We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Espana
Nearby Hotels
$120
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel(Cadiz)
$133
$125
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Patagonia Sur(Cadiz)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Regio Cadiz(Cadiz)
$110
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$128
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
63
73
22
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
73
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomsmall streettrain stationno liftwould stay againlocation is excellentold citysheetsroofhostelsinknoiseterraceseville
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 170 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Paying a very reasonable rate you do not expect luxury however this old Pension is situated in a really grand style of building with high ceilings which I like. The room I stayed in also had a kettle and cups etc which is most unusual in my experience of staying in less expensive places in Spain. I was housed in a room overlooking the narrow alley above the front entrance and becasue of summer I kept the french windows open and of course was woken by the early morning chatters down below outside. I could have spent another hour in bed ! It is close to the main busier streets of old Cadiz. I was particularly please to find a local Cerveceria which serves tapas and other more substantial dishes and was good value for lunch. Friendly service and would go again. Had some Rabo de Toro and a beer (large) for 7.50. Name of place Bodegon Riojano. Turn left out of Pension the right at main street and just a few metres on right. But there are many choices for eats in Cadiz. The staff at the Pension were most friendly .

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on front can be a bit noisy in summer with windows open. On other hand it is nice to feel part of Cadiz.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This pension is a beautiful old Spanish building so you really have a lot of character and charm. Wifi is only available in downstairs lobby, not in rooms. Bathrooms are VERY small, shared and separate (shower on one end of the hall, toilet on the other) but we never had to wait to use one. There was a sink & mirror in the room which was helpful for washing face, brushing teeth, etc. Great location in the city but only expensive parking if you drive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissF0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This pension in old Cadiz is very charming, though our individual room was bit characterless. The walls also seemed a bit thin, but there was no problems trying to sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location cannot be better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinterNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we arrived lately in cádiz (after midnight), therefore, we decided to get a room quickly in the casco histórico. the pensión españa had a room for us for 40 euro with a communal bathroom. the toilet wasn't included though (??), actually we didn't find one inside of the bathroom. the furnishing of the room was very simple, one of the matresses was saggy. as we wanted to leave the pensión again to carry our baggage to the hotel the door was locked. the receptionist told us in a rather unkind way to pay for the room immediately otherwise she wouldn't open the door for us. we left one passport at the reception for we hadn't enough money with us. i think it should be sufficient to leave the passport dates at the reception (as we did shortly after our arrival) and pay the next day.
anyway: we could sleep, the shower worked (although there wasn't sth like showergel or soap for us). wlan only in the lounge. if you like to have a very simple room in the center of cádiz for the beginning of your journey, the pensión españa could be a choice but we really can`t recommand this guesthouse for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ideal place for a romantic trip! Beautiful room and comfortable bed. Very clean, wonderful fresh smell when we entered the Pension. Nice and helpful service. We felt in the place as at home. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 278qbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews