We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Truly Stunning Hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We fell in love with this hotel as well as the town of Cordoba and word of warning..you will too! Gorgeous and utterly relaxing hotel with lovely stylish rooms. The breakfast was magnificent. Location was hard to beat. But best of all, are the staff. They were some of the best hotel staff we have ever encountered. I owe particular gratitude to the American gentleman on reception who was so helpful and kind when I was having problems with one of my credit cards (I'd forgotten the pin!), because of this i spent more time than I usually would hanging around reception and was seriously impressed with how he and his colleagues dealt with all the different guests. Truly stunning hotel and I cannot wait to revisit some day.

Room Tip: I would be confident that all rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRoseyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    286
    73
    25
    19
See reviews for
223
990
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved our stay although next time we will stay longer. Staff were super friendly and helped us book restaurants and change spa times. We will not bother looking for another hotel and we plan to come back to Cordoba in the next few months. The restaurant was spectacular, we had both dinner and breakfast. I would highly recommend both, the restaurant has a glass floor and at night you have runes below that are lit up. The restaurant has also been suggested by the Michelin guide. I have attempted to take some pictures of the restaurant floor, but its really hard. The staff were great, we did not manage to finish our bottle of cava during dinner, and the waiter offered to keep it behind the bar for us, the following day when we asked about it, it was quick to locate and still bubbly.

Room Tip: If we are staying a few days I would upgrade rooms, our smaller room had no real view, just a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent part of Easter 2010 here so experienced a few days of Santa Semana including amazing Processions.
The hotel was fabulous, excellent stylish facilities and good service from the Armani clad models in the place. Rooms were very reasonably priced and were extremely well kitted out. We ate in and around the fascinating city so can't comment on anything other than breakfast which was normal high 5* standard.
In short, excellent hotel yet a little bit out of the really beautiful old part of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On arrival, we were made to feel that we were staying in a special place where every member of staff tries their best to make guests feel relaxed and welcome. We have stayed in other 5 star hotels around the world. This one has an understated feel to it, but that appeals to our particular taste. We enjoyed dinner on our first evening and the quirkiness of a restaurant sited above Roman ruins.Our room was OK but the attentions of our maid, who put rose petals in the room and who turned back the sheets, made it feel special. Public areas for relaxing with a drink have a pleasant ambience, although some of the garden furniture is showing its age. Staff in all departments could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcrone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hotel. Possible the best in Cordoba but two lapses in service which I cannot accept.

1) Despite having asked for eggs and bacon twice at breakfast it did not arrive. I eventually left hungry!

2) This lapse is far for more serious - My wife left a small cosmetic bag in the hotel. We e mailed the hotel later the same day to ask them to send it on to us. ( the contents being of some value).

We have not even had a courtesy reply!

We know the items are in the hotel and we are incredibly disappointed by the total lack of response.

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT GREAT SERVICE

If you are the Manager of the hotel and you are reading this - please do feel free to comment and to get in touch. We would really like to know what you have done with our possessions!!!!!!!!

Date of stay 14th February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phildibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Dibbs,

As you can see, I personally read each comment made by our guest, because I consider this is the only way to really improve our service.

I am very sorry for the incident mentionned in the restaurant, I can assure you that we will revise our procedures to be sure this situation will not happen again.

About the lost handbag, we sent you an e-mail on February 23th, but I suppose that you did not receive it. Actually, I have personally checked this matter with our Rooms Department and Front Desk supervisor, but we did not find any information about the lost handbag in our records. Our team is really very professional and I have no explanation for this.

I personally hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion in order to restore confidence in our service.

Kind regards,

Veronique Timsonet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Its by far one of the best hotels we've stayed at. From the moment we checked in Laura at reception was welcoming, friendly and helpful as were all the other staff who greeted us upon our arrival. After a long day of travelling , we instantly felt relaxed and welcomed as soon as we walked through the door.
The hotel itself was beautiful. Its not often that photos on the website dont do the hotel justice , but in this instance , this was the case. As soon as you step in to the hotel, walk through the grand archways and through the gorgeous , lush green spanish garden your instantly transported to another world and truelly feel that your in a Spanish palace.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to deluxe room, which was beautifully decorated, spacious and very clean.
The buffet breakfast was wonderful, with a great variety of delicous , high quality pastries, spanish cheeeses & meats , fruits and cereals an just about everything else you could want for breakfast. The breakfast room was a lovely,bright , vast atrium. The ambience and friendly and attentive staff really made a great start to each day.
The Roman baths in the spa were a great way to unwind at the end of the day.
I couldnt fault this hotel and couldnt recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edsiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic and detailed comment about our service.
Indeed, the food quality is our priority; fresh, homemade and, most of the time, organic poroducts!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards,


V. Timsonet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoy Córdoba and needed a rest so we booked one night in the Palacio del Bailo. We parked in the public underground lot and walked to the hotel. It´s nestled in some small streets so a gps or phone is suggested. The reception was professional and cordial. The fruit flavored drink was a nice touch. The decor was trendy to say the least, but nicely done. Our room (131) was very pleasant, with a small balcony to the street, king bed, desk, bathroom and closet. The TV was on the small side and the channel selection was a bit of a disappointment; a dozen or so fuzzy digital broadcast channels without the ability to switch to another language. The bathroom was nicely done with lots of glass, two sinks, and a full bath, a little short on horizontal spaces for bathroom articles. The concierge assured us that the Mosque was a 10 minute walk. I knew this to be a subject of debate on TA so we tested it. We strolled without stopping or entering any shops and arrived at the Mosque in 14 minutes. I´m sure it could be done in ten if you were power walking and there weren´t a lot of people on the sidewalks. We found the bed to be oh, so comfy with the rose petals and very high grade sheets. The room was warm when we got there so we turned the heat off right away. Even with the heat off we were hot so we opened the balcony doors and that did the trick. The spa was wonderful. Three small pools, around 6 feet by five with the lukewarm one stretching out through a tunnel to a larger pool where you can swim laps. One of the pools was quite hot and the other cold. We enjoyed this so much that we reserved it again to be refreshed after breakfast the following day. My wife enjoyed a back massage with Cristina and could not say enough about how good it was. It was only 20 minutes but she insisted it was the best she had ever had. The breakfast was a treat. More pastries and better than most pastry shops, peeled and sliced fruit, sandwiches, high end Serrano ham and chorizo, crepes, amazing cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fresh juices, champagne, fresh made coffee; it just went on and on. For 4 euros the chef will prepare eggs, etc to your taste. All the food was of the best quality and very tasty. There was even raw salmon for the Scandinavians. To sum up, we absolutely loved our mini break at the Bailio. From the perspective of someone who usually doesn´t stay in 5 star hotels, and from someone who knows that good service can be hard to find in this country, I unashamedly rate this hotel as EXCELLENT. Total price for one night for room, spa, breakfast, and massage; €200.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#1 of 65 in Cordoba
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Property: Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing