We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a really nice time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marea

La Marea
Ranked #48 of 536 Restaurants in Cadiz
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a really nice time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We sat inside cause it was still a bit chilly at night. Order the sopa de mariscos it's super tasty. And then we ordered ensalada mixta and i wanna say it was merluza con gambas y ajo. This dish was superb. Had a really enjoyable meal here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank internationalworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    168
    55
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!! Apuesta Rapido”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely restaurant in a great position. We asked a taxi driver to take us to a nice restaurant with sea views. He delivered us to Mariscos La Marea. We were told to choose our seat which we did and chose pole position over looking the sea. We had a lovely meal and drinks but when the bill arrived there were extras totalling another 70% of the bill. I questioned what "apuesta rapido" was on the bill and was told it was because we had chosen to sit in the sun on the front line tables. After questioning this the extra was removed. It left a bad taste because I could quite easily have paid the bill with only looking at the bottom line.

I also wish I had sat two rows back because after 3 hours eating and drinking in the sun I burnt my head.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank costakid1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marea M, Gerente at La Marea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
From La Marea we have been surprised with your comment, of which we are very grateful.
So thas this not happen again we please need more information (name, appearance,..of the waiter,.number of the bill, invoice amount...).
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off- Check your bill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a fantastic meal at this restaurant BUT unfortunately the waiter had added 85.50 euros to our bill for no reason at all. When we questioned this he apologised and it changed to 8.50 euros. When we questioned this again he said it was because we had sat in the sun......... What a rip off. We had consumed red wine and we think he thought that we would not have noticed. WATCH YOUR BILL. How narrow minded? Rip us off and we won't come back......You will be out of work.........make a choice?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chica759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marea M, Gerente at La Marea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
From La Marea we have been surprised with your comment, of which we are very grateful.
So thas this not happen again we please need more information (name, appearance,..of the waiter,.number of the bill, invoice amount...).
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Good for a drink and cheap breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped here for a few drinks on a lovely July evening. Gin and Tonics excellent. Also had a quick breakfast (coffee and toasted sandwich) one morning. Service efficient and friendly with lovely view of the sea (as most beach bars do i guess!)

Meals looked ok but this looks a drinks and lunch spot to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Not a good experience! Stunning setting, but that was about it. Went for a lunch time meal with 5 family members. Not one meal was of good standard. 2 meals served were incorrect (we had a fluent Spanish speaker with us), the portions were abysmal. I'm sure they can do better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freshwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marea also viewed

 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to La Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing