We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Victoria
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of days away. It was a bit further out of Cadiz than I had thought but set on a gorgeous beach which luckily suited us. It is about 40 minutes walk into the old town but straight along the beach so very pleasant. And only about 5€ in a taxi or a short bus ride if you don't want to walk. We paid an extra 22€ to upgrade to a sea view room for our two nights. It was worth it as the beach sunsets were beautiful. We were very lucky to get good weather for October and the pool area was nice for sunbathing. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but the bar right opposite in the square did a good traditional Spanish breakfast quite cheaply. There is free parking all along the road but it was quite busy so we used the hotel's car park which I thought was a bit expensive at 17€ a day but at least the car was parked and safe. The staff were friendly, the room was good, we had free internet in the room, not just the public areas and the views were fantastic. Overall it was a really great hotel which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Beach view upgrade worth it otherwise you overlook the square at the hotel entrance. It's ok but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueinspain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    262
    112
    18
    12
See reviews for
111
308
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I together with two friends visited this hotel on 13th October for two nights. The position of the hotel is excellent. It is based alongside Cadiz's fabulous long sandy beach whilst at the same time being on the open top sightseeing bus route. This means you can be in the historic centre of the town in minutes.
The room was nicely decorated, spacious with a partial view of the beach plus looking over the square at the front of the hotel. The bed was nice and firm. We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings and found there was plenty of choice and the service was good.
The only disappointment was the evening meal in their restaurant. We ate there the first night and found the menu and food to be uninspiring. We were also brought the bill before we had finished. This isn't a problem however because the hotel has plenty of restaurants nearby.
The town of Cadiz is well worth a visit. The Historic Quarter is full interesting details of the part this City has played in the years of Spanish domination.
We will certainly return here and stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredcheckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are a couple on our honey moon and stayed for 4 nights in a standard double with sea view. Definitely try to get a room with sea view, it's worth it! The balcony is spacious, design of the rooms is a bit dated, but cosy, rooms are reasonably sized. It's a fair hike away from the old town, so the location is more suitable for a beach holiday. The outdoor pool was the reason for us to choose this hotel, we very much enjoyed our afternoon dips. Otherwise, compared with other 4 star hotels we stayed in room and service was average. We were particularly disappointed with the breakfast room service, we wanted to spoil ourselves with a romantic breakfast on the balcony, for 15 Euros per person. Instead we ended up having to call them back twice as our eggs were cold, they did not provide salt and pepper, and the bacon was even at the third try not edible, not to mention that the croissant was stale and the decaf coffee came out of a sachet when everywhere else you can get a machine brewed version. You definitely pay for the view, the balcony and the location at the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent one night in this Hotel and were very pleased by the staff's friendliness and the nice maritime style of the rooms. We had a room on the 5th floor looking over the beach and it is directly located on the Long Playa Victoria. Breakfast buffet was very good, too.
The only disadvantage is that we needed to leave the rental car in the Hotel and take a taxi to discover Cadiz town as the Hotel was too far away to walk and it is hard to find parking in the City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel has perfect loaction by the sea (although a bit far away from the old down). The beach is lovely! Excellent breakfast which includes wine and beer too;-) Be sure to have a room facing the sea. Rooms are quite basic but the balcony is nice. Service is so so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavytraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a decent hotel, right on the beach, and very close to plenty of the area's bars and restaurants; you have almost everything you need within 5-10 minutes walk. the hotel does slightly flatter to deceive though, and for a four star there's a limit to what is provided - the service is very low key, and the staff aren't exactly falling over themselves to assist. Good rooms, and the beach-facing balconies provide superb views, including awesome sunsets (interesting that during late July, the beach was still really busy til about 10pm - and didn't empty til after midnight!).
The beach itself is outstanding, and huge; very clean, too. Although the hotel has its own section out front, you still have to pay a stiff fee for one of their beds. The hotel pool is compact, with limited space for lounging.
A couple of minor gripes:- the in-room safe didn't work well, the dodgy password / lock system needed assistance from the front desk on a few occasions. Also, although there was a publicised pool bar happy hour at tea-time; no bar staff appeared!
The old town is absolutely worth a visit (short taxi ride away). Highly recommend the small neighbourhood 'La Vina'; very authentic traditional, and great choice of restaurants. Also, take the (very cheap) 30 min ferry across to La Puerto Santa Maria - nice wee town, with a great tour of the Osborne sherry bodega on offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The first two rooms we were offered were like walking into an enormous ashtray. The pungent smell of smoke was so heavy in the rooms and throughout the floor--it was really quite disgusting. Luckily, the front desk attendant upgraded us to a room on a higher floor that didn't have the smoke problem and we had our own balcony and a beautiful view of beach.

Overall, the hotel is an OK option for the price. Nothing to write home about, but provides reasonable basics for a comfortable trip. This is one of those hotels that makes me wonder who establishes the star ratings. This hotel is really more like a 3 star hotel than a 4 star hotel, although there is no question that it is a better option than some of the other choices in the direct vicinity. On the other hand the room we were given was an upgraded room, so if this is a sample of some of their best then I am worried!

The Pros:
The breakfast buffet is very good. The room was spacious and the bathroom was basic but fine. Clean room with relatively comfortable bed and pillows. Nice private balcony with beautiful view of the ocean. Good, working air conditioner. At night the boardwalk in front of the hotel comes alive with vendors selling jewelry, souvenirs, leather items and other handicrafts--it makes for a nice stroll on a warm night.

The Cons:
The décor in the room is very dated--like a flashback into the late 80s/early 90s. With the exception of the bed, the furniture in the rooms is a beat up and in need of replacement--think chipped bureaus, peeling wallpaper, and stained fabric chairs. The location is a bit far from Old Cadiz--about a 35 minute walk. The pool is FAR too small for such a large hotel and completely overrun with children from the babysitting club they offer. There aren't enough chairs around the pool and the towel situation is annoying. The food from the restaurant is just bad (with the exception of the breakfast buffet). Many of the rooms (and floors) reek of smoke. The beach in front of the hotel gets crowded and the water/sand is quite dirty--I recommend taking a trip to one of the better beaches within a 15 minute drive or so!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afetherston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.2 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Victoria

Property: Hotel Playa Victoria
Address: Glorieta Ingeniero La Cierva 4, 11010 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa Victoria Cadiz is a big city/beach hotel with direct access to the superb beach of Victoria in Cadiz which allows a combination not easy to find: holidays at sea with all the possibilities and urban access. Luxurious and technology, built with high quality materials and the most modern facilities, well maintained and well isolated, has won several awards for energy savings. Awarded the "Q" Quality of Spains tourism organisation and ISO 14001 Environmental Management.All rooms have private terraces and ocean views. Very comfortable and bright rooms with large beds, designer furniture, sitting area and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Victoria cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing