We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Boutique Palace !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Boutique Palace !”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It rained constantly for our three days in Cordoba, so we were lucky to be staying in this spacious comfortable modernised old building. The spa was very good with the most unusual underground spa pool, not for serious swimming but pleasant. The bar was cool and served reasonable tapas, the lounge areas were delightful. We had booked a junior suite and had a very minor issue, not a complaint, but we were immediately upgraded to a huge palatial suite with historical wall murals , good pr. The local area is charming, if a little further from the centre than we''d imagined and too far to walk in the rain.
We enjoyed our stay, it's a delightful hotel with very pleasant helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    278
    70
    22
    18
See reviews for
204
924
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here in June and it made a superb holiday location right in the Old City allowing us to explore on foot.

One of the amazing things about the hotel is the glass floored dining room looking down onto the old Roman ruins. Make sure you go into the cellar Hot Spa and have a thorough relax.

The Swimming Pool is a little small and the pool area was quite full when we visited.

Our bedroom was fantastic over the gate into the hotel courtyard.

Remember to say "When" when you order a G&T, nearest and dearest had to help out as was the size of a small gold fish bowl!

Had beautiful dinner in the restaurant and ate out in a local street restaurant.

Was a little tricky to find need to do a good recce on Streetview and don't take a big car! Hotel staff sometimes have to come out and rescue visitors that cannot make the turns.
Luckily we'd hired a Mini!! Definately felt like the Italian Job at times.

Hope you enjoy your stay! Staff very professional and friendly.

We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: One over the Gate for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely lovely stay. The hotel is very well situated (within walking distance of the historical center), very quiet (I had a room with a view on the internal patio) and full of charm (impressive renovation of an historical location - i;e. a Roman villa then an aristocrat Palace).
The staff is friendly and always willing to assist. Breakfast is a treat.
I definitely recommand this place for a city trip in Cordoba.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such a nice comment! We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience with other travellers, and give us the opportunity to thank you again for having chosen Hospes Palacio del Bailio during your stay in Cordoba.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a pleasure. Amazing old building, a kind of maze of rooms but in a very nice way. The room was good size but had very high (12') ceiling which made it seem more spacious, and the bathroom was well done. Great design/artwork/amenities. The staff here were all very helpful, spoke several languages, and just pleasant. I did not eat here, so cannot comment on the restaurant. The location is very good, so close to the old center of town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially couples, it is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience at the Palacio del Bailio with other travellers.

Hospes Palacio del Bailio, built between the XV and XVI century, is located right in the historical heart of the Caliphate’s city (declared a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage), close by the Mosque, masterpiece of the Occidental Islamic Art.
The Palace has a courtyard with a glass floor that reveals the impressive remains of a Roman villa ( I century B.C.), valuable original paintings and surrounded by a lush rare-plants garden.
Hospes Palacio del Bailio has been awarded Best Boutique Hotel Europe, 2008 (Prix Villégiature, Paris).

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel just for one night and we rather wish it had been more. The highlights? The staff were excellent - very friendly and attentive, particuarly Antonio, the Restaurant Manager, and the young people on reception, and the lovely man who showed us round the roman remains on which the hotel is built - and that's another highlight, as it is rather special to eat in a restaurant with a glass floor, so you can see the roman remains lit up while you eat. And the restaurant was another highlight for us, as we had the 7 course tasting menu which, by the time you had had a series of delicious amuse-bouches before your first course arrived, turned out to be more like an 11-course menu. And every dish was delicious, none more so than the fois gras with sensational apple foam with croustillants and pedro ximenez cariare - fantastic! And very good value at 60 euros each. Another highlight - the complimentary cava poured over an edible hibiscus flower; I was doubtful about this but it turned out to be delicious. On our second morning, we went down to the spa and enjoyed the modern version of a roman bath which nestles in the basement next to the old roman remains and is apparently where the old baths would have been. My wife had a massage too which she thoroughly enjoyed. Our room was decorated in a minimalist style and we were in two minds as to the appropriateness of this in an old palace. But our bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was beautifully done with deep bath and torrential shower, and there were lovely fluffy bathrobes to wear too. This mix of styles was evident throughout the hotel, and didn't always work - the antique-style, velour covered chairs next to the plain, wooden square tables in the restaurant looked weird, for example. The location of the hotel is great, though I recommend a sat nav if you are driving there. It is right in the middle of the old part of town so it is easy to access the mezquita, the jewish quarter with the rather sweet Casa Andalusi, and other historic sites. Overall, a great base from which to see a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimS2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you appreciated so much your stay at the Palacio del Bailio and specially the restaurant service. We shall pass on your compliments to Antonio Alonso and his team! Our Senzone Restaurant offers a varied culinary specialties based on the most natural, genuine and healthful products of Córdoba and its surrounding province, prepared by with the most modern culinary techniques.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Hospes, for an unique relaxing experience...

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here as the staff were friendly and welcoming. However there could be more reception staff on the day that we checked out.. Possibly because there was a meeting that morning?
The room itself was impressive, spacious although a little bit dark and unfortunately there was a sofa which had stains on which we were a bit surprised to see.
However, otherwise the hotel was lovely and clean with gorgeous decor. Most of all, we enjoyed the roman baths- just beautiful... and would come back to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestTraveller7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you appreciated so much your stay and the service at the Palacio del Bailio! We took into account your comment about the sofa, and be sure it has been resolved immediately.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location in the middle of Cordoba so ideal to explore the city. Lovely staff especially Joe the porter, concierge and reservation consultant! A hotel not especially good for families due to its layout and focus on couples. However, Joe made up for it and was so nice with our kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you take the time to share you experience at the Palacio del Bailio with other travellers, and I shall be delighted to pass on your compliments to Joey.

Indeed, the Palace is located in Cordoba's historical heart, close by the Jewish Quarter, the Beautiful Mosque and the commercial area.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a Hospes Hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#1 of 70 in Cordoba
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 70 in Cordoba
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 70 in Cordoba
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Property: Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing