We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but you need a satnav that can navigate through walls to find it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed one night in this hotel. It is close to the Mesquita cathedral which is an amazing attraction. The worst part was trying to find the hotel. It took us an hour of stress to find it navigating with a map and satnav so be warned if you are trying to drive there. The streets are incredibly narrow and tight and your satnav may well not work so you must have good directions and a map as backup. The hotel is only signposted from one direction. Once we had got there we were able to relax in a lovely room. The hotel is very stylish and sophisticated and the staff are welcoming and friendly. I agree with the comments of the previous reviewer about the dinner. It was disappointing and very expensive but the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrieradiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, General Manager at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about Hospes Palacio del Bailio.

The hotel is located in the historical center, close by the Roman Temple and the city hall. If you travel with GPS, we recommend you to drive to Plaza de Colón, and once you're there, follow the instructions and the map given on our web site.

For your convenience, please find on the main page of our web site, the directions on how to reach Hospes Palacio del Bailio.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed a short time in this amazing hotel in August 2012 at the height of the summer when temperatures were a sweltering 48 degrees celsius. This hotel was a wonderful oasis from the oppressive heat.The hotel is combination of old moorish/spanish influence (being a 16th century palace) and an ultra modern hotel with stylish fiittngs and furnitue. Our bedroom was large and spacious with vaulted ceilings, again with moorish effects on the windows and comfortable modern bathroom. The hotel has a lovely small garden full of orange trees with a beautiful swimming pool which is an excellent place to be in the heat. The dining room (where you take breakfast) is intriguing because through the glass floor you can see Roman ruins which lie beneath. There are other Roman influences in the hotel in the form of Roman baths which I highly recommend be experienced in a below ground cave. All the staff were warm and eager to please. It was a 20 minute walk to the Mesquita from the hotel. This is one of the best hotels in which I have stayed in Europe.
Travelled as a couple in August 2012.
Marcel K Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Slightly out of the very centre of Cordoba (20 minutes walk to the Mezquita) but a beautiful classy hotel.
Excellent staff.
Very good bedroom.
Lovely courtyard area with small pool.
Good breakfast.
We had one evening meal here but I have to say that, while it was OK, it was disappointing for the quality of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had a very comfortable room with excellent bathroom. The resturant was every good. The staff were very friendly and proffessional. The building is a beatiful old palace and is very quiet and a nice place to relax. I would reccommend it to anyone who would like peace and quiet in the middle of a city and within 15 min walk of the main sites of Cordoba.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel. My wife and I (late 20's) got married in Spain on the southern coast in Sept of 2012. After a week of craziness with family and friends we headed off on our own to relax and recuperate for a few days. It was suggested to us that Cordoba would be a nice place to go for a few days so we looked online and found this special hotel.

From the time we arrived it made such an impression on us, understated but elegant. Extremely engaging and welcoming staff.

Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious (not one of the nice huge suites on their website). We only had a small window overlooking the street at the front of the hotel, but we didn't mind - we'd gotten a good deal on the room and spent most of our time by the amazing pool outside in the courtyard!

The hotel is built around a central courtyard which is simply fantastic. Landscaped gardens mark out the distinctive areas in the courtyard - the sun loungers and sea water infinity pool and the outdoor dining area.

We spent most of our days relaxing on the sun loungers and in the pool. Towels are refreshed frequently and staff are at hand to deliver refreshments at a moments notice.

The Roman Baths in the Spa (under the hotel) are magnificent. Booking with the spa in advance is recommended but as far as I know all guests can use the Roman Baths for free. Descending down a spiral staircase into the Roman Baths was an experience in itself. Once down there are a number of baths in different temperatures which were lovely to relax and unwind in.

We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring instead to eat in local restaurants and cafe's in the streets surrounding the hotel.

If driving into Cordoba I'd highly recommend a GPS - finding the hotel without it would have been tricky given the maze of one way streets to get to the hotel.

Before our first day here was over we were planning when we might be able to return. Worth the 2 hour drive from Malaga to Cordoba just to spend a few days here.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kearnsey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I got a deal which I thought was too good to be true on this hotel, but actually it was all fine!

The hotel, as others have said, is really beautiful, with cool marble hallways and lush shady gardens with a refreshing pool. The decor is really lovely with beautiful velvet chaise-longues and cool contemporary artwork adorning the walls. Check out celing in the library - stunning.

We had a dreamer room which was bigger than I had expected, and the bed was lovely and comfortable.

Buffet breakfast (plenty of choice) was included though eggs were an extra 4 euros. They were good though! I'm afraid the toaster was one of the world's worst, a fan heater would have been more useful!

Staff were helpful and friendly but as others have mentioned, just slightly off the mark - no coffee refill when requested at breakfast and hard to find in the pool area when we wanted a drink.

The hotel is situated in a quiet area about 10 minute stroll from the Juderia and is probably the best in Cordoba in terms of luxury and style. Expensive yes, but look out for deals and it's worth evert penny.

Room Tip: The Dreamer room was fine and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Great rooms, really cosy and warm, great bathroom, especially a good shower (also good for tall men!!). The garden with the pool is a nice area to relax after you went into the city. Very nice staff, helpful, for us the best Hospes ever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#1 of 65 in Cordoba
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#3 of 65 in Cordoba
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: $172 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing