We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2-Star Hotel Smack In The Middle Of Old Cadiz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed at the Cortes for one night (8/13/09). We were on a two week trip, and most of the hotels we stayed in were either 4 or 3 stars, so when we realized the Cortes was only a 2 star we weren't expecting much. Turns out it was a very nice and well maintained hotel, with lovely lobby area and our room looked like it had been recently redone. No doubt the room was small as was the bathroom -- and if you are a large person, the corner shower will probably be too tight. We had second floor room facing the street, and it was a little noisy, but since it was for just one night we didn't mind too much (plus we are late birds ourselves -- but there was some construction going on across the street which was not too nice at 8am the next day). The beds were kinda hard, and very limited pillows. On the plus side, the interior of the hotel had a certain charm about it. The air conditioning in our room was excellent, and the Internet was free (we had WiFi since we were close to the lobby, but they have cables for those rooms that can't pick up the signal). However, probably the best feature of all is that the hotel is smack in the middle of old Cadiz - a totally atmospheric place. If stay here, you definitely must go for tapas at Meson Cumbres Mayores (Calle Zorrilla #4). The tapas were among the best we had in Spain, and very cheap too. It was packed with locals around 8-10pm (mostly stand up counters, a few stools), but we went closer to 11pm and had no problem getting a seat (closes around midnight).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

This is a well run hotel that seems to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are quite small though and I wouldn't fancy a long stay in one. The location is excellent but the street outside is pedestrianised and noisy late at night. For some reason this noise gets particularly bad between 4.00 and 5.00am (maybe the youngsters are being ejected finally from the bars). The reason it's so noisy is that while the windows are double glazed , it's a 'cheap' job, there's no rubber seals and the wind/noise is coming straight through. So if you're a light sleeper go elsewhere. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the decor and fixtures in the lobby are very nice. It has a small gym and even a roop-top garden to relax in the sun. A final comment is that it's expensive €73 a night in May, but this seems to be the scene in Cadiz - there's very few hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Recently spent four nights at this hotel. It is a lovely hotel in a very beautiful old city. Staff were very friendly with the hotel immaculate - marble everywhere.

The rooms are not very big but are a decent size and it is a fine sized bathroom too. Lots of toileteries. The noise was bad on the Thursday night but did not hear anything the following few nights.

Breakfast was good with your typical continetal europe fare on display.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Anthony06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hospederia Las Cortes de Cadiz last week. The attractive entrance is on a pedestrian street in the heart of the beautiful old city. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the room and common areas to be spotless and well-maintained.

There's a PC in the lobby for internet use (Windows Me - yuck!) which is handy for a quick lookup. There's even a small gym with treadmill, rowing machine etc.

Some reviewers have complained about street noise. We were in room 307 which is directly above the tables of the attached cafe but we had no issues with noise; if you adapt to the Spanish timetable of life then you'll be out late too! The room also had good shutters which keep out much of the noise.

The hotel offers a great breakfast buffet that includes the usual pastries, rolls, jams and cold meats but also bacon, tortilla or scrambled eggs, and fruit.

The hotel has some nice touches such as the plate of fresh fruit in our room on arrival, and chocolates on the pillow when we returned at night. We would certainly revisit the Hospederia Las Cortes de Cadiz.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coops456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Hotel was well-located, with a cafe attached which would provide the breakfast. Reception area was very dark and a bit fore-boding. Room stank of smoke, which was my big issue.

The bed was rather lumpy, and overall, did not have a comfortable 2 nights there. Other than that, the room was clean and for the price I paid, was acceptable.

My room overlooked a busy street, so quite nice to people watch. there were heavy shutters and curtains which blocked out most of the street noise. room was cramp, you had to slid in as the door would not open fully due to a desk behind it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Positive: perfect location in the centre, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and tidy, nice buliding

Negative: due to its location quite noisy and you can only choose either a room with no daylight or a room towards the street (pedestrian area). The latter means noise from the street due to people chatting and laughing until late and due to vehicles for street cleaning and rubbish collection in the middle of the night.

Others: breakfast good quality but sometimes lacking refill

Overall: would stay there again - best place around but don't go if you are sensible to noise

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cocos_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Stayed in this hotel in Oct. 2005. Overall, excellent value and GREAT location.

1. Room - very clean and nicely decorated. No window, only a skylight. We didn't spend much time in the room during the day, so not having a window didn't really matter. The shower was small and a bit claustrophobic (no bath tub). The bathroom was spotless though, with a hair dryer.

2. Noise levels - each hotel floor opens into a round inner hall topped by a skylight. Looks lovely, but the sound unfortunately carries. It was a bit noisy on Friday night, and the maids start early, so we could hear them talking outside our room. I didn't find it too much of a problem though - but if you are looking for a very quiet hotel, this is not it.

3. Location - excellent! 5 min to the ocean promenades, 1 minute to Plaza San Francisco with very nice cafes and restaurants. About 15 min to the train station (walking distance, depending on your luggage). About 7 min to the bus station (if you are going to or coming from Algeciras) - we found it a very easy walking distance.

4. Staff - very friendly and helpful. Spoke English at the front desk.

5. Rate - we paid $85CAN a night (approx. 58 euros), tax included, booked through Expedia. Based on this rate, the hotel exceeded my expectations. Breakfast wasn't included.

6. Hotel restaurants - we tried the restaurant cafe. Excellent Spanish breakfast (try bread with ham, crushed tomatoes, and olive oil). Paid about 6 euros for 2 and were very happy with the quality. Staff doesn't speak English, and they mildly overcharged us twice, by about a euro each time.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChartYourFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
1.1 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz

Address: Calle San Francisco 9, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range: $85 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Cortes de Cadiz is located in the town centre; its facade and its inside keep the original structure of the typical Cadiz House from the 19th Century.The hotel has a refreshing new concept combining modern technologies with the traditional. Due its privileged location in the city, you are surrounded by many popular bars and restaurants. Also, the main harbour is located on a 5-minute walk away. Other nearby attractions include the Congress Palace, various theatres and nice beaches. The airport is situated 40 km away. Hotel offers to the guests services like: Coffee-Restaurant,view-point Tower,free WIFI internet access, fitness centre(free for guests) with Jacuzzi and Solarium. All rooms are equipped with warm/air conditioning, telephone,TV,minibar,safety box,room-service,bathroom with magnifying beauty mirror and hairdryer. All the rooms, with a warm and comfortable decoration,are dedicated to an event or to a relevant personalityt of Cadiz Courts from 1812, represented in its interior by a pictural work ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Las Cortes De Cadiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing