We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Cadiz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador de Cadiz
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, although this new building is cutting edge, some of the staff are still stuck in the past! There is the old "head down, eyes front, I'll attend to you when I'm good and ready" attitude in evidence at this Parador. We experienced this during our charmless but efficient check in and in the bar/cafeteria. Our standard double on the 6th floor was smallish but had great (if not very private) views of the sea from the balcony. In my opinion it was over designed and cumbersome with plenty of sliding glass and gadgetry. Don't forget to turn the bathroom light on from the panel beside the bed, you won't find any switches near the wc/bathroom! The design is very 'W Hotel' but without the 'cool' and certainly no razzmatazz.
All that said, I am happy that the Parador chain are looking to the future and if you want to be right by by the sea with good pool areas and a pleasant main restaurant with fabulous sea views then don't be put off. I just found it a little soulless, maybe it just wasn't for me.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    471
    119
    48
    20
See reviews for
260
963
33
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The newly opened Cadiz Parador id ideally situated for exploring this wonderful city. Everything is brand new and of the best quality. The ultra modern rooms contain the latest electrical divices, the SPA is wonderful and the food offered in both Breakfast and Dinner is outstanding both in terms of quality and value.

Room Tip: A top floor room gives easy access to the fantastic open roof space and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey-G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I suppose that when you aim to build something remarkable in one of the oldest places in the world, you aim to conceive and create something totally new! This hotel is pure architectural concept, and very well executed. The materials are all fine, unique and interesting. A-ma-zing!

Our room was at the end of a long hall that reaches out into the ocean. #532 - it's a suite crafted into several rooms that all merge seamlessly. Hi-tech shades and beautiful fixtures. Our balcony stretched the length of the room overlooking the pool and the ocean. The dining/living room faced the ocean fully. Breath-taking. One of the few hotel rooms worth hanging out in - the views alone...Each detail thoroughly conceived.

You truly can't believe how remarkable the space is. Additionally, 3 pools, a deck area the size of a football field AND it's on the ocean. There are multiple patio areas for dining and cocktails...Not sure what else you'd need?

The breakfast featured some of the best hams, fruits and breads I've had while journeying through Spain. Each room service requests was fulfilled within minutes!

My only ask would be that there would be someone outside to aid with the bags and park the car.
Check-in also took 10 minutes with no line. Seems that could improve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had five nights here in a north facing room. It was fantastic.
Service great, breakfasts and dinner fantastic.
Others have said they experienced poor service - not at all our experience. All staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful even if their English was limited (and our Spanish certainly is!).
The hotel situation is perfect for exploring old town Cadiz. We have travelled a lot in other areas of Spain and this has been a real find. A beautiful city and we will be back.
The rooms do have an issue with glass and privacy is a potential problem because of the balconies, but the blinds & shutters etc are excellent, so it is not a real problem.

Room Tip: North facing is perhaps preferable as south facing overlooks pool area and might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-Hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Opened in 2012 Vast lobby and contemporary/modern bedrooms.Great location - beach 2mins walk away All rooms have sea views. Very good breakfast buffet - huge choice.
Cafe bar overlooking the sea let down by incredibly slow service.
Beware of the seagulls in the pools!!
10min stroll to the city centre
Station 5 mins in taxi.

Room Tip: Floors 6/7 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphire, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've just returned from a two night stay in this parador, and we we found it to be a very pleasant place to stay. As other reviewers have commented, it is very modern and hi tech, but this isn't to its detriment in the least.

There is underground parking at 15 euros per night. The lounge areas are vast, spacious and have comfortable seating, and it's easy to find space for yourself. We didn't eat In the restaurant because the menu looked uninteresting and international.

The rooms are hi tech, with electric blinds, various types of mood lighting, terrifically powerful showers, and stunning views. We found the bed a little hard and didn't sleep well on the first night, but by night two we'd got used to it a slept well. The TV offers little choice for English-only speakers, just a couple of news channels.

Breakfasts are excellent with a vast array to choose from on the buffet, including hot breakfasts, cereals, fruit, cold meats, pastries and breads.

The bar is disappointing. It's really a cafe and thus lacks atmosphere, although there is an excellent choice of drinks and snacks.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough for us to be able to take advantage of the fabulous looking swimming pools or outside areas. We didn't use the spa, and there isn't an indoor pool, which is a shame.

We found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful and efficient.

This is a 4* hotel, but the quality of the rooms and the building itself would lend it to being upgraded to 5* if they got their act together in the restaurant and bar areas - and the TV channels!

We booked ahead online and got a rate of 140 euros per night - excellent value. When we stayed they were doing a deal to upgrade to a junior suite for an extra 50 euros per night. Unfortunately we only saw this when we checked out, otherwise we would have taken advantage of the deal as the suites look fabulous. Next time we'll ask about any deals when we check in.

Location wise it's hard to beat. This is definitely the place to stay in Cadiz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

First, the hotel is listed as 4 star, but i have no idea why. The hotel is better than most 5 stars hotels i have been to. It includes several out door pools, restaurants and bars In addition to spa departement. We had room with sea view which was great. Be aware that depending on the side of the hotel you are located you either get morning sun or from the afternoon until the sun sets In the ocean. Also notice that there are very little seperating the balconies so you can look at your neighbour while sitting down.

The hotel is located 5 min walk from the closest beach which is very nice. It is a 15 min walk to the historic centre.

Service is good, but with a few language issues if you are not proficient with spanish.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.5 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cadiz

Property: Parador de Cadiz
Address: Avenida Duque de Najera 9, 11002 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cadiz 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new Parador for a new century. A new building representing a new, updated architecture, in which light, space and noble materials are key elements, with avant-garde lines in which the most diverse shapes and materials - wood, marble, steel, stone and glass - are combined to give this new icon of contemporary architecture its shape. Light invades all corners, and the ocean turns into the horizon, from which any spot of the new Parador can be seen. Modern and warm rooms, with impressive terraces flying over the city and the Ocean. The swimming pool and Spa area is located on the second floor. Here, guests can enjoy the best panoramic views onto the bay of Cádiz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cadiz cádiz
Parador De Cadiz Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing