We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, efficient and spot on”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Cadiz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Cadiz
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Hamphire, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Modern, efficient and spot on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've just returned from a two night stay in this parador, and we we found it to be a very pleasant place to stay. As other reviewers have commented, it is very modern and hi tech, but this isn't to its detriment in the least.

There is underground parking at 15 euros per night. The lounge areas are vast, spacious and have comfortable seating, and it's easy to find space for yourself. We didn't eat In the restaurant because the menu looked uninteresting and international.

The rooms are hi tech, with electric blinds, various types of mood lighting, terrifically powerful showers, and stunning views. We found the bed a little hard and didn't sleep well on the first night, but by night two we'd got used to it a slept well. The TV offers little choice for English-only speakers, just a couple of news channels.

Breakfasts are excellent with a vast array to choose from on the buffet, including hot breakfasts, cereals, fruit, cold meats, pastries and breads.

The bar is disappointing. It's really a cafe and thus lacks atmosphere, although there is an excellent choice of drinks and snacks.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough for us to be able to take advantage of the fabulous looking swimming pools or outside areas. We didn't use the spa, and there isn't an indoor pool, which is a shame.

We found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful and efficient.

This is a 4* hotel, but the quality of the rooms and the building itself would lend it to being upgraded to 5* if they got their act together in the restaurant and bar areas - and the TV channels!

We booked ahead online and got a rate of 140 euros per night - excellent value. When we stayed they were doing a deal to upgrade to a junior suite for an extra 50 euros per night. Unfortunately we only saw this when we checked out, otherwise we would have taken advantage of the deal as the suites look fabulous. Next time we'll ask about any deals when we check in.

Location wise it's hard to beat. This is definitely the place to stay in Cadiz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    475
    120
    48
    20
See reviews for
261
974
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

First, the hotel is listed as 4 star, but i have no idea why. The hotel is better than most 5 stars hotels i have been to. It includes several out door pools, restaurants and bars In addition to spa departement. We had room with sea view which was great. Be aware that depending on the side of the hotel you are located you either get morning sun or from the afternoon until the sun sets In the ocean. Also notice that there are very little seperating the balconies so you can look at your neighbour while sitting down.

The hotel is located 5 min walk from the closest beach which is very nice. It is a 15 min walk to the historic centre.

Service is good, but with a few language issues if you are not proficient with spanish.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location next to the beach and about a ten minute walk to the centre of the old town.
A very modern Parador and very high tec so you will need to work out how to put the lights on,raise the blinds run the bath as it is all hi Tec
Good breakfast including hot food is available and is included in some packages
Underground car parking is available but costs fifteen euros a night
One downside are the hotel lifts which seem to have a mind of their own and so you can wait a long time and are never sure if you will go up or down or indeed move at all

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EricTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cadiz is a City of the Sea. The Atlantic shimmers right up to the front door of the Centro Historico. At its Western tip, sits the Parador Atlantico looking like a beached ocean-going behomoth, eager to set sail. Inside, all is ship-shape and sparkling; defiantly bold and modern and just the right side of bling. The rooms all seem to look out over the sea, but right throughout the hotel you catch startling glimpses of the ocean, each perspective a cunning surprise. The pools come in a variety of shapes and spa-sizes, none deeper than your neck, one no more than ankle high. Come nightfall, your last view is of the lighthouse glimmering; next morning the sun gets up before you do and is there waiting to say welcome to the Costa de la Luz.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreandanOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
410 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location overlooking the sea and for the fact that it had a pool. The reception area felt impersonal, more like an airport terminal. The room was smallish with a bathroom area compartmentalised in glass partitions, which made it feel cramped. The balconies overlooked the sea and had full folding windows which gave a pleasant sense of space. No privacy on the balcony, as neighbours can look into one's room very easily, so beware. The electronic blinds were looking worse for wear, but worked.
The greatest disappointment was the appalling service in both the restaurant and breakfast room. The food at dinner was OK but not wonderful, they forgot to serve us one course, and we had to ask for service on a number if occasions. Breakfast was very frustrating - waited twenty minutes for cooked food, dishes of food were not replenished and the manager, when consulted, could only say "sorry". Having just read more recent reviews, nothing has been put right.
Not good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The interior design of this hotel is extremely modern and very much different from any hotel we stayed so far. This is in complete contrast to the overall atmosphere of Cadiz. This should not prevent anyone from staying at the hotel. On the contrary, this is an opportunity to experience something different.
The location of the hotel is very good and breakfast was excellent.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeniRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were delighted with our rooms, very modern, albeit a little smaller than we expected, but with stunning views and a lovely balcony. Very clean throughout, and a good pool area. However, with the notable exception of the guy on the desk on our arrival, there was no service to speak f throughout our stay. We had to wait tweny minutes for coffee at breakfast - which was not as good as some other reviewers described btw - and thebothersvin our party didn't get any at all. We went to the bar for an early evening drink and as we walked in, the girl behind the bar walked away and still didn't return ten minutes later, so we went elsewhere. I rang the spa for a massage three times and no-one picked up the phone. We wanted a corkscrew, so I tried three numbers, eventually got someone who said they would send someone up- then phoned back to tell us to take the bottle down to the bar, as that is where the corkscrew was! The overall impression I got was that the hotel is preparing itself for the real holiday season later in the year. I would recommend it though, for it's location and style - plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

Room Tip: They all have a balcony - so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.5 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cadiz

Property: Parador de Cadiz
Address: Avenida Duque de Najera 9, 11002 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Family Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cadiz 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new Parador for a new century. A new building representing a new, updated architecture, in which light, space and noble materials are key elements, with avant-garde lines in which the most diverse shapes and materials - wood, marble, steel, stone and glass - are combined to give this new icon of contemporary architecture its shape. Light invades all corners, and the ocean turns into the horizon, from which any spot of the new Parador can be seen. Modern and warm rooms, with impressive terraces flying over the city and the Ocean. The swimming pool and Spa area is located on the second floor. Here, guests can enjoy the best panoramic views onto the bay of Cádiz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cadiz cádiz
Parador De Cadiz Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing