We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs”
Review of Salicornia

Salicornia
Ranked #20 of 671 Restaurants in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $68
Description: Restaurant in the center of Cadiz, Market cuisine, Slow food, where we take care of the product as the main protagonist of the kitchen Chef Juan Höhr. Fish of Cadiz, meats of the Spanish territory and recipes with Asian touches. Extensive and selected wine list gourmet desserts.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant in the center of Cadiz, Market cuisine, Slow food, where we take care of the product as the main protagonist of the kitchen Chef Juan Höhr. Fish of Cadiz, meats of the Spanish territory and recipes with Asian touches. Extensive and selected wine list gourmet desserts.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

We had:

Homemade Sangria -> Best Sangria in Town / Price ok

Ensalada de Tomates -> Way to much salt! / 12 Euro are way too much!!!!

Tartar Atún con helado ponzo (Red tuna) -> very very good!!! / Price (22 Euros) high but ok...

Pulpo Braseado -> The olive oil over the squid was very bitter. It was sad because the squid was made quite good. / 29 Euros are way to much!!

Carabinero-> Very good, but one Carabinero was too little / 18.60 Euro for one carabinero is to much!!!

All in all the food was good, but nothing special for these high prices. High prices = high expectations!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 850dominikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant with good service, but being a non fish eater, there was little choice. However my wife and I both opted for steak which was purchased by weight. We shared a starter and when the twos steaks arrived they were individually sliced.they were cooked perfectly.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank PeterLeggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

After seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to give it a go. Pleasant surroundings and attentive staff. The menu lists the price of everything except for the meat. These prices are presented via a slateboard as if the had come down from Mount Sinia that very morning. Steaks were from varios locations around Europe but the nearest "local" steak was the chuletón from Galicia. Living in the Basque Country we buy similar fare at 37€ per kilo - here 90€. So, for the first time in my life I walked out of a restaurant. Had they displayed the prices beforehand I would not have walked in. We found a fantastic place shortly after at "Basque" prices.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Shearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

A really great restaurant, amazing steak and sides. The mushroom rice was incredible. All the staff were super friendly and the chef was a really nice guy. Highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 78justinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Helpful staff, no grumpy faces like those in the plazas. Food is real quality. Steak is cooked perfectly. Even the prices are reasonable given the quality of food. Everything is there to share, so be aware when ordering. You can do a shared starter, fish, then steak if you want. Great place with a good selection of wines. Small, so make sure you book.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank AndrewKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salicornia also viewed

Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Salicornia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing