We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK once I changed rooms.”
Review of Santa Ana Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Ana Hostal
Ranked #8 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK once I changed rooms.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hostal was in a good location, only a few minutes walk from the Mezquita. The hostal was easy to get to using the bus from the train station and then a 5 minute walk from the bus stop - get on the line 3 bus and get off at the bus stop at the street Calle San Fernando. Walk down this street until you get to the next street on the right (Cardenal González).

The room was small, as was the shower. There was no luggage rack, though the room size would have made it tough to find space to lay luggage on a rack. The bed was firm and street noise was not an issue (my room was not facing the street, but i just think I had a quiet night of street activity and i wear earplugs). Internet is provided for free in the main lobby. There was also a small storage safe in the room. Overall i had a good night's sleep.

The staff was generally friendly and helpful. I did get a reply to my request for directions prior to my arrival, though i did have to send a second request. As well, the first room i was assigned had a live bedbug which I took to management (it was hiding where the bed leg connected to the boxspring; tell tale sign was initially finding an exoskeleton on the sheets); i also noticed a couple of other dead insects. I requested and was given another room, which was fine.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the main street and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    95
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
124
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed as a couple at this hostal. It is located in the old jewish quarter of cordoba and has small winding streets all round. The room was comfortable with a good a/c which was very good as it was 42 degree celsius outside! The staff spoke english which was good and they had a personalised map of the area.

It is located 5 minutes from cordoba mosque which is the main attraction we went to see. It is easily reachable by bus no.3 from cordoba bus station.

It was a good comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R_A_Siddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights and had asked for a quiet room. What we got was a small room on the 2nd floor, oriented towards the street. As the hostal is located very central (really fantastic), many people make their way through that street in the evening/night, so it was too noisy to open the windows during the night. You also hear more that you might want to hear from the neighbouring rooms. The room and bath were clean and furnished in a modern way (incl air condition, daily fresh towels. lots of storage space), but really small. Roof top terrace is inviting, breakfast comprises more than spanish standard. Staff is friendly and helpful, baggage can be stored on the day of arrival/departure in a separate room. Guest PC and Wi-Fi are available. All in all: At 80€/night I would not come back again due to narrowness and street noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderwunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just stayed here 2 nights together with my wife and we were extremely happy with this hostel. To be frank I've seen many hotels in the world and this "hostel" can easily compete with many 5* hotels. The room and bathroom were very clean. Very helpful lady at the reception who gave us great local advice incl. Good and cheap breakfast, dinner etc and "free" nearby parking. Just enter the district through the barriers as there is access provided for hotel guests. We dropped our bags and then parked a few houndred yards further for free. The hostel had free and fast wifi. There was attention to detail e.g. the bath towels etc. Also it is 3 min walk from the Mezquita. You cannot get a better service for this price!!! We can only recommend this place. Thanks for making our stay in Cordoba unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UfukFazilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

As many of the reviews have said a decent, clean and comfortable hotel, not luxurious, but given its only 2 mins walk from the Mezquita, a bargain. It also has secure parking down the road which was useful to us as we were touring with a small van which had lots of gear stored in it overnight.
Only complaint was the mix up when we arrived. we were put into the wrong room, and when we realised and pointed it out the receptionist rather blamed us, and was most unhelpful. Ironically our actual room was cheaper and better as faced inwards and so was quieter. Other staff we met were much more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for an inside room - no view but quiet and cooler - a must in Cordoba
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hihedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Decent hostal. Certainly not luxury but ok. Decent sized double bed room, in good condition. Location quite good for the mesquita, which was barely a block away. Good restaurants even closer. A reasonable cab ride from the train station.

Minimalist breakfast but ok.

Staff was civil and polite but not as friendly as any of the other hostal staffs we encountered on our trip from Barcelona through Andalusia ending in Madrid.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms in a neighborhood within walking distance of everything and friendly staff with good English. We got breakfast out, so I can't comment on the breakfast they offer, though it looked like a typical Euro breakfast--yogurt, meats, cheeses, croissant. We stayed three days and had two rooms: 106 is large, but on the street side and consequently noisy. Room 108 is on a quiet courtyard with its own postage-stamp terrace; slightly smaller room and slightly smaller bath, but still comfortable and very quiet. All beds are twins made up side-by-side, so if you're a snuggler be forewarned.

Room Tip: 108 is quiet and has a private terrace; 106 is generously-sized but street noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzmom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 65 in Cordoba
1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.4 mi away
NH Cordoba
NH Cordoba
#12 of 65 in Cordoba
2,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#17 of 65 in Cordoba
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ana Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ana Hostal

Property: Santa Ana Hostal
Address: Cardenal Gonzalez 25, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Santa Ana Hostal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Santa Ana Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Hostal Hotel Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing