We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tapas - mix of locals and tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balandro

Balandro
Ranked #14 of 546 Restaurants in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tapas - mix of locals and tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a really good tapas dinner here. The intention had been to do a 'tape' around a few places, but this was good enough that we didn't move. Bustling and full of a range of ages, locals and tourists. We couldn't believe the bill when we got it - much lower than other places we'd be to in Andalucia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    664
    178
    66
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz
1 review
“Appalling service downstairs with no staff training in food or wine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

31 May. Reservation made based on hotel recommendation. Waiter was dreadful. No knowledge of wine or food. Not remotely interested in making recommendations or suggesting local specialities. Slapped food on the table. Spilt soy sauce that came with Sashimi starter on the table. No effort to clean it up! Cold starters brought out before wine even chosen! Tried to take starter plates away before we even finished them! Unbelievable experience. Food was fine but service, atmosphere and experience were the worst experienced in Cadiz.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesdegustations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten in Balandro last year, we were really looking forward to going there again!! How a year can change an opinion!!! Cold indifferent service by a very unfriendly lady set the tone for the evening.... We asked for her recommendations from the Bar Menu (tapas) and were told that she "didn't know' half the dishes we ordered were unavailable and the first four wines we chose were also "off". Food was very disappointing and we will not be rushing back to this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Lynno43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food but oversized portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We sat at a table - the bar eating experience may be different. Food was good - with lots of fish choices - but portions ridiculously large and therefore the bill was much bigger than we expected. Price per kilo is probably fine but we couldn't finish what we ordered. So I'd recommend one starter per two people and one main per two people. The waiters should have told us we were ordering too much (and for the record, we each ordered one starter and one main).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked a table here during Semana Santa.Food was good but the service was cold and frosty and far too quick .Our main courses arrived and were just plonked on the table while my wife was in the middle of her starter!!Staff seemed to be more concerned with clearing and reselling tables than in the diners' comfort.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kildareman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balandro also viewed

Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Balandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing