We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and nice room”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We dropped by a few hotels in Cadiz before picking this one for the night and we did not regret it. The hotel was an overall positive experience with friendly and helpful staff. The room was comfortable and spacious with good beds. The air conditioning worked well and there was also a roof fan. The bathroom was also large and comfortable. There was also a minibar.

The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had during our two weeks trip, with everything you could ask for and also a selection of fruits, juices, etc.

I would definitely consider this hotel if I ever visit Cadiz again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are nice to hear your opinion about one of our strong points as the location; the hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly.
The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, Town Hall, Museo, restaurants….

Thank you so much regarding your impressions on the size of room and the comfort of the beds; we try that the customer enjoy our service and Hotel.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our job. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    329
    150
    67
    35
See reviews for
218
384
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel is perfectly positioned, close to Plaza de Espana for Transport and a short Walk from Plaza de la Cathedral...indeed, from here, the wonderful narrow Streets and the many Plaza's of the Old Town open up easily for the Tourist on Foot wishing to explore beautiful and historic Cadiz.

I had a Room on the 6th Floor, it was clean comfortable and had a few Extra's that one does not often enjoy in spain. I appreciated the Coffee and Tea making facilities, and my Daughter loved the Ceiling Fan! We had a Large Flat Screen TV with many International Channels...but we were usually too busy to watch TV!

We spent a bit of time in the Pool Area with its wonderful views of the Rooftops of Cadiz.
We also visited the spa which my Daughter loved...especially the Pool with the Oranges in! It was very well organised and great fun.

We had Breakfast every Morning and can thoroughly recommend it.The Food was of good Quality, in fact Our Omelettes were made to Order and cooked fresh in front of us and served at our table, we were able to augment our order with Croissants and Cereals, Fruit and Yoghurt all available at the Buffet.

The staff were truly excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for them.The Chef was very good, incredibly hard working, and very kind to my Daughter.

I always have a good time when I'm away on trips but I'm always glad to get Home...not this time.I miss Cadiz and the People we met there...The staff of The Spa Senator were indicative of the friendly and very approachable People of Cadiz. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

Your impressions on the room dimensions and details like the courtesy tray, TV and ceiling are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool and your comment about our optional service of the Spa.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our work done. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Over rated . We pay double compared to the same range in Sevilla which was a real 4 stars.
Swimming pool is ridiculous like a big bath . Service is poor and our room was dirty .the only good point is the location downtown but you can find much better price for this level .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpmacld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel; we are working to offer all our guests, the best quality and service as expected.

The prices in high season-summer (July/August – when you stayed) are higher than the rest of the year and we think it is not possible compare the season in Cadiz with Seville. You should know that in summer with the beach, the weather…there is a great demand and the prices are more expensive. The same happen if you visit Seville in April with the Feria and our rates will be lower.

Concerning the room, every member of the housekeeping and all our staff knows and thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and we would like to know your impressions when you are lodged in the Hotel and we can fix every inconvenience.

Regarding the swimming-pool, let me write in this opinion-website, that we can be agree with the extension of our outdoor swimming-pool on the top of the building, with nice views for all the city but it is a urban Hotel with a limited extension in the old town, and we have tried to give our Guests, some place for refreshing and that is why we show the swimming-pool’s photos in the different web-sites. We respect your opinion but I am not personally agree with it concerning your description of our swimming-pool.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

we have stayed at the senator twice both times in winter,down a tiny street in the centre of the old town ,you can walk and see all the shops bars and the cathedral,very old building with modern updated rooms with tea and coffee making facilities which is rare in spain,the downstairs cafe serves breakfast and coffee or if you prefer there are many nice cafe,s just around the corner.the second time we stayed they remembered us and sent us a bottle of cava to our room which was unexpected but a lovely treat!try the restaurant ballandro for a meal or tapa,s it is great there is an underground car park 8 euro,s a day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

The location is something very value for the customer; it allows knowing monuments, restaurants, point of interest….easily.

It is nice to hear you comment about our courtesy tray, that detail is discussed for our guests.
Regarding the bottle of cava, you have already another excuse for come back again!!

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

As others have said, this hotel has wonderful desk staff. From out checkin until departure four days later they were nothing but helpful and pleasant. Thinking we would get a similar room to the last visit we booked a junior suite. On arrival were were allocated to a larger room than last time with some more features (sofa bed for our son, 2 TVs, larger bathroom) but it was in the new section of the bulding with a window into the central courtyard. We asked to move and this was done without a problem when a room at the front in the old section became available the next day. This is not a complaint. I think it is a strength of the hotel that larger, quieter rooms are available but, for me, looking out to the street was a priority. Again we had a great stay, enjoying the hotel's central location and the rooftop pool. It is a perfect base from which to explore Cadiz. We parked in the hote's car park this time as it was only 18euros/day -- cheaper than the public parking over the road. We got too busy to try the spa so I guess we will have to visit a third time!

Room Tip: Ask for the features that are a priority for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comment and we are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours second holidays in the city.

Thank you so much for your comment about reception staff; it is cause of satisfaction for them and a way of assessing their work.

Regarding the location of the hotel, we are situated in the old town so the hotel is surrounded by narrow and lovely streets. For this reason, all our guests enjoy the city and its charming places.

Facilities as the outdoor pool and parking, are options for making the stay more enjoyable. Please come back for third time and you should use the Spa!!!

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skövde
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Spent one night here with my 2 kids and wife. We booked a family room and were a little disappointed at the size of the room - smaller than expected and not enough space for the four of us. Breakfast was not included and they wanted to charge 10 euros each (adult price) for the kids although they advertised breakfast at half price for kids. 8 and 9 years old was too old to be considered adults. This is still a rather nice hotel located in the middle of beautiful old Cadiz and with many good restaurants and shops within a few meters. There is a roof-top swimming pool that is small but clean and sun beds where you can relax after a warm city walk. Parking next to the hotel is impossible, but there is a large public under ground parking house very close to the hotel (100 m closer to the town hall) where lot of space was available at 20 euros per 24 h.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of breakfast service and room; we are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – family room - has 2 big beds of 135cm each, and the size is the same in all the floors. We are sorry about your opinion.

In reference to breakfast service we are greatly sorry and it could be a bad communication between our personal and the cost of the children because we had a 50% reduction in breakfast until 12 years old. It means 5 €/child.

Facilities like outpool are valued for our guest; you can have a rest and relax after a hard day.
Regarding the location of the hotel, we are situated in the old town so the hotel is surrounded by narrow and lovely streets. For this reason, all our guests enjoy the city and its charming places.

If you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel had some bad reviews on booking.com which made me anxious about choosing it but it was a great choice.

Cadiz is an amazing place to visit with beaches, shopping, history and great dining all in a beautiful charming little city.

The Hotel Spa Senator is ideally located on the edge of the old town. We arrived by train and the hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the train station. There is a tourist information centre between the train station and hotel where you can pick up walking maps and discount coupons. Cadiz really makes an effort to accommodate tourists.

The room are clean and comfortable, the staff is helpful and friendly and the price is great for this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality and we are agree that we receive some bad reviews concerning some points as the views or olds TV… etc. but we have changed this year, all the TV and now, with LCD 32” in each standar room.

We are nice to hear you your opinion about a strong point like the situation; Senator Cádiz is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly.
The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants….

Thank you so much in reference at your comment regarding reception staff.

The cleanliness is a point very important for the chain and all our rooms must be impeccable

If you decide to stay again, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.7 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
1,515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
665 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel is a 4-star hotel set in a restored old palatial home equipped with all modern commodities. Located in the old town of Cadiz, the hotel has a fantastic location, just 5 minutes from the city train and bus station. Spa service is not included in room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing