We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de los Azulejos
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We liked this place very much. It has a very good location, just a 5 minute walk to the major shopping area at Plaza de las Tendillas, and another 10 minutes to the mosque-cathedral. There are good restaurants nearby. It is charming, like a palace with an interior courtyard. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice, but a bit noisy from outside street noises and from other rooms. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Casa de los Azulejos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I spent a night there in Feb 2014, and we very much enjoyed it. It is in the old city, so driving there was a little dicey, but only because I am used to American roads. The staff was great, the breakfast was super. Rooms were cleaner than other places we stayed, and the hotel has a good mix of style, character, and yet professionalism. The hotel was walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do, especially the Tapas! I would 100% recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for Eva. She's a gem.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This charming hotel is one of Cordoba's best kept secrets!
Its architecture is full of Andalusian history and splendor. Careful attention to detail is apparent everywhere; in communal areas like the welcoming reception and 'patio', full of tall luscious plants and natural light, the wonderful ample staircase, the comfortable breakfast room, and the very individual bedrooms, which are simply furnished but with well chosen tasteful pieces (including antiques and hand-made in Mexico!).
The welcoming staff make you feel at home and are keen to help with any query and any special need, doing so always with a smile.
Casa de Los Azulejos is tucked away in a quiet part of the old town, so you are sure to have a good night sleep, but it is within walking distance to all that you would want to see and do in Cordoba, both during the day and at night.
Surprisingly, given its location, there is private parking available, so it's a perfect stay whether you arrive by train/coach or car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the sort of European hotel I like - simple, good value, wonderful location (a stone's throw from good restaurants, and less than 15 mins walk to anywhere you want to go) and an interesting, traditional building. We had a room overlooking the street which was noisy if you had the window open, but we almost died of heat with the window closed until we worked out how to turn off the heater (against instructions!). The breakfast was simple, but adequate; the service was fine, but not super friendly (our experience throughout Spain).

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the courtyard
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Casa de los Azulejos is a really good value. A lovely, albeit simple, room in a lovely hotel. The location is very good, within walking distance to everything. The hotel itself has a beautiful courtyard and attractive tile walls (hence the name). The room was simply furnished, but very clean and attractive. The included breakfast was more than ample. We called ahead to reserve a parking space in a garage right down the street and the space was waiting for us when we arrived. Best of all was the host Manuel - a truly accommodating host who was welcoming and helpful. Just a side note - we bought some of the jams that his mother makes and they are delicious. All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smf86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Cordoba. This hotel met our expectations, small, quiet, and beautiful on the interior, with a location on the northern edge of the old city that put it only a 15 minute walk to the Mezquita and 20 minutes to the Alcazar. It is not hard to navigate the narrow, winding streets if you have a smartphone with Google maps. The room and bath had plenty of room. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. Our preferred breakfast is cereal, fruit, and bread, and that was quite excellent. Since parking is challenging in the old city, we managed to get a space in a 24 hour public garage near the Mezquita and use a taxi to and from the hotel with our luggage. It is definitely a great place to stay, and we would do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is an attractive, and somewhat quirky, little hotel. You feel more like you are staying at a B&B or are someone's house quest rather than being in a hotel. Manuel, is very helpful as is his staff. The hotel has an attractive courtyard and a patio. A nice breakfast is included in the rate. The hotel is close enough to the major attractions so that you can walk there but far enough so that you don't feel surrounded by masses if tourists. The rooms seem to vary widely in terms of size, bedding, bathroom size, etc. so if you have any preferences you should probably make them clear upon booking or contact them ahead of time. Manuel speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.5 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#29 of 65 in Cordoba
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Azulejos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Azulejos

Address: Calle Fernando Colon 5, 14002 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#21 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de los Azulejos 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Plaza de la Corredera, the house is a sensory delight and a recreational exercise of colonial architecture. Its conversion into a hotel in 2002 emphasized its colonial character full of colour and plants and with the Andalusian hospitality. Life at the hotel runs around the leafy courtyard coated by tiles from the Menasque factory. On the main floor, marble and wrought iron are embraced by the palm and banana trees, and the flowering clivias, bundled with the majestic balustrade and the marvelous plasterwork vault of the main staircase painted by Javier and Nino Gamboa with “the four elements”. Once in the rooms, the traditional andalusian style is reinvented creating original and very comfortable spaces. The large windows, handcrafted furniture in noble wood, hydraulic floors, old glass doors of the corridor and main balustrade are combined with the most modern facilities. The alcoves celebrate the meeting of cultures with contention but always ready to show some surprises: a chest of drawers of the family, a historic item, a fireplace rescued from the original building. The hotel has a sacred space: a library full of rare references and specialized in gastronomy, architecture, travel and art, ranging from titles recommended by the Institute of Architects of Córdoba to the latest travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de los Azulejos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Azulejos Hotel Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing