We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but basic room”
Review of Hotel Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gonzalez
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but basic room”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The taxi ride to the hotel was very exciting as it is located in the old part of Cordoba where the streets are barely wide enough for a car. Being right in the old part of the city was a real thrill. This also meant that there were plenty of restaurants to hand which was just as well as the hotel didn't serve food. The rooms were basic and the beds were hard, but the ensuite was a good size. The hallways are all tiled, so although they were clean, they were also quite noisy when people were coming and going from their rooms - this didn't help the sleep quality! The wi-fi was only available in the patio area, but at least it was available. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us organise our train trip to Granada.

Room Tip: Choosing one that doesn't face onto the street will reduce the street noise element.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    121
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
42
123
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Room very dark and small. Had an odor like boiled cabbage. Had to sit sideways on toilet no room for legs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBELaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Cordoba gave me a "Canary Islands" feel, but this hotel is close to the attractions. Clean, nice owner. The restaurant across the street is horrible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in Cordoba for two nights, the hotel is located in the old center not too far away from all major attractions, the price is not very high and for that you get a standard room, no complaints, just a standard room at a standard hotel, we took the rooms at the garden so we had no problem with noise it was very quiet.

If you don't want any luxury but do want to be in the old center this hotel is a good solution as everything is close.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald_jelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our room was quiet, not facing the street. Small, but clean and adequate.

Close to the TI and a 2-3 minute walk to the Mezquita.

We were told breakfast was included when we booked on-line, but the lady clerk said it was extra. I told her she might be mistaken, and she grudgingly gave me vouchers. Glad I did not pay for breakfast. The toast and croissants were crusty as heck. The OJ and cafe con leche were OK.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobolinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We walked from Cordoba Central railway station on a sunny afternoon to this square in the old part of town (Juderia). Saw the H sign on the wall and assumed it was the hotel we had booked over the net. As it turned out this was not the hotel we had booked. We liked the appearance and asked to see the avaialble rooms. Liked what we saw and the offered price; so decided to stay here instead. Better than the one we had booked.

We selected a twin bedded room with an attached bathroom that looked and felt newly refurbished. The flooring was marble (cold) throughout - good for chilling wine by simply laying the bottle on the floor for a period!. Both the room and bathroom were very clean, spaclous, very quiet, well appointed with windows for natural light. Disregard the view from the windows. they overlooked other roofs and a terrace with airconditioning units. The towels and sheets were clean, crisp and fresh. Beds were firm and comfortable for a good night's sleep. Adequate toiletries were provided in the bathroom.. Although there was a window to the outside in the bathroom, given the cold marble floors and floor to celing tiles, hot shower made the water condense all over the cold wall and mirror surfaces even with the window open. Electrics in the room is via a small key provided with your room key that has to be inserted into a slot in the room. There is a small TV with Spanish TV and radio channels only.

We were on the second floor in the newly refurbished block at the back of the building. Access to rooms in this block is by staircase only. Lift / elevator is avaialble in the older front section adjacent the reception.

The hotel has no eatery or facility for drinks. However, there is a restaurant just outside the front door with tables outside in a section of the square for coffee, beer, snacks, breakfast, etc. Prices here may be slightly higher than elswhere as it is bang in the middle of tourist area. It would have been nice to have coffee / tea making facility in the room or a simple breakfast facility within the hotel. There is room for it in the courtyard.

The location is brilliant. It is virtually within a few minutes walking distance of all the old city main sites; the Alcazar, Mezquite (mosque) / Cathedral, Roman bridge, Synagogue, etc. City centre, the river and other parts of Cordoba are all within 20-30 minutes walk. Cordoba is a small city. And the people are friendly and warm.

Despite lack of a restaurant / breakfast facility in the hotel it was a nice place to stay. The receptionists we met were David (we think, a local lad), Mohammed (a liberal Morrocan settled in Cordoba) and Ellen ( an Argentinian married to a Cordoban & settled in Cordoba for years) who were all very friendly, chatty and helpful.

Cordoba is a lovely little city and hotel Gonzalez, very acceptable considering the price. We stayed for two nights. We felt the facilities (or lack of some) were adequate (and acceptable) for our stay.

I would recommend the hotel as it offers reasonable value for money and proximity to everything in the old town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK110210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

As a two star hotel, the rooms are fairly plain, but clean and functional. The bathrooms were fine. The hotel is located just steps from Cordoba's main tourist attractions, and it could get a bit loud. Our room faced the street, and next time, I would ask for one facing in to the hotel's plaza. Apparently the hotel used to offer breakfast, but now sends guests across the street to a not-very-appealing cafe, which charges 7.5 euros for toast, OJ and coffee. Not bad, but not great. Overall, though, a very good value, in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 65 in Cordoba
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#40 of 65 in Cordoba
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 65 in Cordoba
1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#51 of 65 in Cordoba
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Gonzalez
Address: Calle Manriquez 3, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gonzalez 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside a restored 16th. century palace, formerly home to the descendants of the renowned Cordoba painter Julio Romero de Torres. Only 40 metres from the Mosque-Cathedral, the hotel has a traditional Hispanic-Arabic courtyard. The hotel has 31 rooms, all with fully-fitted bathrooms, satellite TV, direct telephone, piped music and individual air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gonzalez Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing