priced.

ROOM
Decor - It wasn't so much designed as had crawled out of the primordial soup. The walls are painted a vile elastoplast orange. Add this to a checked bedspread and salmon coloured sheets and you have a pretty depressing effect. Particularly as there is little natural light coming in through the window because Cadiz is so built up. We didn't spend more time in the room than was absolutely necessary despite it being large enough to fit two double beds in it. It was too depressing.

Beds - We found the beds comfortable - nice and firm.

Safe - A large safe is provided in the room. It is big enough to easily fit about 4 laptops inside.

Fridge - A fridge is provided. Please not that this is not a mini-bar, it is for you to put your own provisions in.

Tea/Coffee - making facilities are provided in the room but they are a bit stingy with the milk allocation of two little containers per day. Only enough for two cups of tea/coffee.

BATHROOM
Quite large.
Decent towels (again in that delightful orange colour beloved by this hotel).
A hairdryer that actually blows out hot air.
The shower had good water pressure.
Toileteries are provided but they were also a bit mean with the hand soap, provididing one bar during our 4 night stay and by the time we left there was almonst none of it left and the bar had broken in half.

SPA
This was really expensive. The rate is 18 euros per prson. Even using their two-for-the-price-of-one offered on Wednesdays it represented poor value for money. NB the spa is closed on Mondays for maintenance.

It was also packed. It was noisy, despite their insistance for people to be quiet to ensure a tranquil atmosphere. I am sure I read somewhere they limited the numbers to 20 people at a time. Well there must have been some 4-legged people in there last Wednesday because I counted 36 pairs of flip flops lying around the facility. It was far too busy and you almost needed a rota with someone blowing a trumpet to tell you when to rotate through the pools. If you do not have pool shoes/flip flops you have to buy them there. However we liked the facilities, particularly the main swimming area which is like swimming in a cave. The lemon pool is nice and the sauna & steam rooms are good.

SWIMING POOL
It's a bit nippy but once you get in it is quite pleasant. There is a nice view of the Cathedral from the roof terrace. It could do with a bit of sprucing up though. Its is very basic. Bring your own towel because you have to pay a 10 euro deposit to use one of the hotel towels and if you want a fresh one the next day (or whenever) you have to pay for it.

LIFT
For goodness sake please get this bloomin' thing serviced! How slow can a lift be??? Very slow, indeed. And often you press 'up' and it goes down. And it often didn't exactly smell as fresh as a daisy.

OVERALL DECOR
The whole place needs to be redecorated. It is really quite drab. They also need to get rid of those awful, poorly designed posters advertising their paella evenings or late check out rates. It makes the place look cheap and nasty. The vending machine in the lobby looks nasty as well.

On the whole we felt that this hotel did not represent the best value for money. It is drably decorated and everything feels quite on the stingy side, be it the overpriced and packed spa, the fact you have to pay a deposit for a towel, the mean allocation fo milk in the room, one tiny bar of soap to last two opf you all week or the nasty posters plastered everywhere. It has an EasyJet feeling about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SockMonkey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your extensive and detailed opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of some details of the hotel. We work daily to give all our customers the best quality and service.
The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms. We try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level. We located in the city centre and we have to respect the zone.

Our Spa is unique in the city of Cadiz and we think it´s a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town. It offers a wide range of massages and circuits to relaxing. We are unhappy about your not good experience but, sometimes, on some days, when we have a cheaper price, the spa is, sometimes, a little bit busy than usually.

Regarding the reception service, most of our guests have an excellent opinion of our staff. You have to note that every member of the reception thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. We welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast at the bar, because it makes us feel proud of the work done.
The Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, it´s perfect to explore the city and all its monuments as the Cathedral and Tavira Tower, both at five-seven minutes walking. Although you must know the city centre has very narrow streets and the hotel is located between them. We unfortunately have not view, just in the part of solarium/terrace. We are glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool.
About the panoramic lift, we are working on it and improve with the technical lift’s service.
We appreciate your opinion because it´s good way to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests. If you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel advertises free wifi with the option to purchase a faster option that allows for VPN and other more bandwidth intensive services. Fine. However, what is unsaid is that 'free' users must endure speeds that are mind-numbingly slow. Think 28kbps modem. Just imagine trying to send an email or download an attachment or do anything normal online and....just...waiting...and...waiting.

As for other things, staff is so-so, our room (a suite) is spacious and clean, the pillows old and not too comfortable and the air conditioning doesn't work, the pool is small and the view is good. The place is just ok, certainly isn't 4 star and with these artificially slow internet speeds it's just not worth it. I regret coming here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel. We are trying to give the best quality and service at all our guests.

You have to note that every member of our staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. Your opinion is surprising for us, most of our guests have an excellent opinion of our staff, and we will have to know how the situation was. Anyway, we appreciate your opinion because it´s good for keep on working to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests.

About his commentary on the Wifi, let me tell you that we have two different options, as you say, the Premium (payment) and the normal to surf the web. Perhaps the occupation that we had in that day, it happened that the connectivity was slowly.
Your impressions on the room dimensions and cleaning, and your opinion about the great views from the pool are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of the air conditioning; maybe you should let us know the inconvenience in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like closing the window (it must be closed to run the air conditioning).
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is not going to rock you world but it is a reliable, solid stay in a fantastic location in the Old Town.
We were met by what must have been their best member of Reception staff, Victor Manual, who gave us the friendliest welcome and best restaurant recommendations I have had from any hotel staff anywhere. The rest of the staff were okay, but Victor was exceptional which is why our score for service is a 4 and. To a 2!
My fiancée and I just wanted a base to explore Cadiz and the location is great. The rooftop pool was a great spot to spend the siesta if you didn't want to head to the beach and it had a great view if the surrounding Old Town.
The rooms are hotel rooms - very clean but nothing that will excite you. All in all an average choice if you can't decide on anything else. You won't be disappointed, but you won't be excited either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly. The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants….

It is very nice to hear that the reception team, highlighting Victor, was helpful and friendly doing your stay better. You must know that every member of the staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool, where you can have a rest and relax after a hard day.

Regarding your point of view of hotel, we are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms. We try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level.

Thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay because it´s very useful for all of us and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and me and husband were upgraded to a suite! Lovely surprise, loads of space but a little dark as it was internal room. Man on reception (don't know his name, he wore glasses) was extremely helpful and we went to restaurant he recommended which we enjoyed. Rooftop pool is great but could do with bar service. Cadiz is a wonderful city and prices are very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our service quality.

We are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours holidays in the city.
We are nice to hear you your opinion about the room dimensions. The hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for most of our guest. Because of this situation, our clients can enjoy of the magnificent views from our swimming pool.

Thank you for your opinion about our staff, most of our guests have an excellent opinion about it. It is very nice to hear that the staff was helpful and friendly doing your stay better and I let him know personally.

Thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay in Senator Cádiz because it´s very useful for us and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.7 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
1,517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel is a 4-star hotel set in a restored old palatial home equipped with all modern commodities. Located in the old town of Cadiz, the hotel has a fantastic location, just 5 minutes from the city train and bus station. Spa service is not included in room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing