We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luxury here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No luxury here”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. The rooms were very dark, not all inviting and overpriced for the quality. Old and tired.
When we enquired about a better room with more light, like that shown on the web site, we were informed that the room on the web site was a suite and not typical of what was available.
The hot water system within the hotel was out of order until 10pm one night of our stay. The staff did not let us know and we were left to discover this for ourselves when trying to shower.
The spa was was also closed without warning and the hotel had no atmosphere. We wished we had not booked a room here and limited our time within the hotel to a minimum.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 313Pipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of our hotel; we are working to offer the best quality and service to all our customers. Regarding your reservation we tried to offer a quiet and big room because you needed a free-cot for your baby. For this reason we gave you a family room instead a double room. We showed you another room in high floor for avoids the dark but unfortunately we are between two buildings and some customer considerer that we need more light. People who read your comments, should know our Hotel is located in the very old town city center.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences concerning the hot water system but it was a point failure and it was resolved for maintenance as soon as possible.
The spa is always closed on Mondays like you might check in all the web site.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    335
    155
    67
    35
See reviews for
221
395
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NorthEast UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Dec....yes the car park is tricky to get into but at least the car is then secure. If you are arriving by car the car park entrance is on the street a block before the street the hotel is on ( within the one way system). Our room overlooked an inner courtyard, was quiet and the courtesy tray was great...so nice to be able to make a morning coffee, plenty of wardrobe space, nice bathroom, comfortable bed and nice linen. We had a free spa pass and if you get the chance to use it DON'T MISS IT!!! It's lovely....a number of toasty warm pools, jacuzzis and jets in a spectacular underground setting hewn out of the bedrock. We didn't eat here as we like to find smaller local venues but would definitely stay her again.

Room Tip: Overlooking an inner courtyard should be a quet room location. We stayed in 0117.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Our hotel is located in the old town and that is the reason of our narrow and complicated entrance to the parking.

Our Spa is unique in the city of Cadiz and it´s a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town enjoying the history and culture of this ancient city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here over xmas - nicely appointed hotel right in the heart of the old city. Ideal for exploring the old city - One slight niggle is the car parking which is at the opposite side to the entrance - if approaching by car go to the garage door first - ring the bell - wait for the door to open and park. The car park is entered by going down in a lift (in your car) If you go to the front of the hotel you will end up in a mile detour to get back to the garage - that said the hotel was excellent. The spa is the best in cadiz and a real bonus after a day walking the city
Rooms looked out over a courtyard Staff were very helpful

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Our hotel is, as you said, placed in the old town, it means narrow streets and not too many parking lots, so the lift is the unique way to have a parking in our building.

Thanks for using our Spa, good combination for a perfect day, walking tour visiting the city and later relaxing in this area. Our staff try always to help to our customers during the stay giving city maps, indicating monuments, restaurants and giving advices about tours in the city and the province.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Best Regards

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We walked to hotel from train station, about 8 blocks, get a map but it's an easy walk. The hotel is in a good location to explore the compact old town of Cadiz. The rooms were nicely sized and well appointed with free wi-fi. We did not try the spa as we only stayed one night but it looked like there were many options to choose. The front desk was very helpful with recomendations on stops - go to top of watchtower as well as top of cathedral. We found a great restaurant on San juan de dias square serving grilled fish - mmm, best dinner on a 10 day trip - Restaurant El Sardinero. You can see everything in one day and Cadiz is a nice diversion from Seville or Madrid and nicer than Costa del Sol

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

The location of our hotel, in the heart of the old town, is perfect to explore the city and all its monuments as the Cathedral and Tavira Tower, both at seven minutes walking. The Spa offers a wide range of massages and circuits to relaxing and until 15Th February we offer a free circuit to all our customers.

It´s a pleasure hearing you about good recommendations of our staff in order to have a nice stay in our city because for us you are not only a customer, you are our guest.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wanted a hotel in the old town of Cadiz and decided on the Hotel Spa Senator. We arrived by train and actually walked from the station to the hotel, which really isn't that far. We did this after reading that the hotel was hard to find by car.
The hotel is indeed in a narrow street but do not be fooled once inside the hotel opens into a large airy patio.
The rooms are large and very well equiped. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but that is down to personal preference so would not mark that as a critisism
From the hotel you are straight onto the old town of Cadiz. The streets are lively and full of shops, cafes and resturants. The only slight down side to Cadiz is that it is the home of Tapas and most of the menus are just that, Tapas.
We didn't use the spa facillities of the hotel, only being in Cadiz for 2 days so cannot comment on them, but the hotel was everything we wanted. It was clean, comfortable and ideally positioned to visit the sights of the old town.
Good value for money in a hotel, which after all is a city centre facillity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Hotel is in good location. Room OK, although NOT 4 star. Were given a 1 hour spa voucher each although did not have time to use this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishgirl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is in a very good location and the lobby/atrium is certainly very nice indeed. The bedroom was rather gloomy and dark (the deep peach paint probably doesn't help). It also had a smell of smoke although we were assured that our floor was entirely non-smoking. It otherwise appeared clean. The staff were generally friendly.

Breakfast would have been very expensive so we chose not to have it there.

I can't comment on the Spa as the facilities were closed during our stay as was the pool on the 6th floor. The cost of using the pool in the basement was excessive so we didn't use that either.

Overall it would have been ok if it cost less and was rated 1-2-star but it is not what I would expect from a 4-start hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.7 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel is a 4-star hotel set in a restored old palatial home equipped with all modern commodities. Located in the old town of Cadiz, the hotel has a fantastic location, just 5 minutes from the city train and bus station. Spa service is not included in room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing