We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Come back to the Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atrium at San Roque

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cadiz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Atrium at San Roque
Save
You added The Atrium at San Roque to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Cadiz
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Come back to the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we think that a 9 out of 10, remember that this building was built in 1880, and has character that goes with the age. San Roque is a town that was born from the cause of Spain loosing Gibraltar, to the English in 1705, since them there is some old houses in the Andalusia stile, The Atrium was a General House and cuartel military from the time it was built till 1950, since 1950 it change to a Court house with a Judge living in the Building, till 1975, them it became a posada, o low cost accommodate, now is a Hostal and has change a lot to accommodate the new standard of living. The position of the Town is great since is in a hill and a very good view can been seen all the way to Gibraltar and the bay of Algeciras, as well since it is in the main highway you could travel easily to other parts of area without any trouble.

Room Tip: Room at the front are big with big balcony as well views, but expect some noise from the street, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Spain with our 2 children (5 & 7) in early June. Very recently changed ownership. Great location in a wonderful old Spanish town, close to Gibraltar (15-20 mins drive). Owner made every effort to make us feel comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful old house with wonderful artwork. Very good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

What a fantastic opportunity to stay in a piece of history. Very clean and respectable. A welcoming feeling of comfort and hospitality. Upon arrival Mike & Jean the owners could not of been helpful and accomodating. Mike offer a total insight to history that lay within the walls of his hotel, an amazing story of time and important people who have residered there and the history of the building, Mike also was very helpful with his knowledge of Costa Del Sol surrounding areas and Gibraltar. The streets were full of life, laughter and colour, the local were extremly friendly and had such a sence of community that felt from children to the elderly. You can not pass anyone on the street without the kind feeling that you are welcome followed by a smile & Hola (hello in spanish). You could spend many a day exploring all the beautiful churches, bulidings and the vast choice of places to eat sit and drink coffee Liche (milk) in spanish. The Atrium hotel is very central and convient, public transport is at your finger tips, easy access. We total enjoyed our short stay, and have all the entension to return very soon. A big thanks to Mike & Jean for creating fantastic life long memories.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisasimpson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Absolutly rubbish, hostel charging hotel prices. Also after a two months stay and spending about 2000€ there 4 hours after I moved out they though away some exspensive jean s and other clothes, that I had fogotton and I was going back for the next day. Also not like by any of the locals I met.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattTrousdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

Mojacar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

The parking was a nightmare had to park several streets away. Stayed here recently and found it rather dull and dismal. We were in rooms at the rear with no view, found ladies underwear on the back of the bathroom door, which I returned to the owner, couldn't wait to leave, In fact our friends wanted to leave the moment we arrived because it was so depressing. Although Mike the owner was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PensionistaMojacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This was my first visit to the South of Spain and the Atrium was a fantastic base during my stay.

The Atrium is located within a typically Spanish area of streets in San Roque. There are plenty of bars fo drinks and tapas and I found the locals to be very, very friendly. The location is not far from the CA-34; which leads to La Linea and to the border crossing with the British territory, Gibraltar.

In the main, large lobby to the hotel is a large, comfortable seating area and also a water feature, complete with goldfish.

The hotel was previously a 19th Century Spanish General's residence and contains 12 guest rooms, largely en-suite with a few having a shared bathroom. There is a large dining room for breakfast and also a fully stocked bar. The rooms to the rear of the property have views of the surrounding hills and distant countryside.

The room had a large bedroom and an en-suite bathroom with a shower and small bath. The bedroom consisted of a large bed (made from two large singles), a large wardrobe, bed-side table and a dressin table. Tucked away in another cupboard was a decent sized fridge which was fantastic for storing of bottled water.

Throughout my stay, the owner Jean, was very welcoming and helpful.

Would recommend this hotel to all, but would suggest a respect to the hotel and it's location - please be respectful of the neighbouring properties and residents.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JusticeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
50.5 mi away
Hotel Meson Fuente del Pino
48.6 mi away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#20 of 30 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
55.5 mi away
Francia y Paris
Francia y Paris
#16 of 30 in Cadiz
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
3.3 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
54.2 mi away
Barcelo Cadiz
Barcelo Cadiz
#8 of 30 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium at San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium at San Roque

Property: The Atrium at San Roque
Address: Calle Coronel Moscoso 3, 11360 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing