We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice staff, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
205 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice staff, good breakfast”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Puertatierra one week and it was one of our best holidays. Location is perfecto both to go to citycenter and out of the city of Cadiz which we found easy accessible and with good services, especially public transportation, police on hands for prevention and nice people ready to help tourists.
Staff is very good at Front, Restaurant/Kitchen as well as room maid. Buffet breakfast was rich and fresh.
One of the last days there were hostess asking for hotel comments and feedback, I pointed out we had few mosquitos in room and they suddenly acted to avoid this problem. About these hostess I found anyway that it would had be better they stayd at the hall instead of come at the tables during breakfast because personally I would prefer not to be talked during....observing other guests it seems to me they had same reaction....but overall it was a special stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara25du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are pleased that your holidays were "the best" and he had a special stay in our hotel. His words reward our efforts.
Hope to see you again in Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Huelva and Seville. We will be happy to assist.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    306
    76
    23
    3
See reviews for
149
424
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having stayed in Cadiz before (3 xParador, 1 x Playa Victoria) and the refurbished Parador not yet open, we decided to book this highly rated hotel due to Tripadvisor comments. IMHO, it is OK but not as great as the reviews suggest, and for me a big disappointment as it gets great reviews! It is a 3 star hotel for sure, 4 star with a fair wind behind it on a day the inspectors were feeling generous!
Positives: 5 minutes to a beach, large clean room, easy enough to find, 2 staff very friendly (English speaking receptionist and the head chef with curly hair at breakfast). Parking
Negatives: Hotel is bland, needs an update in bathrooms/rooms, views over flats or main road, some unfriendly staff. Parking is extra. Location is mid way between old town and best beach - so neither here or there, breakfast room lower ground floor very close to garage with smell of fumes. Expensive compared to other hotels we stayed in.
Overall, Cadiz is a favourite city of ours. Itis old, weathered with lots of old bars, good seafood and plenty of small squares. The best beach in Cadiz is Playa Victoria which is a 15/20 minute walk. If you have young children you are better off staying there or in town as the taxi from this hotel is 4 euros so for 1 extra you get a far better beach and sea views! I will return to Cadiz but not here. Second best beach is next to Cathedral. This beach isnt great and is tiny.

Room Tip: Back rooms view flats, front rooms view main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jump32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel Monte PuertaTierra:

We also thank you for your comments on the positive aspects of our establishment. Concerning to the rest of your comments, we would like to tell you that the four star hotel Monte Puertatierra, is being reforming on the entire building, rooms, bathrooms, decoration, furniture, etc.

We put all our efforts to create an even more comfortable and pleasant stay. Along with the personal attention our customers received, they value very positively the location of the hotel in two ways, for its proximity to the beach of Santa Maria del Mar (at approximately 100 meters) and to the center of the city, which can be accessed by public transport from the hotel door, either walking in a pleasant walk along the coast, where you can see an incredible view of the beach and the sea.

Our location is highly valued for being close to everywhere.

Therefore, we regret their disappointment, but we hope to see you again in Cádiz and by our hotel or any other establishment of our hotel chain in Malaga, Huelva or Seville.

Until then, Yours faithfully.

Miguel Andréu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very nice hotel, and easy to find when entering Cadiz. The rooms are comfortable and large, and the personnel very helpful for everything. Just 5' walk to the broad Ocean beach, and 20' along the seashore to downtown Cadiz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay at our hotel was to his liking, both for its location and facilities, services and care.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any of our hotels in Malaga, Huelva and Seville.
Yours truly,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We liked our stay in Monte Puertatierra. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean (the only small minus is the absence of big mirror). Very good staff doing every thing for you to feel like a special guest. The persons at the reception are very friendly. Hotel is good location (the best for me). The good beach is near ( the playa in Santa Maria del Mar), and the city is near (Cathedral is in 10-15 minutes walk). The bus №7 goes to the Cathedral and to the Playa de La Cаleta (it stops near the the playa in Santa Maria del Mar). And bus № 1 goes to other oposit site of Cadiz to Plaza Espana (the stop is near the hotel). The taxi is cheap too.
We did not take breakfast, the supermarket is in the same building. And the restaurants in Cadiz are cheap and tasty.
In Cadiz is realy good and free museum of Cadiz and in El Oratorio de la Santa Cueva are Goya's frescoes. Hope to return in Cadiz in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Thank you highlight the rest in our hotel as one of the characteristics of their stay and the location and their treatment.
We are pleased that once again be with us.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any of our hotels in Malaga, Huelva and Seville.
Yours truly,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good ratings it received and because of the location. Hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly courteous and helpful. The location was good as the beach is about a 5 minute walk, go out the door go right to the first street (Rochester Street) and go down 2 blocks to the water. To get to the old quarter take the number 1 bus across the street until you get to where the port and large boats are then turn right in to the old part of the city. My one complaint was that the phones are the old pulse-tone type, when we had to make a call we had to use the touchtone pay phone on the street (go left out the main door about a half block). Bathroom was good but as they do in Spain and other European countries the shower only has half a door and if you are not careful the bathroom floor becomes a wading pool. WI-FI was perfect and the A.C. and T.V. worked great as well. Were I to go back to Cadiz I would certainly stay here again. We asked for a room on a top floor and our wish was granted, Room 611, nice and quiet.

Room Tip: In the old area of the city there is The Plaza San Francisco, it is near the Museum of Cadiz and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packersbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad you liked the hotel location, close to the Santa Maria del Mar.
We note his appreciation of the phones, which we plan to reform we are doing at the moment the hotel.
Thanks also for your desire to return and stay with us. I would definitely have prepared the room 611, if that is your desire.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any of our establishments in Malaga, Huelva and Seville. Until then, Yours faithfully,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A large, clean, elegant room... effective ac... super location, 5 mins from the beach, 2 mins from a supermarket and a 10 minute walk into the 'old Cadiz'... all this plus polite and very helpful staff. We had a brilliant stay!!!
Hints: Try the bar a couple of doors down the street for home-cooked menu del dias only 8 euros and very tasty. When you are tired of the walk into town, catch the bus it runs every 10 minutes and only costs 1 euro.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JulianQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay at our hotel was to his liking, both the location and the facilities. Thanks also for the words addressed to our staff.
Hoping to see him in Cadiz or any other hotel in our chain in Malaga, Seville and Huelva, take this opportunity to greet him.
Sincerely

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great location with nice rooms for an enjoyable stay in Cadiz.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicAlan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are very happy to know that we will visit again and we are the chosen hotel in this city. We hope to serve as you deserve.
We will also be happy to assist you in any of our properties in Sevilla, Huelva and Malaga.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations and Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Puertatierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra Hotel

Property: Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Address: Avenida Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain). It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monte Puertatierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing