We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy, the owners are rude”
Review of Hostal Centro Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Centro Sol
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were two friends spending a few days of Carnaval in Cadiz, we could find another thing in the town. Hostal was perfect location, that its the only good thing about it.
Rooms are very small, bathroom also, we could not manage good how to place our staff.
The worst thing that I experience was the noise they had in the hostal, worst thing was that it came from the hostal staff, not the people who was staying there. They were screaming at each other in the hall and we could ear everything. One morning also at 10 in the moring the were doing some kind of work at the walls...
I love Cadiz, but I wont go again to Centro Sol for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelenRZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

I know it's called a hostal but in Spain that doesn't mean it's a dorm room or sub standard accommodations. Centro Sol is great, is a good value, clean and is family run. It's also in a great location and is quiet. It has air conditioning which will also cut down on any hall noise or doors closing, always a plus.

Room Tip: I would say an upper storey room is always preferable, but the hostal is down a narrow street so str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I booked Centro Sol a couple of days before going to Cadiz and then read all the reviews that said how bad it was.....arrived slightly fearful of what I'd let myself in for, I was pleasantly surprised that the staff were really friendly. Admittedly our room didn't have an outside window (as I said we booked it late, and Cadiz was full) but it had effective air con, a powerful shower and was clean.

The rooms are located around a central patio, but noise wasn't a problem, however only the front rooms have a balcony/windows onto the street. The hostal is very centrally located (close to the Cathedral), so makes a great base for exploring the city, just make sure you get a good map from tourist info.

It may not be the best value but August is high season in Cadiz and this is still one of the cheapest places to stay. I would book here again, but ask for a room with a balcony next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thinktoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

People at reception were very rude and unhospital. they even didn't say thank you when we paid; once, we were coming back to the hostel from the beach, we entered and the owner, instead of telling us "hi" as he should do, he shouted us: "what do you want, the hostel is complete!" the rooms were small, and the window was overlooking on a horrible, little and dirty atrium. the unique positive side was the ubication in the very center of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Amazingly central location that was completely spoilt by the noise - all the rooms lead off one central atrium that echoed through the flimsy doors and basically prevented me from sleeping for our stay. The owner was unnecessarily grumpy (I hate to think how rude he would have been if we couldn't speak Spanish), and it wasn't particularly good value for money. Only stay here if it's a last resort and you can't find anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everwanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Never have I encountered two people less suited to their profession - the concept of hospitality seems lost on the primitive pair of brutes who rule this shabby roost. I have no doubt that sitting all day in this stinking place might affect one’s mood, but that is no excuse for their behaviour. Initial unfriendliness soon descended into rudeness and was verging on the outright hostile by the time of our departure.

If this doesn’t put you off, consider these:

-You will be charged if you check out even a few minutes late;

-The beds are not only five feet long but are also covered with thick plastic incontinence sheets;

-The oppressive stench of human sewage pervades the entire hostel;

-The windows of many rooms open onto a tiny internal air shaft. This means no natural light, no fresh air and having to sleep to the echoes of people’s visits to the lavatory.

Centro Sol is also a particularly poor choice if you happen to hail from England. It was implied that, being English, we deserved bad treatment, as Brute Number 1 had experienced unfriendliness in Britain many years ago. It is unclear whether such grudges are held against citizens of other countries. However, I suggest you only go here if you're the kind of person who pays to be humiliated.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LeGrandRoutard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This so-called 'Hostel' is actually the stomping ground of really scary people who live every day of their lives enraged by the fact that they are still running a hostel when they would actually much prefer to be doing something else, ideally involving the opportunity to berate captive tourists but on some one else's property.

I can wholeheartedly re-inforce the above reviewer's sentiment regarding this hostel. the owners are big and scary and the rooms are small and smelly. the room cleaning lady was actually nice, but she didn't get on with the big guys either. my room also smelt of bad drains (as did the shower water) and the loos are laid out so that almost everyone in rooms around the central area can hear what every one else is 'getting up to' on their loo.

further, the owners like to shout and play radio and argue amongst themselves (when there aren't any tourists around to pick on), especially early in the morning. and be careful not to answer back in spanish if they speak to you in english. apparently this is a well-renowned sign of dis-respect.

However, Cadiz is AWESOME so do go, but whatever you do don't stay here.....unless you are into being intimidated by your hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AAGillLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
7.1 mi away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#16 of 28 in Cadiz
141 reviews
63.8 mi away
Hotel Meson Fuente del Pino
0.2 mi away
Bahia Hotel
Bahia Hotel
#15 of 28 in Cadiz
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regio 2
Hotel Regio 2
#18 of 28 in Cadiz
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Regio Cadiz
Hotel Regio Cadiz
#12 of 28 in Cadiz
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francia y Paris
Francia y Paris
#19 of 28 in Cadiz
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Centro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Sol

Address: Calle Manzanares 7, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: $57 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Centro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Sol cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing