We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it's better to sleep on the street”
Review of Hostal Fantoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Fantoni
Ranked #27 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid it's better to sleep on the street”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

It looked like a reasonable budget hotel when I checked in, the receptionist was courteous. Then the problems began, the bed was just springs no padding, must be 80 years old. The room was of the main reception and the curtain would not stop the light all night was bright. Guests arriving back late all night buzzed in but the buzzer was very loud. The room itself was tiny and the bed spread made me itch a lot. I was told there was wifi but maybe they switch it off at midnight as it was only available on the sofa at reception nor in my room which was less than 2 meters away! I was kept awake all night, in the morning the receptionist was rude and could care less for any of the issues, I suggested a small discount she started to shout at wave her hands and got very cross. I paid the full amount as she then said she might charge me more than agreed previously. There is no facilities not even s coffee machine or a touch of Andalusian hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUniversal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We slept two in one of the smallest rooms (nº2) because we were just stopping in Cadiz for one night, but it was a bad election. It had little ventilation and it was very noisy.
Despite being recommended by travel guides as Lonely Planet (that's what they announce at the entrance), we did not enjoy our stay.
Despite of all, the location is very good, close to the town hall and the Cathedrals in the Old City.
@Wifi in communal areas

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

Phuket
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hostals and Pensions provide the cheapest no frills en-suite accommodation in Spain if you are on a budget and want to be close to the main sites, most of which you have to pay to enter. We found Spain to be unexpectantly expensive during our stay, although accommodation in the Hostals was reasonable. Breakfasts and tea and coffee making facilities are uncommon. Go to the nearest Tourist Information office and obtain widely available street and accommodation maps, as these offer much needed guidance when seeking a place to stay. Free parking is hardly ever available and it can be costly if you have to use Public sites. You therefore have to balance out the additional cost of this against the extra cost of staying at a hotel which offers free parking. Although this type of accommodation is often plentiful and well placed, remember that the Spanish eat and socialise very late, so noise can often be a problem for light sleepers.

Hostal Fantoni is located down one of the many car-free small side alleys in the Old Town, a great location. Accommodation was clean, of reasonable size and the room was made up every day. The roof top area provided great views and sunbeds/umbrellas for relaxation. You will struggle to find free road side parking, but an underground public car park is nearby and available at 17 Euros for 24 hours. The history is all in the Old Town and four well marked (easy) walking routes are available, making this hotel a really good base. Restaurants and coffee shops abound, although the area is expensive. Noise levels were not a problem, other than the odd inconsiderate fellow guest. One to recommend.

Room Tip: It's a steep and a little narrow walk up the stairs to the top rooms. Older couples should seek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller69Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Cadiz is stuffed onto the tip of a sandspit, and narrow streets predominate. I liked that Fantoni was close to the bustle on Calle Nueva, but that its alley location on c/Flamenco cut down on the noise. We had an exterior-windowed room on the third floor that was quiet, clean and comfortable, with excellent air conditioning (in-room standalone unit with remote control). I did notice other rooms that seemed to lack exterior windows, opening onto the interior patio -- this would seem less of a problem than it would be in places lacking air conditioning.

At 56EUR, this was very good value. Staff were friendly, offering us beach towels and lending us an English travel guide on Andalucia from the library shelf above their reception. The hostal is only about a ten-minute walk from the train station and a block from the tourist office.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentgeorge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We have stayed several times at Hostal Fantoni, and consider it as "our special place". We have always had very nice rooms - the best beeing the one on the roof - and the pension is spotlessly clean. There has been some redecorating lately, and one of the guys in the reception has learned some English last winter! (That's nice, as my Spanish is rather rudimentary…)
The hostal is situated in the old, central quarter of Cadiz - famous for its picturesque charm This part of the town is very quiet and laidback, but with a lot of shops, bars, cafés and churches in the narrow, cobbeled streets. A charming little botanical park, a nice, little beach by the old lighthouse. There is an old fort with free art and historical exhibitions, and it's also a great place to picknic. Torre Tavira has an Camera Obscura and a great wiev over the town and the sea surrounding it.
We would also like to mention Grimaldi's, a very good family restaurant by The Market. Exellent food, and very charming owner!

  • Liked — Friendly and quiet
  • Disliked — A little too far away from Norway, cant go there as often as I would like…
  • Tips/Secrets — Grimaldi's! Very good and fresh sea food, made and served by owner.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Dukken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

I paid 45 Euros for single occupancy of a double room (no bath) in Nov 2006 (but did knock it down from 60). I didn't find it noisy at all in comparison with so many other pensions in Spain - it is on a back street so didn't have the toddler-screech of the scooters all night! The room was clean and well cared for, the bathroom cleaned every day. The heavier guy behind the desk was a bit grumpy, but the other guy was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location - short walk to the train station, very short walk to bus stations - and bang in heart of old city, too. A basic place, no doubt, but fair enough if it's what you're after.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Knock the price down
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed at Hostal Fantoni for 2 nights in May 2006 paying Euro 55 per night twin share.

The first impression we received was how loud and noisy our room was. The rooms only have internal windows to a hotel corridor which is fully tiled, so that you can hear the footsteps and every word spoken around the hotel and everything echoes. We could hear the reception telephone ring from 2 floors below as if it was right outside our room! Together with the constant sound of the washing machines which seemed to operate 24 hours a day, and the noise of guests coming and going, we hardly got any sleep during our stay.

The rooms are very small, but are spotlessly clean as are the bathrooms. The rooms are very hot, and much warmer than outside, so we needed to have the airconditioner on all the time, which just added to the noise!

The people who run the hotel did not appear very friendly or helpful.

The hostal is very centrally located, close to shops and and all the tourist attractions, and everything is within walking distance in Cadiz.

While it is still quite cheap, we found the rate of Euro 55 per night (without breakfast) was overpriced compared to other hostels/hotels we stayed at in Spain and would recommend this hotel to budget travellers only after having exhausted all other possibilities.

On a further note, while we thought Cadiz was fine, there is not a whole lot to see and do as a tourist. It is not on the beach, and apart from the cathedral, there isn't really much else to see. The seafood market is worth a look and they have a good selection of stores (very good Zara store) but if you have limited time in Spain, you may wish to make it a day trip or an overnighter as we felt 2 nights was far too long.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roaming12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel
Bahia Hotel
#18 of 29 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Argantonio
Hotel Argantonio
#6 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Canalejas
Hostal Canalejas
#18 of 33 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Colon
Hostal Colon
#1 of 12 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Espana
Pension Espana
#2 of 12 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Fantoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fantoni

Property: Hostal Fantoni
Address: Calle Flamenco 5, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Fantoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Fantoni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing