We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic yet modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved the whole experience with a friendly welcome and excellent facilities including courtyard swimming pool and underground baths. An excellent blend of heritage and designer mod cons. The rooms are beautifully done and there is valet parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brammmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This beautiful modern re-working of a historic building encloses a courtyard garden restaurant and pool area where you could happily while away the hours without even bothering to visit the historic sights of medieval Cordoba. The dining room (where breakfast is also served) has a glass floor with the ruins of a Roman villa (including mosaic floor) below. Worth staying for that alone! The whole place exudes style and glamour. Make sure you negotiate a good room though. We booked well in advance and got a good deal. Only one small niggle - there is a noticeable shortage of staff and you have to agitate for service in the bar, lounge, outside areas and even on Reception at times (which is not a criticism of individual staff members). It's a shame as service is key to the true luxury experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aethelthryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed with a friend at the hotel for four nights in August 2013.

We had booked a junior suite. The room was lovely and so much bigger than we had expected. The furnishings were tasteful and contemporary. The room was very clean and housekeeping was reliable and friendly.

The hotel is a beautifully converted property. It feels intimate but with all of the facilities that you would expect of a five star hotel.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The hotel is a little way out of the historical centre of the city but is within walking distance.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Book a longer stay for a discounted rate. Book breakfast in advance for a discount. Use the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A converted Palace. Opened about 6 years ago. The rooms and bathrooms were huge, tall ceilings, and more than adequate. The dinning area has a glass floor which allows you to see the Roman remains ( quite extensive) whilst you feast on the extra ordinary range of things on offer at breakfast. The recreated roman bath was good fun. We didn't use the outdoor pool as it was quite crowded but the atmosphere was very relaxed and tranquil. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk or so from the centre but that's no real hardship. If you are driving by car the hotel can arrange to securely park your car ( fee 20+ euro/ night). It's a real labyrinth getting there but luckily the hotel is well sign posted. Sat nav. is largely useless and should be followed with great caution.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was an excellent hotel in all its ways. The rooms were excellent and comfortable although being in a town a little noisy in the morning , and they were digging up the street outside. The service was very good and the staff were extremely helpful. We ate in the hotel on the first night and had breakfast in the morning. My advise is that it is much cheaper and better quality to go out for meals there are many local restaurants and tapas bars within walking distant that are excellent.
The pool area was beautifully set although the age old problem of not enough beds to cater for the number of hotel guests. The roman baths were refreshing and great to use within the hotel, lunch in the garden was again superb. Location is excellent for seeing Cardoba although the heat in mid august can be a little debilitating.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Not at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for one night in this hotel. The setting is amazing-the dining room has a clear floor enabling you to see through to the roman villa below.

As Cordoba is so hot during the afternoon, the courtyard complete with orange trees and pool is the perfect place to relax-which we did.

We also took the opportunity to use the Roman baths which were far more than we envisaged.

This is an amazing hotel, it's a great setting with friendly staff. We have also stayed with Hospes in Granada and Seville and love the character of the buildings the hotels occupy. This is one of the best.

The only negative point about this hotel is the distance from the Cathedral (15-20 mins on foot), but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garbsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read such a nice comment! We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience with other travellers, and give us the opportunity to thank you again for having chosen Hospes Palacio del Bailio during your stay in Cordoba.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the land of Al-Andalus.

V. Timsonet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived till we left 2 days later, we very much enjoyed this beautiful boutique hotel in the center of Cordoba. Very friendly and helpful staff (at reception, at breakfast, at lunch and the pool area, they all have service top of mind, it's just amazing).
We did go out for dinner (15 mins walk to the old center), but both lunch and breakfast are delicious (do stay in for breakfast, it's worth it).
This historic place is beautifully decorated (modern luxury with an 'old touch'). The room we stayed in was beautiful with all 'equipment' you expect from a 5 stars hotel.
The garden area (with swimming pool) is rather small but a fantastic spot to hang out after you have been out to discover the city. When people return during 'siesta' it turns out to be busy at the pool and a bit hard to find some shade (a few more umbrellas could help...).
Overall : fantastic place to stay, just book, you will see. And when you plan your trip, don't book more then 2 nights when you only plan to visit Cordoba. Nice historic city but you walk it all in a day (worth to go anyway).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
1,043 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#11 of 65 in Cordoba
2,542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#3 of 65 in Cordoba
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madinat
Hotel Madinat
#1 of 65 in Cordoba
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: $154 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing