We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but you pay for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

A superb location in the old town only a 10 minute walk from the main sights. The plus is that is has a pool, one of very few in the old town but as the title says you do pay for it! 11 Euros for a Bacardi and coke was a little on the high side but hey you're on holiday! You have 2 eating options on site, either the restaurant or you can choose from the Tapas menu whilst taking drinks in the courtyard where you can also have dinner. The tapas is amazing and we dined this way on all 3 nights we stayed. The staff are excellent, extremely friendly and genuine. Unfortunately on the 3rd night the service was a little slow as they were having a Flamenco night in the restaurant which we found strange that we were not informed of until the evening. Not that we would have attended as we aren't into that audience participation thing especially as we caught a glimpse of a fellow guest thinking they could do the Flamenco, oh dear. The pool is a massive plus especially after a mornings sight seeing, but it can get busy in late afternoon so would advise you get back about 2 ish to secure a good spot. We booked a junior Suite and weren't disappointed. Amenities replaced every day, superb bathroom with rain forest shower, very comfortable beds and turndown. If you are driving it's not too hard to find if you have Sat Nav but the road we needed was closed so we had to call the hotel and they sent someone to come in the car with us. Be aware very narrow streets, so could be off putting for some drivers. All in all an excellent hotel and highly recommend but be prepared to empty your wallet!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrfleetAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

A very nice hotel, at a very good location. Very quiet area, but only 10-15 minutes walk, to the main sites, and to the shopping area. The staff was very helpful and polite. Our room was large, well designed and furnished. The only reject that I have is about the breakfast buffet. There are no vegetables at all and no white cheese, but although that, breakfast was very good. We will recommend it, to everyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L17S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I are lucky enough to have stayed in quite a few hotels around the world but this one has to be in the top 5 if not the best!

The room (number 12) was incredible. Absolutely huge, very well designed and furnished and despite the 35+ degrees heat outside, stayed very cool - and so so quiet - by far the nicest room we've ever stayed in.

We didn't eat at the hotel during our stay, but spent some time at the outside pool which was very idyllic.

On top of all this, the service was top class. Every member of staff we met was friendly, professional and always incredibly helpful whenever we needed help.

The one negative, as other reviewers have pointed out, is that the wi-fi didn't work at all during our stay. This was a shame, but as everything else was as close to perfect as possible, I can't hold this one fault spoil the experience at all.

An amazing hotel in an amazing city!

Room Tip: Room 12 was incredible! Huge and very cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I loved this hotel. Great rooms, fantastic staff that went the extra mile and seemed to care (they also smiled a lot which I liked). The food was as good as top end dining in London. The pool area was quite and relaxing. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre and major attractions but is in a quiet, safe and accessible location.
WiFi was a bit slow but didn't affect my very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I think this was one of the most pleasant places I have ever stayed in. Not perfect, but what is?

The main positives for me were -
- the best welcome to a hotel ever. What good customer care skills. Luggage was taken discreetly to room, with no fuss or tip expectation awkwardness, while we were checking in. Plied with citrus flavoured water. Very calm and attentive. Followed by tour of the hotel and spa.
- the courtyard with pool, citrus trees and soothing music (not Muzak!). Pool refreshing though not heated. This is a very calm and relaxing place to spend time. Amazingly quiet considering nearness to town centre. Waiters serve drinks and food, seeming to appear from nowhere, and then blend away again, without making you feel like you should have something.
- the food. We ate there two nights, one with the tapas menu and one with the restaurant menu. Both were good, but the restaurant menu meal was particularly good and very 'master chef' styley.
- the spa. I was tempted to a facial. Am a little disappointed that i look no younger! But my skin feels softer. There are also Roman style baths, but I didn't try those.
- Customer service. As above. This carried on being superb.
- Roman remains. there is the remains of a Roman villa under the hotel. The restaurant has glass floor looking down on original mosaic. We went on the tour that takes place at 3.30 each day - worth a quick look.
- the room. Tastefully furnished, a decent size and nice bathroom. bath robes. Cool.
- communal areas around the hotel both inside and out. Lots of beautiful spaces to hang around and do nothing.

What could have been better?
- shower. A bit fiddly and really a hand shower that you could put on the wall bracket
- wifi very patchy and slow
- key to room door difficult to open
- many hotels of this quality provide free water in the room, and this didn't

Room Tip: Some are near the reception/restaurant and some further away. Depends on what you like. We were fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautifully redone, quiet and serene oasis in the middle of Cordoba. Short walk to all the restaurants and sightseeing. The history breaths through you in this palace. The breakfast setting was gorgeous, with the historical floor under us. We opted for one dinner in the hotel, service was on the slower side in the courtyard (and completely ignored by the pool) but we were in no rush - just enjoyed the setting. Loved the room, modern and great bathroom. Beautiful visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very pleasant hotel, nice location and setting. Staff very helpful and attentive. Car parking is expensive but given lack of public parking nearby this is unavoidable. Well located for 15 minute walk to main sights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank hertfordblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Gerente at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience with other travellers, and give us the opportunity to thank you again for having chosen Hospes Palacio del Bailio during your stay in Cordoba.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

V. Timsonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
1,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#3 of 65 in Cordoba
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madinat
Hotel Madinat
#1 of 65 in Cordoba
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: $157 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing