We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Restaurante Rayuela
Ranked #267 of 552 Restaurants in Cadiz
Price range: $22 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a must visit restaurant when in Cadiz. Found it through Trip Advisor when we went to Cadiz in mid May. Visited twice in our three day stay and would have gone three times but for it being shut on a Monday ! Imaginative varied menu of South American/Spanish cuisine for a very reasonable price. We tried a few different things, ceviche, empanadas, stuffed mushrooms, chicken, steak etc, all delicious, and the house white wine is lovely. Friendly owner who speaks perfect English.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Maybe on off-night”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner at this restaurant having read previous reviews. The starters were excellent. We both had steak for the main course but to be honest the quality of the meat was average. Lots of gristle and would have expected better for a meal that was almost €90 for two. Bearing in mind previous reviews maybe it was an off-night. We took our outside table at 9.30, only one two other tables occupied. It's now 10.45 and have not seen any new customers since we arrived.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Restuarant with super food”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited Rayuela on a Friday evening arriving at about 21:30 and we were the only clients. We enjoyed a couple of drinks outside on the tables watching the world go by and chatting to the brother of the owner. We were concerned that we were going to be the only one's there bit by 22:00 everybody descended on the place and there was a real buzz. The food and service were excellent - we had the steaks which were fab and the red wine of the house was excellent. Not not to miss restaurant when in Cadiz.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish / South American restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We came here on a recommendation and certainly were not disappointed. My wife does not eat meat, so we stuck mainly to the seafood. For starters we had the ceviches- three different types (tuna, prawn and octopus). They were all very fresh tasting and had a zing of lime, coriander and chilli. All delicious, but the octopus one was particularly good. After that, we tried some mushrooms with a goats cheese and caremalised onion (I think) topping. We then had some empanadas with aubergine (for my wife) and meat (for me). Again lovely with some of the best salmorejo we have had. Finally we finished off with a plate of gambones- enormous sweet prawns in their shells.

Overall, a fantastic dinner. The food was outstanding and original. Everything seemed to have a personal touch. I also had plenty of time to envy the diners who had ordered steaks. Staff speak good English. Very reasonable price and a short, well-chosen wine list. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AN EXCELLENT CULINARY DISCOVERY”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This restaurant is situated in the old part of Cadiz and has a its tables scattered outside on the street. You will find perfect intimacy and very different from the usual tourist places. We were extremely pleased to find a different menu, something new, fresh, original and well thought through. We went twice and brought both times, different people and we all agreed it is a restaurant that cannot be missed by all means.

It really was an incredible experience and I recommend the place warmly to those who like to eat something different.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOAST64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Rayuela also viewed

Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Restaurante Rayuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing