We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 31, 2012

there was redecorating being done while we were staying there, which took away from the fact that its a 4 star hotel on arrival. But the room was lovely with sea views. Great location right beside the beach with good bars near and easy transport into the old town. No tea ameneties

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view if possible, it might cost you more though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just_dance_xxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here again for 2 nights last week. Allocated a newly remodelled room on 7th floor with sea view. Checkin was quick, the front desk staff are all very nice & friendly and happy to help even if your Spanish is not too good.

The lifts are still the same old creaky lifts but they open out onto newly carpeted hallway leading to your new room complete with new door !! First impressions are very good - it all looks very nice & fresh & modern. Nice clean new bed linens & spare quilts in the wardrobes. The a/c worked very well & was easy to use. Not too sure about the furniture as it seemed a bit too modern & light and not hotel sturdy. There is still a fridge/minibar again hidden behind a flimsy glass door. The walls are all white and already have scuffing !!

New addition of luggage space shelf is welcome as is better shower which seemed more powerful than before. I could not make out whether it was still the same bathroom floor as before as it seemed old but there was new sanitary wear & tub & black wall tiles so it all seemed fresh. The blackout blinds are great so complete darkness for sleeps except light from button on new flat screen tv which is hung on the wall.

Breakfast room has not changed and still has the old hotel colors. Breakfast was fine & as included in rate was perfectly acceptable. Do take out their MAS card for 2 for 1 on breakfasts

There is construction noise still Mon-Fri from 8am to 5pm so beware if staying during the week. The top floors are all done now so they are working on floors 3-6 so the last to be done will be floors 1-2 next year I guess.

The location of the hotel is great hence the repeat visits, the staff are great too & normally the price is pretty good too. The Tubba bar near door to the hotel was still as busy as ever & ate at Show de Tapas again which was fine. Cadiiz is a wonderful city to have a short mini break and very easy to get around by bus &/orr by car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in a very beautiful position overlooking the beach. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking green space which was very quiet and sunny. We were on the9th floor in one of the renovated rooms. An absolute pleasure. The hotel reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a few requests which were a bit unusual as we were traveling around Spain and these were all met with great grace. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MJT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

On arrival there was some confusion over the price we had confirmed over the phone. The hotel charged us a higher rate but agreed to compenate us with a free breakfast. We stayed in a refurbished room which was done to a high standard, however no bath just shower. We had a family room with bunkbeds although there was no safety barrier for the top bunk. The view from the room was great and looked out across the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The local bus to the old town was cheap although with a family of four we found it just as good value to use a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southseawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have stayed 2 days in that hotel during my family vacation. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and one of them had a fantastic view on the sea. The staff was also very nice and helpful. The Beach is literally across the street and there is a lots of restaurant nearby. The price was a little bit on the expensive side, but we booked the room last minute during the peak season... Overall, we had a very nice stay in that hotel and in Cadiz in general.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at Tryp la Caleta. Great location overlooking the beach. Used points from previous stays at Sol Melia hotels so free stay. Checkin was quick & efficient . Both of the front desk staff had good english & were happy to help.

Allocated room on 4th floor overlooking the sea. Rooms here are quite large and well sized, again good long firm beds & good a/c which works . Small fridge for water, wine etc. Okay sized bathroom with tub & bidet. Soap dispensers & toiletries like Tryp Jerez. Again good blackout blinds so good sleeps.

The hotel is being remodelled on the top 4 floors so only 5 floor are open for business. Stayed Friday & Saturday night so did not hear any construction work, it is only 8-7 on M-F I believe from sign in lift & in lobby. The hotel is set back form the road so you do not hear any traffic noise or noisy drunken revellers from nearby bars.

Did not have breakfast at hotel, ate at Don Pan on the parallel road where the #1 bus can take you to Cadiz old town for 1 euro. Parking is not a problem as there is lots of street parking on the promenade & surrounding streets - all free.

Overall good hotel, a bit tired hence the refurb I guess & would stay again.

Ate at Bolandro - modern trendy Spanish food. Also at at La Dispensa, again a newish restaurant well priced & fresh fish. Had lunch time tapas & wine at Show de Tapas a few doors down from the Tryp again well priced & very good value for the portion sizes. Do drink at trendy Tobba bar again a few doors from the Tryp, a white wood spider effect outside with changing light colors at night, very popular & very busy. There are also pleanty of bars on the beach open till quite late so no need to wander too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

After reading some negative reviews I was slightly apprehensive about staying at the Tryp Caleta but was more than happy with our stay. First check-in was fast and first rate. We upgraded to a ocean view for only 11 eruo per day well worth it because the beach is spectacular. The room was comfortable and roomy. All the employees went out of their way to help and they helped us on many occasions with all great suggestions. The staff was wonderful. Would stay here again in a heart-beat.

Room Tip: Upgrade when you get there.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelingMom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.9 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 28 in Cadiz
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,814 reviews
1.9 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel

Address: Avenida Almicar Barca 47 | Esquina Doctor. Fleming, 11009 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Green Hotel in Cadiz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRYP La Caleta is located right on the well known beach of Playa de Victoria, some 2.5 km (30 minutes on foot) from the historic centre of Cadiz. Two city buses with stops near the hotel will take you directly to the old part of Cadiz. Our rooms are totally renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp La Caleta Hotel
Tryp Hotel La Caleta
Tryp Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing